We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Menu and views of Lake Superior”
Review of Angry Trout Cafe

Angry Trout Cafe
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are the Angry Trout Café, serving local fresh ingredients. We do not allow animals.
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Great Menu and views of Lake Superior”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We ate here during our stay in Lutsen, Minnesota. The views of Lake Superior are spectacular! The menu was inviting and had various fish entrees to choose from. We enjoyed our meal and the service was very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    204
    101
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and tasty local fare”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Creative fare, local ingredients, great seating right on the beautiful harbor, nice ambiance, good service. I had the smoked trout salad which was so yummy I didn't even need the very generous portion of blue cheese dressing which was served in a large carafe on the side. They also make their own colas, both regular and diet varieties, and both were delicious.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great! Only one 'small' issue”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped for lunch here on the recommendation of our friend and we will be thanking him for sure! Great service was topped of by even better food. Local fish and produce was delicious!

We only had one small issue in that we found a small aphid like bug on a piece of cauliflower. This is to be expected when using organic produce, but perhaps better care needs to be taken in preparation. We told our server and she apologized profusely.

All in all still an amazing location!

Helpful?
Thank JustinSquearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Angry Trout for the win!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This place was incredible. We decided to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary with dinner at the Angry Trout, we made an excellent choice. The food was so fresh and amazing. My husband got the Maple Chicken and I had the grilled white fish. Everything was so fresh and locally caught/raised/sourced, down to the chairs you sit on and the plates you eat from. The soda is homemade and darn tasty! We finished our celebration with the bittersweet chocolate torte which was a little dry but tasted so delicious!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fresh fish”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Most amazingly fresh fish dishes caught by neighboring fishing boats. Not very comfortable outdoor seating but nice view.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angry Trout Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Angry Trout Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing