We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least it's on the lake...”
Review of The Shoreline Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Shoreline Inn
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“At least it's on the lake...”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is old. It's nice enough but super rough around the edges and everywhere else. Clean, so that's good. But linens are old (soft, though!), carpet is worn, windows are rickety and probably not even safe. BUT it's directly on the lake, the staff is nice and the place has free wifi. So, for one night I can handle it. Normally I wouldn't pay over $40 for a room like this, but I wanted the lake view and ambience so was willing to pay $135. I can't really recommend the place but it's ok.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank SeeJaneTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    29
    24
    22
    19
See reviews for
22
49
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
181 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

While this hotel is right on the water, the sea gulls make you wish it wasn't. They are more like barking dogs that won't stop in the morning. Our room didn't even face the water, the bird noise may have been worse if we had. Teh room had a double bed and also a twin bed. Odd arrangement. The hotel is okay, but it has seen better days. Don't expect anything fancy. The location is good.

Room Tip: Ear plugs unless you are an early riser that doesn't mind squacking birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeAtlasTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove Village IL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This place has not seen anything new since 1970! Painters tape cover the rips in the screen, wallpaper is peeling as well as the paint. Adjectives to describe the place: ratty, dingy, raggedy and tired. Beautiful piece of property- this place sits right in the middle of the action and on a beautiful stretch is beach. It's obvious the owner is using it as a cash cow, taking profits and not investing a dime. Also- BEWARE of the bait and switch!!! The website shows the beautiful Cobblestone Cove as part of the property. You book that one and they stick you across the street in the dilapidated Shoreview. Stay elsewhere!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan6521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Marais hotels

Level Contributor
307 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Spent one night while traveling north. Right on the lake - no balcony but nice windows with screens! Could hear the water. Bed comfy but pillows hard (glad we had our own!). Very convenient to downtown and all sorts of activities.
Staff friendly and helpful. Would stay again if in the area!
Carpe diem!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellie352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights in July. The hotel does not have air conditioning but that was not a problem with the windows open. Our room was facing the parking lot and next to the entrance though where all the smokers congregated and the smoke would filter into our room -#103 . The furnishing were all outdated and electrical was scary too look at with numerous things plugged in to power strips. The bed was comfortable and the TV and WiFii worked well. It is located right downtown and on the lake. There is deck on the lake to enjoy the wonderful views.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dznyfn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dsegh, Armenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel in the movie psycho was a Five-star compared to this dump. The website and online pictures are very deceptive (they spend all their money on a nice website, hotel lobby and new lighted sign on the highway and "NOTHING" has been spent on the comfort of the guest). The continental breakfast offers few items like bread, pre frozen dougnuts, corn flakes and rice crispies (no fruit, eggs or wafles). The rooms look like they haven't been refurbished since the 1970's (no joking), dirty carpet (food crumbs included) and the walls and ceilings are stained. and the showers cycle between scalding hot to freezing cold every 10-20 seconds. the birds poop all over your cars and the view is not worth the cost (best western offers the same view, clean rooms and a real continental breakfast for only $20-30/night more). With that said, this is not the worst of my review.... I was bitten (while sleping) by an insect with 8+ legs, the bed linens (pillows and sheets) and the bathroom floor had hair on it (evidence that the room had not been cleaned properly). What a con, NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikhail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arden Hills, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Overpriced hotel with poor amenities. Great location but beds uncomfortable (felt like two boxsprings stacked together). Lots of sea gull poop. Poor continental breakfast. Looks good outside but awful room and dirty bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldie937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.2 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoreline Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoreline Inn

Property: The Shoreline Inn
Address: 20 S Broadway Ave, Grand Marais, MN 55604-5016
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Shoreline Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION! Artist's Point is at our back door. Quiet, away from U.S. Highway 61. With lake view rooms and sundeck at water's edge, The Shoreline has been first choice for generations of families. Fireside, lake view lobby. This charming village is on Lake Superior's North Shore less than two hours Northeast of Duluth, on scenic Highway 61. Grand Marais is the Hub of activities in Cook County, located at the foot of the Gunflint Trail, the gateway to the famous Boundary Waters Canoe Area, and remote Isle Royale. Just ten minutes to the Gunflint Hills Golf Course or Pincushion cross country center and twenty minutes to Lutsen Mountains Ski Area, Alpine Slide and the Superior National Golf Course.Walk to shops, restaurants, the lighthouse and the Grand Marais recreation center and pool. Free continental breakfast. Rooms with king beds are available, as are family or connecting rooms. Smoke-free environment. Traditional charm. Personal service. A guest once said, "It's like coming home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Shoreline Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoreline Hotel Grand Marais
Shoreline Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing