We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse, delicious food, beautiful location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B and Lake Cabin
Ranked #4 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend and it was really lovely. Barb and Ted are great, welcoming, and really helpful. The food is amazing and the rooms are really beautiful and cozy. We rented a canoe to go into the BWCA for a day trip and Barb made a delicious lunch and Ted helped us get the canoe on our car and decide on a route. They really helped to make our weekend a great one. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geochickmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

Thank you Ted and Barbara for the best weekend! The food Barbara prepared for breakfast was amazing! Ted gave us the sweetest spots to hike and fish! The vistas were so beautiful and we actually saw moose, loones, fox and lots of deer! We totally recommend Poplar guesthouse if you want go get off the grid because its private, clean, amazing breakfast, beautiful location and the owners are very experienced with the area! We had such a great vacation my husband is ready to move there! Thank you again Barbara and Ted for helping us have a wonderful family vacation! Also they have a great massage specialist Jody! We had a couples massage after a long day hiking and Jody made us feel like new again! We hope to return very soon! Bill, Janel, Jonathon and Michael

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanelTownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bctbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B and Lake Cabin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us in June and this August after your family's canoe trip.
It was wonderful seeing all of you. I think that the stuffed french toast is a guest favorite, as is the baked egg casserole. Your kind words written after your June visit were inspiring to our small business. Ted and I hope that we can live up to your description with every guest. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Poplar Creek B&B, in the Dorothy room, for only one night prior to our venture into the BWCA for a couple nights. Being at the mid-point of the Gunflint Trail, near the entry point on Poplar Lake, it is the perfect location to begin a BWCA adventure. It would be a great place to stay for several days for single-day canoe trips because of the close proximity to Bearskin and Hungry Jack Lakes, too.
The morning of our departure, we were treated to a wonderful breakfast served by Ted and prepared by Barb. The breakfast was fantastic!
We were so impressed with the comfort of the bedding, plush towels (even a special towel for make-up removal) and cleanliness of the room, that we told Barb after breakfast, how much we appreciated her caring attention to detail. I mentioned that even her Q-tips were extra fluffy (REALLY! - these Q-tips are incredible!) We had quite a laugh! I must have been a little light-headed with all the fresh air...
Great B&B, great hosts, great location, great area for outdoor adventures - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuietCanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bctbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B and Lake Cabin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thank you for your kind words about your visit. We think the B&B is a great place to leave for a canoe camping trip also. And the full breakfast is a nice way to start a trip. We have had some cool nights, but the days are getting warmer and sunnier. Right now the last week of August and during September, we are finding openings into the BWCAW from Poplar Lake. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Barb and Ted Young can set you up for a hut to hut, or lodge to lodge or yurt to yurt or any combo there of, so you can ski from place to place and they'll make sure your luggage is waiting for you.
They are like old friends from the moment you meet them and their accommodations are superb. and the food is delicious.
Barbara set us up for a 4 day/ 5 nights ski from Golden Eagle cabins, to their Tall Pines Yurt, (where Ted brought us dinner) to their Poplar Creek Guesthouse where we stayed that night and back to Bearskin Lodge for the last night. Each place grooms their own trails that interconnect with the others and the Banadad trail. and they sent us on our way with delicious trail lunches. You can do a variety of things, Barbara will arrange it. The flexibility and the choices are really quite amazing, and Barbara and Ted feel like old friends the moment you meet them.

Room Tip: At Barb and Ted's Poplar Creek guesthouse we stayed in the whirlpool room but I am sure all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank someonesomewhere15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bctbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B and Lake Cabin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. We are pleased that you liked our Lodge to Lodge ski program on the Gunflint Trail. And of course that you enjoyed your stay at our Bed and Breakfast. We really enjoyed meeting you both. We even had more snow this week. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The B&B and surrounding area are so beautiful in the winter - snow covered pines all around. A definite must in the winter. We stayed in Dorothy's room on the 2nd floor - very spacious and cozy at the same time. My review however is more about how kind the owners are. My husband and I were staying there when our 17 year old son, staying at a nearby camp, came down with the stomach flu. We picked up our son and brought him to our room at the Poplar Creek guest house. Barbara & Ted welcomed him and us just like we were family - never a moment did we feel like our son wasn't welcome there. They offered all the things one needs when you have the stomach flu - ginger ale, a red bucket, extra towels - whatever we needed. We bothered them multiple times for different things and they were always very gracious.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bctbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B and Lake Cabin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Thank you so much for writing. Glad that your son is doing fine now.
Hope that he has a wonderful ski season with the team. Thank you
for visiting us again.

Barbara and Ted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Beautiful, cozy adult only B&B secluded setting. Owned and opperated by Ted and Barb Young. Comfortable rooms with inviting commons area and great views. Barb serves the most beautiful and tasty breakfast. Their knowledge of the Gunflint Trail area and trail systems is second to none. Whatever your visit, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, snowshoeing, in the winter or hiking, fishing, in the summer you will not be disappointed. Ted and Barb also have a couple cabins and for the rustic adventurers a stay at the yurt is a must. Plus you are only a fews minute drive to the Trail Center Lodge for lunch, dinner and drinks.

Room Tip: Little Ollie room is wonderful for that romantic couples stay as it has a Queen bed and two person s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalksFar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bctbarbara, Owner at Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B and Lake Cabin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for staying at Poplar Creek. We always look forward to your stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have stayed in many B&B's across the United States and Poplar Creek was one of the best. Barb Young was a great host and her attention to detail was impeccable. The rooms were spotless and very spacious. The details to all of the little ammenities were outstanding and the kitchen and sitting area for the guests was great. You also had use of a deck and a screened in porch. The three course gourmet breakfast was delicious. We spent two nights in Ollies room which was very spacious and comfortable. We just loved the seclusion and privacy and if you wanted to fish Little Ollie Lake was right on the property. Hiking trails were nearby and of course the Boundary Waters can be accessed right from the B&B. Barbs husband Ted was very knowledgable about the Boundary Waters and the whole Gunflint Trail. Would love to return in the winter. Would highly recommend this B&B!!!! Jane and Donna from PA

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyfshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
20.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
978 reviews
20.9 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
282 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
21.7 mi away
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
#3 of 9 in Grand Marais
99 reviews
13.2 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B and Lake Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B and Lake Cabin

Address: 11 Poplar Creek Dr, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2314
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range: £117 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded inn and Lake Cabin nestled in the Northwoods along the Gunflint Trail Scenic Byway. Inn and cabin On quiet canoe-only lake & creek. Overlooking BWCA. Inn with whirlpool, fireplaces, WiFi, in-room phones and guest kitchens. Cabin has two bedrooms, TV, sanua and deck over looking lake. Firepit and picnic are by lake. Canoe comes with the cabin. Canoe, fish, swim. Hiking, biking, skiing, snowshoeing trails on site. Birding, wildlife, moose viewing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Poplar Creek Guesthouse B&B and Lake Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing