We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Grand Marais Tradition” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sven and Ole's Pizza

Sven and Ole's Pizza
Ranked #11 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Grand Marais Tradition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Sven and Ole's has been around forever and their pizza has always been excellent! And, the junk nailed to the wall actually makes for pretty interesting decor.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dmacgills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    207
    116
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not bad pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I'm originally from the Chicago area so by comparison, this pizza is just ok. We got the "thin" crust with lots of topping but the "thin" crust is not really thin.. We also got the wings and they were pretty good. The place is convenient.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ANGELA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgeon Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The pizza is really the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great service! The taste is exceptional! We stayed near by and they deliver until 10 PM. I have always heard how good the pizza was.. and now I know it's all true.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephyoungberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good pizza... on the more expensive side. Busy place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had to do the tourist thing and eat at Sven and Ole's Pizza while in Grand Marais. Tried to go for dinner at 6 one evening and the line was to the door so we decided to try again at another time. Came back at about 3 the following day and while it wasn't quite as busy, there was still a significantly long line even at an off-peak meal time. We had the "Vild Vun" pizza which had wild rice (and yes, wild rice on a pizza really does "work" and tasted great!) Canadian bacon, onions, and green peppers. It is also supposed to have olives and mushrooms but I cannot stand either of those so we had that omitted. The pizza itself was very tasty, and had plenty of cheese which I love (can never have too much cheese on a pizza in my opinion!). I did feel that it was a bit overpriced though for pizza... not being in some special Chicago or New York style pizzeria. Our pizza plus 2 fountain drinks came to $25+ change. Still it was good pizza and we enjoyed the experience. Would recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MsChris1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“North Shore Tradition”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I'm not going to tout that this place has the greatest food, but it's a fun, family restaurant that I visit on most trips to Grand Marais. Food is ordered at a counter and brought out to your table. It can get quite crowded so try to hit the earlier spectrum of meal time. My one complaint is that I usually find the dining room in need of a more through cleaning...they have staff that comes through regularly to wipe down tables but in my opinion more needs to be done. That said, I still recommend this fun place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sven and Ole's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Sven and Ole's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing