We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right on the lake!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
East Bay Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Right on the lake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed in one of the studio rooms. The Murphy bed was very comfortable. Room looked out over the lake. The weather was nice enough to keep the patio door open and listen to the waves crashing the beach. Love the town and would definitely recommend the Angry Trout for a meal during their open season.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CS-KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    62
    20
    13
    2
See reviews for
86
125
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We enjoyed our stay at East Bay Suites very much! We had a 1-bedroom suite, which was very roomy and right on the lake. It was great to listen to the waves at night. The decor was very colorful and warm, with a lovely small kitchen. The unit even had a washer and dryer for extended stays. My only wish was for a king bed rather than a queen, but we made it work for 3 nights. Extremely convenient to the shops and restaurants. We walked everywhere during our stay. Would definitely stay here again if we return to Grand Marais.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

We arrived on Labor day weekend and lucked out and got the last room available. It seems as if the hotel used to be apts before it became a hotel. Our room was clean. Had a small flat screen tv, electric fireplace, small kitchenette and balcony. We faced the city side. It was cold to have the patio door open or to be out on balcony at this time. The hotel is right on the beach of lake superior. On the grounds of the hotel there is a grill. You can make camping fire right on the beach. No pool. We enjoyed the stay. Would return to the property.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Moldoviangirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We might not have looked the room description very well, so I understood our room was facing the parking lot instead of lake view. Considering lack of research on our part, the room was still not good...the layout was awful. Too many furniture in the small room, we could hardly move. Despite the quantities of chairs in the room, we couldn't feel comfortable sitting any of them. Also how could anybody figure out the shower?? I've never seen anything like it before. My husband is very good at figuring mechanical things, but he had a hard time to figure this one!! Staff was courteous and pleasant to deal with..
There was no coffee in the morning at the lounge area and room coffee was awful (I think it's because of tap water). So overall I rate the room poor...it might have been different if you stay in the lake view room.

Room Tip: Get the lake view room unless you don't care....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkmcc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

This was our first stay at the East Bay Suites. We chose it because it was pet-friendly and although we go to the North Shore a few times a year, this was our first time bringing our golden retriever. I think we found our new favorite place! The accommodations are beautiful, the setting spectacular, and the location extremely convenient for taking walks to Artist's Point, heading up the Gunflint Trail and getting to some of our favored hikes. By staying in downtown Grand Marais, we got to see the town come alive on a Saturday morning. And right from our balcony at night, we simply looked out on the moonlight, star-filled sky shimmering over Lake Superior.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Lets start with the good: The location is great and our Deluxe Studio had a great view over the lake. They have some family games provided in the room. The bath products are from Aveda. The kitchen was reasonably well equipped at least when it comes to dishes, silverware, etc, a little less on the cooking equipment side, but OK.

The not so good: The room felt dated and a bit cheap but with new and expensive looking stainless steel kitchen appliances put in. Maybe it was the carpet, the armchair that looked worn and the sofa that looked like it was cheap leather. Lets just say the photographer for the pictures on their website did a mighty fine job. The room in realty had a wanna be but not really making it feeling to it.
When I read "private bath" in the room description I interpreted it to mean bath tub which I was really looking forward to after being in the woods. I was very surprised and disappointed to only find a shower and with a very cheap white plastic shower head at that. Private bath apparently means that for 225 USD you don't have to share the bathroom with other guests... When I asked the receptionist about it she was rather snippy and offered a more expensive room that would have a bath.

It was disappointing and we won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlauerPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peter, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Very nice location on lake and town of Grand Marais. The room was clean with pleasant decor, but we were surprised at the number of small repairs needed in the room. Back door dead bolt and screen door didn't work, we relied on the chain lock. Screen on door, heater panels, and drapes needed attention. Chair was worn and frayed. Overall, the room was didn't live up to the costs and pictures online. I hope you like dogs as lots of them stay here too!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrarthursmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EBSGM, General Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
We are truly sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. It is our goal that every guest experiences a level of service and accommodation that exceeds expectation and we apologize to you for not meeting that goal. Your comments and feedback have not fallen on deaf ears; we are taking steps to deal with the items you mentioned to ensure that we are able to continue delivering to guests the Superior Experience we are known for. Thank you for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
19.2 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#12 of 31 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Suites

Property: East Bay Suites
Address: 21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Bay Suites sits in the heart of it all: on the edge of the world's greatest fresh water lake, at the base of the Sawtooth Mountains, a short drive from the pristine Boundary Waters Canoe Area and world class Superior Hiking Trail, and just steps from your favorite local shops and restaurants in the center of the quaint harbor village of Grand Marais. The perfect blend of outdoor recreation, unique shopping and culture, East Bay Suites has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your East Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Grand Marais
East Bay Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing