We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place - Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed only for a single night on July 2nd in unit 6. We were a party of 6 (4 adults + 2kids). Because of the holiday weekend, most of the places were not willing to take a reservation for a single night. The owners of Thomsonite Beach inn and suites were nice to take the reservation for a single night. Both Lee and Scott are very friendly and helpful. They were very clear about the view from the room view other layouts. We called in to let them know that we were going to come in late and they had no issues.
Our suite was clean and comfortable. We had one bathroom, Double, Sofa Sleeper, Loft (Double), Kitchenette. Kids loved the loft (secret hide out place). Beautiful private beach with fire pits. Great view of the Lake Superior. Scott was nice enough to help us with setting a camp fire on the rocks.

Since we stayed only for a night, we didn’t use the kitchen. But the appliances look old. Just something to keep in mind for people who want to stay longer?

Close to Grand Marias and other area attractions and restaurants.
We will definitely consider staying in the place again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EPMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 99 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2009

Stayed 2 nights at Thomsonite on our Lodge-to-Lodge hiking trip to the Superior Hiking Trail. The accomodations were charming, 2 bedroom suite with lake view and even a little deck overlooking the lake. Breakfast was included and Scott, our host, is a great cook-excellent pancakes. He packed us a nutritious and delicious bag lunch to take on our hike. Hostess, Lee was also very accomodating. Highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikinggirlchicago721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

My girlfriend and I booked a room here for the weekend through the Lutsen Mountains Ski Package, since this room was priced fairly higher than a regular motel like Super 8, I had somewhat high expectations.

We were coming from the North, from Canada We had a great deal of trouble locating the place. The large lit sign only faces those coming from the south, but I'm assuming the main demographic here would be Americans coming from larger cities and not Canadians, fine. Upon check in we informed bitterly by the receptionist we got such a better deal by booking the room through the ski package. Of course we do, isn't that why it is called a package? I wonder how many people would come to isolated Northern Minnesota in the middle of the winter otherwise.

We had a main floor room, which had a cottage like decoration theme. Not what I was hoping for, because it really felt more like it hadn't been renovated since the 60s, again probably what the main demographic is looking for, fine again. The main bedroom was separated by a sliding door, but in order for those using the folding bed in the living room to get to the bathroom, they would have to go through the main bedroom. That didn't particularity bother us since it was just the two of us, but if we had come with another couple it would have. What did bother us was that you could hear the late arrivals at 1:00 am walking around upstairs. The walls in that room must have been paper thin.

The next evening we had no real problems, however we did have some issues during checkout. We had asked for a receipt for the room to provide documentation to Canadian customs as to how long we had been gone, which is a very common practice. We were informed very rudely that we had given no money to them, we had given it to the ski resort and that if we wanted one we needed to get it from them. This continued on to a rant about how they had to wait for the ski resort to pay them and how inconvenient it was, on top of the fact that they didn't get as much for the room. So we left with out it, lucky having no issues with customs.

A few weeks later our credit card was charged $40 for apparently leaving the room a mess and stealing a towel and face cloth, neither of which were true. Some towels were left on the floor and a pizza box was on the floor, which didn't fit in the garbage anyway. I personally think the extra charges were an attempt to make up the difference in room price from the ski package! We've disputed the charge on the credit card, hopefully it is refunded. Regardless, I would never stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank electricjars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

My husband and I just returned from a late fall stay at the Thompsonite Beach Inn. It was a small anniversary trip, and we were looking for something within the state that was reasonably priced but in a nice location (right off of Lake Superior). This was a GREAT get-away.
There are limited reviews on this hotel, but we decided to give it a chance anyways. We're glad we did.
The inn is situated right off of hwy 61, closer to Grand Marais than Lutsen. It is set back from the road, and there is a short walk from the building to the lake. The inn itself is set up cabin-style, most of the 10 rooms have kitchens and dining areas as well as living areas. 2 of the cabins are detached from the main building, the rest are part of the main building (like studio apartments).
We opted to pay a little more, and went with a room with a fireplace--cabin 10. It had a murphy bed which was a little stiff for our preferences, but was still comfortable after a day of hiking! The bed also had clean sheets, a quilt, and another fleece blanket (it can get cold in Grand Marais). The bedding smelled clean, felt clean, and was very comfortable.
We did not have a view of the lake, but we could have selected a room with a lake view if we wanted. They're pretty clear about which rooms have which views. All in all, the room was GREAT.
The service was great as well! The owners responded to my emails quickly... the first one was about firewood (do we supply our own, or do they? They do, they had our room stocked with firewood and kindling every evening), and the second about late check in (also OK, but be sure to contact them... they were willing to make accomodations to ensure that we could stay our first evening without any trouble!).
When we checked in, the male owner knew my name without even having to introduce myself (because of the time I arrived), shook my hand and my husbands hand and welcomed us to his inn. He explained how to operate the fireplace and the damper, and offered to help us start it if we had any trouble. He then offered suggestions for late night food (in the off season for tourism--parts of Grand Marais 'shut down'), and let us know that we could call him with any issues we might encounter (we didn't encounter any!).
After we returned from hiking the next day, the room was tidy and restocked with firewood.
The hotel is close to many area attractions... Pigeon Falls (highest waterfall in MN, border of Canada and MN), Eagle Mountain, BWCA, Lake Superior, Grand Marais, Lutsen Mountains, etc.
This was not an issue for us at all, but the only thing that you may want to be aware of if you use the kitchen is that it is also cabin style, and the appliances appear to be from the 70's. Again, no issues with that, but something you may want to be aware of.
All in all, this was a great stay, and we -will- return.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Raesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2005

My wife and I spent 4 days on the Minnesota North Shore in mid August. It was great. We spent two of our nights at Thomsonite Lodge. We had a room for two facing Lake Superior. The shoreline is rocky and nice there with some pretty decent formations from sea caves. We went to sleep hearing the waves hit the shore both nights. Very peaceful. The rooms were clean and adequate, and a good value. I spent several hours out on the rocky shoreline at the beginning and end of each day before and after sightseeing in the area which has beautiful shoreline and rivers with many very nice waterfalls easy accessible.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank gperr007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyuba_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
986 reviews
5.8 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
283 reviews
13.4 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
6 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
28.7 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites

Address: 2920 West Hwy 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range: £49 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Lutsen and Grand Marais. “You’ll love where we live”. Ten units with various amenities; Enjoy Lake Superior from the comfort of your room or from the naturally landscaped grounds and ledgerock shoreline where we have a bon fire pit, log swing, lawn chairs, picnic tables and grills for your outdoor enjoyment. Our rooms are smoke free and sorry, no pets. Check our online virtual tour . Visit our “Thomsonite” Gemstone Jewelry Shop. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing