We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot to enjoy a variety of experiences.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Ulm, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to enjoy a variety of experiences.”
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Thomsonite Beach is truly the perfect spot from which to enjoy everything the Grand Marais area has to offer. It is close enough to Grand Marais to enjoy shopping, food, and entertainment on a whim. It is also near Cascade State Park and Grand Portage, both of which offer great day trips. The hosts are knowledgable and helpful, able to help find many area treasures. The rooms are comfortable, very clean, and feel very private. The beach area has room for large groups and solitary beach experience. Best of all...you can enjoy the greatest of the Great Lakes right outside your door or window!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris12376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    19
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fridley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Although this place was right off of Highway 61, you would not know it. The resort is directly on Lake Superior and does not have alot of lodging units. I picked this because my elderly parents wanted to go to the North Shore 'one more time' and you could walk straight out of your unit and walk to the area to sit and enjoy the fatastic view of the lake. The beach is made of lava flow and my daughter loved climbing on the rocks and playing with the owners dog Rip. It is located between Lutsen and Grand Marais and that helped with daily adventures. We went to Lutsen and the alpine slide and tram trips up to the top of the mountain - it was a beautfiul day. Grand Marais offers many opportunites to shop and eat and it only is 5 miles away!
Definitely would suggest this place to stay to those people who do not want big resorts but a wonderful access to state parks, shopping, sailing, eating and fishing. The owners are super and they have an amazing collection of Thomsonite gems and you can look for them on a nearby beach. Go there and have a fabulous time!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cness1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

My husband and I spent three nights at Thomsonite Inn. It is a beautiful setting overlooking the water. I can't imagine a more perfect spot. The room was spotless and Scott & Lee are very nice people. The purpose of our trip was to see Isle Royale even though it is a few miles down the road, we loved seeing the scenery between Grand Portage and Grand Marais. I don't know the exact mileage but it is only 5-10 min. from Grand Marais. We enjoyed dinner at the Pie Shop nearby. Also, Sven & Ollie's Pizza has great pizza. We thought about a sailboat ride but time was short. Enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We have stayed at Thomsonite Beach on Lake Superior for an annual long weekend each of the past nine years. We have stayed in either Unit #3 or Unit #7. We have always thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Lee & Scott Bergstrom, the owners, are wonderful hosts. It is a truly beautiful spot along the shore of Lake Superior. It is extremely convenient to the Superior Hiking Trail, many beautiful State Parks and the picturesque town of Grand Marais. The grounds are lovely and the units are well equipped, quiet, clean and have comfortable beds. We always feel very refreshed from our stays there!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNTravelers47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

If your a girl and might get your period don't stay here or you will end up paying an extra $500. 00 if you stain the sheets. I felt this place was trying to take us for a ride. They charged us extra costs during our stay and alls it took was some laundry soap to fix the problem. They acted like we destroyed the place, we did not break anything and we were clean and tidy the whole stay, we never disturbed the other guests, however, because we stained the sheets it cost us extra, hate to see if you planned a romantic stay and rose pedals were involved. If you stay here don't plan on getting lucky as that might stain the sheets also.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sheetOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2009

You can hardly get rooms closer to Minnesota's North Shore! Our lakeview room provided scenic vistas over Lake Superior. A terrific waterfront area, with picnic tables, swings, fire ring and beach chairs, gives you a front-row seat for viewing spectacular wave action, boats and waterfowl. Accommodations were comfortable and distinctive -- a great spot to relax after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Thompsonite Beach was ideal for someone like me who wanted to be close to the lake and hiking in Cascade River S.P. as well as being close to Grand Marais and the fine cuisine it has. It was a perfect balance. Lee, my host, was knowledgeable about the area and very helpful. They have some fine Thompsonite specimens on display and for sale, too. Thank you Lee!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VonPicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
13.8 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
5.4 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Mangy Moose Motel
Mangy Moose Motel
#1 of 10 in Grand Marais
447 reviews
5.2 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
102 reviews
13.4 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites

Property: Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Address: 2920 West Hwy 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Lutsen and Grand Marais. “You’ll love where we live”. Ten units with various amenities; Enjoy Lake Superior from the comfort of your room or from the naturally landscaped grounds and ledgerock shoreline where we have a bon fire pit, log swing, lawn chairs, picnic tables and grills for your outdoor enjoyment. Our rooms are smoke free and sorry, no pets. Check our online virtual tour . Visit our “Thomsonite” Gemstone Jewelry Shop. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing