We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up North to see the leaves change”
Review of Blue Water Cafe

Blue Water Cafe
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Family friendly cafe where the locals go! It's "The Meeting Place In Grand Marais". We serve breakfast all day.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
189 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Up North to see the leaves change”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were in the area to see the leaf color change. Stopped in town for a meal and after looking at our options chose the Blue Water Cafe. My wife had the broasted chicken and I the grilled chicken breast with swiss and mushrooms along with the cheeseburger soup. The food was tasty but unspectacular, just good "family type" food. Good taste and filling...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheese4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    138
    61
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“This is a staple.”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This diner is easy to get to - right in the heart of town, and the food is good. I had a soup & salad and it was brought right out and very tasty. Stop in if you like the diner-type atmosphere!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mntravelgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast spot”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Nice little spot for breakfast but nothing fancy. Food was decent and a good value. It was your usual small town no frills diner.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nancyh56_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, MI
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Large portions. The staff was friendly. Busy restaurant located in the center of town. Reasonable price for a resort town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rcscruffy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallock, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hometown cafe”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I spent a couple days in beautiful Grand Marais! We discovered the Blue Water Cafe on our first day there - had supper that evening and then went back the next two mornings for breakfast. Loved it!! We had the same waitress all three times were there and she was awesome! Good, home cookin! Will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CynMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Water Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Water Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing