We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect cozy home for a weekend getaway.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Art House Bed + Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Jay and Rose were wonderful hosts. Their home was eclectic, welcoming and warm. The cooking was delicious and the location superb. A fantastic bed and breakfast for a weekend getaway- I look forward to going back!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mndavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent two enjoyable evenings at the Art House.
The living room had a wood burning stove and was a great place to curl up with a good glass of wine and a book. The bedrooms were cozy and confortable.
Breakfasts always included yogurt, granola and fruit. In addition there was always a hot entree. Very yummy!!
Jay and Ennis (As Ennis says," Dennis without the D") were great hosts. Jay is very interesting as well as being a great host...and Ennis...well he is a very friendly little boy.
We would love to come back in another season and enjoy the abundance of hiking trails in the area!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank citycat60640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Very affordable and a perfect place to take a breather between outdoor adventures along the North Shore. Food was excellent: filling and healthy. Jay and Rose were gracious hosts, and know the area well enough to provide guidance in trails to hike (and snowshoe and XC ski) and sites to see. Also very close to the heart of Grand Marias, so it's easy to walk down to the lake or to restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty simple, with the BWCA room being the most private and offering a view of the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wmbakester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I rarely rate places that I stay but this one can not be passed up. A group of our friends rented the Art House for NYE. We had such a great time. Jay, Rose and Ennis are absolutely fabulous hosts and the location and beauty of the area is not really even measurable. Go to Grand Marais and stay here!

P.S. There is actually a community fitness center and pool within walking distance. We used the sauna and hot tub!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank elissahans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Conveniently located, simple, but very comfortable rooms,
GOURMET breakfast -homemade egg bake, juice, granola, muffins,tea, coffee
way more than I could eat :-)
NIce wood stove and comfy couch to lay about on downstairs.
Could see Lake S. from my window

Very friendly and helpful owners!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elwoodp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

If you've ever wished that you had good friends who: lived right across the street from the folk school in Grand Marais, have a few comfy/clean extra bedrooms, enjoy being perfect hosts, kerp the woodstove going in the cozy livingroom, have local art/craft around for you to discover & be inspired by, and make the best breakfasts in the whole world...well now you do!
Art House feels cozy and alive...a home with open doors. The comfort inspired community; warm & thoughtful conversations lingering over DELICIOUS homemade breakfasts were an unlooked-for highlight of my entire trip. If you're looking for a sterile cookie-cutter luxury resort experience then this isn't the place; but if you like a comfortable, tidy & welcoming home with thoughtful & vibrant hosts then I give Art House my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenvioletamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Comfortable and cozy. Welcoming and restful. The food is delicious and presented in beauty with a “feels like home” texture. Some places the hospitality is just painted on the surface, but here it runs as deep as the mighty waters of Lake Superior that is but a few steps away. There is a cheery little wood-burning stove that gathers you in when the days are chilly. A fire pit calls from the back yard so that you can nestle under the stars amidst the warmth of human companionship. Thankfully there are no TV’s in the house or rooms to distract you from drinking fully of Grand Marais and the wild spaces around it. Rose, Jay, & Ennis create that magical space where strangers can become friends, easily navigating the need for silence and time away with the desire for community and care. The setting is simple and elegant, rustic and abundant. It is not costly place, but place where art and beauty abound in ways that give access to what the spirit needs. North woods kindness and care is at its best! From homemade sausage to homemade muffins, yummy egg dishes and hearty oatmeal and hand-gathered maple syrup all is made to accommodate your needs. The conversation is as nourishing as the food and the setting.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
281 reviews
18.8 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art House Bed + Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art House Bed + Breakfast

Address: 8 7th Ave W, Grand Marais, MN 55604-1340
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range: £45 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A creative space for Artists - Artisans - Everyone! Art House is the perfect place for the solitude seeker or the adventurer. Enjoy a view of the harbor from our deck, good conversation by the wood stove, and get inspired by a rotating selection of local art and craft. We’re 3 blocks from downtown, and 2 blocks from the lake, with easy access to the Gunflint Trail. 3 rooms have lake views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing