We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but nothing special.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not bad, but nothing special.”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

It reminded me of places I would stay at with my parents in the '50s. It was reasonably clean and rather spartan. It has a beautiful beach--but beware Cape Coders, most of Lake Superior's beaches are rocky, not sandy. The lodge is about 5 minutes drive from Grand Marias.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profofphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    19
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
N.W. Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We have stayed at Thomsonite 7 of the last 9 years to enjoy fall on the North Shore. If you are looking for a luxury experience, this is not it. This place has a homegrown feel, welcoming and informative hosts, a beautiful location, and a relaxing atmosphere. It is the perfect place for us. We have been here as a couple, with one family group, and with our entire clan. Each time we've loved the campfires and playing with the dog. The scenery can't be beat - right by the lake (not across a busy road as so many places are.) Some units are sleeping units only (with a small fridge and a mic) and others have a kitchen or kitchenette. As a couple our top choice is unit 3. The views are the best, and it has a kitchen complete with a dishwasher. Remember to bring your own shampoo. If you need suggestions for the area, Scott or Lee will help you. We have borrowed a great, detailed map of the back roads and have had some great day trips. Other reviews on the site will give you more adventure choices, too. ENJOY!
PS Unit 3, while not handicap accessible, does not have any steps.

Room Tip: Unit 3 for a couple. Unit 5 for a family group (2 separate bedrooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDeere63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed here for one night in August. It was a spur of the moment trip, so we had limited selection of rooms, but had no complaints about the room we got - unit #6. For the same price as a regular motel room in town, we had a small suite, with kitchen, living area and 2 beds. It was a short 5 minute drive into Grand Marais, which was more than compensated for by the lovely location and spacious unit.
The room was very clean. The grounds are neatly kept, there is lots of wood for the firepits. The view of the lake is wonderful.
There was no hairdryer in the room, but Lee had one available to borrow.
We would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DEB51155017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We really liked the Thomsonite Beach Inn and Suites. We stayed in their most economical room and it was a great value for July 4th weekend. They have 3 fire pits and lots of free fire wood to use. One pit was literally on the rocks just above the water. We loved sitting in front of the fire, watching the waves come in, and staring up at the stars!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boppy1Minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We stayed at Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suite for a 3 night getaway from the kids in August 2010. Our stay was wonderful, relaxing and just what we needed. The shore was amazing! I loved hearing the waves crash on the shore as I was laying down to go to sleep.

The room was neat and clean. We had our own kitchen unit and own little cabin. It was perfect.

As for location...it's just before Grand Marais. It was nice not to be in the middle of town but it was close enough to go for the day.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnsoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gr, michigan
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here during our Lake Superior Circle Tour by motorcycle. We did not know anything about the area and picked Thomsonite Beach Inn based on reviews. What a nice place! They have a great location on Lake Superior with a warm and welcoming facility. The room was comfortable and attractive. The bathroom could use a little work but overall was good. In a day when most hotels give you so little water pressure you have to stay in the shower twice as long as normal, we had to turn the flow down or risk losing our skin!

If we had known how nice Grand Marais is we would have stayed more than one night at this inn.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cyclingduo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Falls, Minnesota, USA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We have stayed at Thomsonite Beach Inn several times over the last 9 years. It is the the favorite spot of our family to stay on Lake Superior! We and our children have enjoyed every stay. We enjoy the secluded Thomsite rocky area where the kids and we can climb on the rocks or just sit and watch / listen as the waves crash against the rocks. A regular tradition has become an evening fire at the fire pit to roast marshmellows and just enjoy some family time. You can do the fire yourself or Scott will be glad to get it started for you if needed. Scott and Lee are great hosts! The units vary, are basic, rustic and well kept. Close by to many things to do like the hiking trails, Grand Marais harbor and shops. If you are looking for a getaway place, this is it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wingman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomsonite, Owner at Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 August 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your stay at Thomsonite Beach Inn and your North Shore experience with others who refer to Trip Advisor to assist them with their travel plans. It is always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and the area we love so much. We know we have a little slice of heaven here and are happy to share it with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
13.8 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
5.4 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
106 reviews
5.2 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
101 reviews
13.4 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites

Property: Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Address: 2920 West Hwy 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Lutsen and Grand Marais. “You’ll love where we live”. Ten units with various amenities; Enjoy Lake Superior from the comfort of your room or from the naturally landscaped grounds and ledgerock shoreline where we have a bon fire pit, log swing, lawn chairs, picnic tables and grills for your outdoor enjoyment. Our rooms are smoke free and sorry, no pets. Check our online virtual tour . Visit our “Thomsonite” Gemstone Jewelry Shop. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing