We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for lunch - try a salad!”
Review of Angry Trout Cafe

Angry Trout Cafe
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are the Angry Trout Café, serving local fresh ingredients. We do not allow animals.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A great place for lunch - try a salad!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have stopped here several times while visiting Grand Marais. We go for lunch and always have the smoked trout salad. A fantastic salad with fresh local produce. One of these days we will have to try something else on the menu... but the salad is so good it is tough to resist.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGreatNorthShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    196
    98
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We wouldn't miss eating here.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Excellent food as always. We look forward throughout much of the year to our visit to Grand Marais, largely because of this restaurant. The fish is perfectly cooked (I love the lake trout) and served hot and beautifully nested on a large, colorful and tasty salad. Even the restroom is artistic here. Good wine, too, although the glasses are small.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FredCrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Come for the whole experience- the view, food, and sustainability”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have heard much about the Angry Trout from family members who live in Grand Marais. I honestly was not expecting much, as I was expecting arty small portions with nothing special. However, I came away, thoroughly impressed with my expectations blown away. While the prices on the menu may seem high, it is important to remember this restaurant is essentially trying to do two things. 1) Use local food and sustainable methods for everything related to the restaurant and 2) To do food well.

All the different pastas at our table were equally delicious. The grilled trout was moist and delicious with that great grilled flavor. The trout entrée came with a side of pasta in a simple but tasty olive oil, pine nut, and parmasean sauce that was well balanced with the spinach noodles. Enough sauce to add lots of flavor but not seem like the pasta was swimming in it. The salad was beautiful and filled more than half the oversized plate. The salad included (local) greens, beets, cucumbers, cherry tomatoes, and came with the choice of four different house made dressings. The blue cheese does not taste like bottled blue cheese, it tastes homemade, and really is simple and allows one to enjoy the blue cheese dressing and the salad. There is also house made tartar sauce that really complements any of the fish. There is a great view to look out over the harbor.

One thing to note if you are dining with family- kids meals are spendy and OK, but not great for the value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Great Menu and views of Lake Superior”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We ate here during our stay in Lutsen, Minnesota. The views of Lake Superior are spectacular! The menu was inviting and had various fish entrees to choose from. We enjoyed our meal and the service was very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and tasty local fare”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Creative fare, local ingredients, great seating right on the beautiful harbor, nice ambiance, good service. I had the smoked trout salad which was so yummy I didn't even need the very generous portion of blue cheese dressing which was served in a large carafe on the side. They also make their own colas, both regular and diet varieties, and both were delicious.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angry Trout Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Angry Trout Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing