We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Northern Minnesota experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clearwater Historic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite Northern Minnesota experience!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The first time I stayed at Clearwater Lodge was in 2009 and I have been coming back every summer since. I have come solo, part of a big camping party, and as a family and every experience is phenomenal. The staff are always friendly and very resourceful. The crew's knowledge of the area is very impressive. Whether it is the best spots for fishing, campsites and scenic areas, the staff always have the best information! The facilities are always clean and inviting. Whether you are a morning person or a night owl, there is always time to sit and sip coffee on the porch drinking in the view of the Palasades in the distance. No matter what is in store for my Northern adventures next summer, I can rest assured that Clearwater Historic Lodge has me covered!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
161
100
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My group of 8 was fully outfitted by Clearwater Lodge on our 5 day canoe trip into the BWCA and we were very well equipped and taken care of. We were treated like family by all the staff. The hot shower with a clean soft towel was the best I've ever had.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 73Calvin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The staff at Clearwater Historic Lodge and Canoe Outfitters take time to really listen and go through everything you need to know to make your trip a success! Erik was particularly very knowledgeable on just about everything we asked him about.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Cloud
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Clearwater Lodge is well managed and the people are very friendly and nice. We visit the lodge every year and always enjoy our stay. The pancakes are excellent and there are freshly baked pies and bread each day.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaneyjaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Enjoy the amenities and extremely conscientious staff of this historic setting in the heart of the Gunflint Trail in the Minnesota north woods. We've stayed in: the lodge, cabins, bunkhouse. They all have their place in conjunction with your particular adventure. Additionally, you can't get better outfitting or advice than here. Wonderful staff & the current owners are really adding a great deal to the facilities as they approach 100 year birthdays for the campus and lodge. Take time to enjoy Gloria's baking; it is the BEST. We've been going here since 1988 and try to get there about once a year; some years we are lucky to get there 2 or 3 times.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txm4um
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our lodge suite was very inviting w/lots of space! A bit stuffy back by the beds but you could probably ask for a fan. The lodge has interesting history and character w/staff who are kind and willing to share stories! Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is by far our favorite family reunion destination! We came from Duluth and Seattle and Sacramento to visit. Where else can you see loons, eagles, foxes, bear, moose, turtles and catch fish after fish after fish? LOVED IT! We loved playing cards and board games together every night after going "moose hunting" at 8:30pm to see what we could find. We called it o' moose-thirty and we were never disappointed with the animals we saw. We hiked to Magnet Rock and found grouse babies and played with the dragonflies at Honeymoon Bluff! So cool. And where else will the staff host a bbq for the guests just to get to know them? So warm and friendly. Hope to get back there again for another reunion soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin 4 with 10 people and loved it. One kid slept on the floor, but we had plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
22.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
269 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
149 reviews
22.1 mi away
Mangy Moose Motel
Mangy Moose Motel
#1 of 10 in Grand Marais
410 reviews
24.0 mi away
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Grand Marais
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Historic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Historic Lodge

Property: Clearwater Historic Lodge
Address: 774 Clearwater Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearwater Historic Lodge and Canoe Outfitters is oldest resort and outfitter on the Gunflint Trail. The main lodge is listed on the National Historic Registry and has 5 bed and breakfast rooms. The resort also offers 8 lakeside cabins, all with kitchens, bathrooms and private docks. The 5 bunkhouse accommodations for those entering the Boundary Waters Canoe Area provide a great option for the night before a canoe trip. Motorboat, canoe, kayak and paddle board rentals available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing