We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps not for the 5-star Individuals out there, but...”
Review of Trout Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trout Lake Resort
Busan, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perhaps not for the 5-star Individuals out there, but...”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Trout lake is gorgeous and this lodge affords your children a place to stand right outside your cabin and fish (although not likely to catch anything) and swim (no boats!). The owners are very willing to help get you a boat on one of the other lakes and will get other items if you ask. However, we had some problems that would lead us to not want to stay here again. first, the porch leaked and all of our things got wet. That's a big problem if you weren't warned and when there is no place to dry your stuff out! Also, didn't realize we didn't have all the linens the first night until we all went to bed. Made for an interesting first night. (So, it would be a good idea to make sure that you have everything before it's too late to ask). Bottom line...if you are a camper and are looking for a little bit more...this is your place. If you aren't and are a bit of a princess...you should probably keep looking.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RogersFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Trout Lake Resort is a wonderful, dog-friendly, place for a long weekend. We met the family, who gave us great recommendations for local fishing and walks. We stayed in Cabin #2, which is the original cabin on the property. It was small, but just what we needed (since we were outside most of the time). Grand Marais is a short drive in case you need extra groceries.

Note: This isn't a resort in the typical sense. You'll need to bring your own food, shampoo, bath soap, etc. Kitchens are fully stocked, and linens are provided.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kameri846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Trout Lake resort is by far the best authentic place to stay in Northern MN. The family owned business is so wonderful - all the staff are beyond friendly. The pristine wilderness is priceless. They are the only resort on the lake and the privacy is amazing.

Room Tip: All the cabins are wonderful - if you are traveling in the winter - only cabin 7 is open and fits ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Trout Lake. Very friendly and competent owners. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samismom26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
10.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
10.8 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
277 reviews
10.6 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Cascade Lodge
Cascade Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lutsen
352 reviews
30.6 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
249 reviews
15.7 mi away
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Grand Marais
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trout Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trout Lake Resort

Property: Trout Lake Resort
Address: 789 Trout Lake Rd, Gunflint Trail, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3005
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your own piece of secluded heaven at Trout Lake Resort! We welcome you to our small, family friendly resort. You will be deep in the pristine forest, yet only 16 miles from the shore of Lake Superior and award winning harbor town Grand Marais. We have lake shore cabins with private access to the lake. Just steps from your cabin, you can cast your line, pull up your boat, or just relax, enjoy the view, and listen to the call of the loon. Fly fish, troll, or still fish for rainbow trout, lake trout, speckled trout, and brook trout. Outdoor charcoal grill provided (bring charcoal). We have heated ice fishing houses in the winter, and we connect to snowmobile trails. Pet friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing