We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome View”
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We stayed at Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suite for a 3 night getaway from the kids in August 2010. Our stay was wonderful, relaxing and just what we needed. The shore was amazing! I loved hearing the waves crash on the shore as I was laying down to go to sleep.

The room was neat and clean. We had our own kitchen unit and own little cabin. It was perfect.

As for location...it's just before Grand Marais. It was nice not to be in the middle of town but it was close enough to go for the day.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnsoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    19
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
gr, michigan
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here during our Lake Superior Circle Tour by motorcycle. We did not know anything about the area and picked Thomsonite Beach Inn based on reviews. What a nice place! They have a great location on Lake Superior with a warm and welcoming facility. The room was comfortable and attractive. The bathroom could use a little work but overall was good. In a day when most hotels give you so little water pressure you have to stay in the shower twice as long as normal, we had to turn the flow down or risk losing our skin!

If we had known how nice Grand Marais is we would have stayed more than one night at this inn.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cyclingduo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Falls, Minnesota, USA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We have stayed at Thomsonite Beach Inn several times over the last 9 years. It is the the favorite spot of our family to stay on Lake Superior! We and our children have enjoyed every stay. We enjoy the secluded Thomsite rocky area where the kids and we can climb on the rocks or just sit and watch / listen as the waves crash against the rocks. A regular tradition has become an evening fire at the fire pit to roast marshmellows and just enjoy some family time. You can do the fire yourself or Scott will be glad to get it started for you if needed. Scott and Lee are great hosts! The units vary, are basic, rustic and well kept. Close by to many things to do like the hiking trails, Grand Marais harbor and shops. If you are looking for a getaway place, this is it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wingman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomsonite, Owner at Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 August 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your stay at Thomsonite Beach Inn and your North Shore experience with others who refer to Trip Advisor to assist them with their travel plans. It is always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and the area we love so much. We know we have a little slice of heaven here and are happy to share it with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Ulm, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Thomsonite Beach is truly the perfect spot from which to enjoy everything the Grand Marais area has to offer. It is close enough to Grand Marais to enjoy shopping, food, and entertainment on a whim. It is also near Cascade State Park and Grand Portage, both of which offer great day trips. The hosts are knowledgable and helpful, able to help find many area treasures. The rooms are comfortable, very clean, and feel very private. The beach area has room for large groups and solitary beach experience. Best of all...you can enjoy the greatest of the Great Lakes right outside your door or window!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris12376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fridley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Although this place was right off of Highway 61, you would not know it. The resort is directly on Lake Superior and does not have alot of lodging units. I picked this because my elderly parents wanted to go to the North Shore 'one more time' and you could walk straight out of your unit and walk to the area to sit and enjoy the fatastic view of the lake. The beach is made of lava flow and my daughter loved climbing on the rocks and playing with the owners dog Rip. It is located between Lutsen and Grand Marais and that helped with daily adventures. We went to Lutsen and the alpine slide and tram trips up to the top of the mountain - it was a beautfiul day. Grand Marais offers many opportunites to shop and eat and it only is 5 miles away!
Definitely would suggest this place to stay to those people who do not want big resorts but a wonderful access to state parks, shopping, sailing, eating and fishing. The owners are super and they have an amazing collection of Thomsonite gems and you can look for them on a nearby beach. Go there and have a fabulous time!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cness1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

My husband and I spent three nights at Thomsonite Inn. It is a beautiful setting overlooking the water. I can't imagine a more perfect spot. The room was spotless and Scott & Lee are very nice people. The purpose of our trip was to see Isle Royale even though it is a few miles down the road, we loved seeing the scenery between Grand Portage and Grand Marais. I don't know the exact mileage but it is only 5-10 min. from Grand Marais. We enjoyed dinner at the Pie Shop nearby. Also, Sven & Ollie's Pizza has great pizza. We thought about a sailboat ride but time was short. Enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We have stayed at Thomsonite Beach on Lake Superior for an annual long weekend each of the past nine years. We have stayed in either Unit #3 or Unit #7. We have always thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Lee & Scott Bergstrom, the owners, are wonderful hosts. It is a truly beautiful spot along the shore of Lake Superior. It is extremely convenient to the Superior Hiking Trail, many beautiful State Parks and the picturesque town of Grand Marais. The grounds are lovely and the units are well equipped, quiet, clean and have comfortable beds. We always feel very refreshed from our stays there!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNTravelers47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
13.8 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
5.4 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
102 reviews
13.4 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
4.3 mi away
Cascade Lodge
Cascade Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lutsen
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites

Property: Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Address: 2920 West Hwy 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Lutsen and Grand Marais. “You’ll love where we live”. Ten units with various amenities; Enjoy Lake Superior from the comfort of your room or from the naturally landscaped grounds and ledgerock shoreline where we have a bon fire pit, log swing, lawn chairs, picnic tables and grills for your outdoor enjoyment. Our rooms are smoke free and sorry, no pets. Check our online virtual tour . Visit our “Thomsonite” Gemstone Jewelry Shop. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing