We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice service, condos not up to par”
Review of East Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
East Bay Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice service, condos not up to par”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My boyfriend and I needed a place to stay on a Saturday night and East Bay Suites had a 1BR with kitchen available for around $120.

When we arrived, the front desk staff was great and they seemed to have lots of activities that we could partake in at no additional cost. Would be great if we would have planned on staying longer!

We were surprised, however, when we realized that we rented out a condo and not just a regular hotel room. It's not a huge deal, but there were photos of the owners in a few places. It made it a bit less relaxing and like we were guests in someone else's home. We did feel a little misled by the omission of this in the advertising.

Condo was just OK - on par with a Holiday Inn Express. Everything is from Ikea, cheap bedding, carpets, linoleum tile, etc. We were told that we had a queen bed, but I'm pretty sure that the bed in the room was full sized. "Fireplaces" are really just heaters with lights. Disappointed to say the least.

Condo was LOUD! We could hear noise from all around us - people walking above, slamming doors, hallway noise. We couldn't sleep past 7am - what a bummer.

Only redeeming quality of the room itself was the view. Lake was literally feet from our door - can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We appreciate that you took the time to review your stay at East Bay Suites. $120 for a one bedroom lake view suite with a full kitchen is a great deal, we’re glad you thought so too. We, and our owners, take great pride in the quality of our suites. Most of our guests enjoy our enhanced accommodations, character, specialty furnishings, and extras, as well as the fact that they can purchase some of the same dishware and other items at Ikea! However, we realize that everyone does have their own tastes.
We’re pleased you appreciated our friendly staff, amenities, and complimentary activities. We’re sorry you could only stay one night. Thank you for being our guest. Please give us a call the next time you need a weekend getaway in our suite accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    64
    20
    13
    2
See reviews for
87
127
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We've stayed here three times now and each time had excellent service. This past Christmas weekend we had to arrive past reception desk hours due to weather--the night person had left a our key in the lobby. He happened to still be there, but told us we could take care of check in the next morning.
Then we realized our room did not have the whirlpool tub we'd been looking forward to--they let us move to a new room in the morning no problem.
We asked for a late check out to have time to use their free snowshoes on Pincushion Mt.--Yup, gave us an extra hour.
Finally, in my haste to pack that morning, I left my iPad charging in the room. The honest staff turned it in and they mailed it to me the next day.
Oh, and it was a different staff person in each case--so they are all like that.
Fantastic. We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We understand the importance of feeling secure and satisfied while traveling. I'm glad that you noticed the integrity of our staff and willingness to help you enjoy your stay on the shore to the fullest. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I love staying at this hotel. The pet friendly rooms come with dishes, a dog bed, and a leash tie-out off the patio area. We booked the pampered pooch package and they had a welcome basket with treats, water bottle and goodies!! The furnishings are modern and upscale. The best part is having instant access to the lake and waking up to sunrise on the water. The condos have everything you need if you want to cook your own meals but you can walk to all the restaurants- even in winter since they're close! This is one of my favorite places in all of Minnesota. It is a bit spendy but at least you get what you've paid for.

Room Tip: Main level rooms are best for pets since you can leash them off the patio and not leave your room ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Girl_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm glad to see that you (and your dog) enjoyed our pet package. We're happy to offer a home away from home for the whole family. Plus, nothing beats watching the sunrise over the lake! Thank you for being our guest, we look forward to your next visit to East Bay Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wabasha, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is our second stay at East Bay Suites and would recommend it to anyone. We love the location: right on the lake, yet downtown. We always go after the main tourist season, so the price for a 1 bedroom has been reasonable. We stayed 3 nights, but talk about staying longer.

Room Tip: Room 304 was well equipped with kitchen, laundry, books, and games.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! It’s great that you’ve once again found our lakeside location so enjoyable. We love that we can offer the serenity and quiet of Lake Superior waves, but still be within walking distance of all the unique shops and restaurants Grand Marais has to offer. I hope you were able to take advantage of our great winter promotions! Thank you for being our guest, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I booked a suite with kitchenette at the East Bay Suites in mid-October, 2013. Our three night stay started the day after the official summer/fall tourist season ended. What a fabulous place, what a wonderful mini-vacation! Location is right on Lake Superior - each room faces the water, sort of east/south east. The rooms were impeccably clean, the kitchen/dining area well appointed, with a full fridge, stove/oven, dishwasher, plenty of utensils and serving dishes, and a well organized dining area. We had an electric fireplace that worked in both the living area and bedroom, but the space was so warm that we really didn't use it much. Our little balcony was fun, even though it was too cold to really use it.
The staff at East Bay Suites were so friendly and helpful, both with suggestions of things to do and with minor repairs that our TV needed. The hotel provides activities for their guests to do, even on the coldest of days, and posts a calendar of village and hotel events in the elevators. There is lots of space for relaxing, working out, walking, or just sitting and reading or napping.
The hotel is situated near everything in this charming lake village - shops, restaurants, walking trail, and the famous "Artist's Point" is just a few blocks away. The hotel and the whole village have a great vibe, even on quiet days like we experienced. I highly, highly recommend this location for couples, families, even probably for a single person on retreat.

Room Tip: Decide if you want to cook even breakfast yourself - there is no restaurant in the hotel itself. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We’re happy to hear that you found your accommodations to exceed your expectations. We are proud to be able to offer our guests the luxuries of home while relaxing on the water’s edge of Lake Superior. Thank you for being our guests, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at East bay several times in the past and have always been impressed. Price wise East Bay is overpriced.. Sorry but almost $400 a night for a 1 bedroom isn't good value!! I would definitely recommend this spot for a get away as it's clean and friendly and sits in a wonderful location. When booking be sure to confirm you have a lake view ...before you book?? Don't just assume you do or you may end up spending $200 a night and looking at a car park.. Then spending another $200 a night to upgrade to a view.. Off season this can be a great location to visit at a more reasonable price. Great place to stay but not if your on a budget..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Appin_Alba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We understand that our Village View Studios do not offer the ideal views of the shores and for this reason they are our least expensive accommodation. The majority of our accommodations however offer gorgeous views of Lake Superior with a price point similar to our competitors. Summer and Fall are our two peak seasons, when availability is low and prices are at peak. During the winter months, we do have wonderful promotions for our lakeside suites where prices are at all time lows of $89 and $99 a night during the midweek! Again we thank you for your review and we have enjoyed having you as our guest. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Spent a getaway weekend here at the end of the season. We were warmly welcomed by the front desk clerk. Our room was right on the lake with an exceptional view. These are condo units that are rented out. Our room was very well equipped and a week's stay here would be easy. The place is quiet, rooms very clean and huge. Only nits are that the leather sofa in our unit should be retired (worn in several places) and maid service is limited. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Splurge for the lakeside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthstarTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katelyn G, Front Office Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. We’re very proud to be able to offer our guests the comforts of home with spectacular views of Lake Superior. Several of our units are in the process of updating their sofas, I think you’ll be pleased to notice this during your next visit. Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
19.2 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mangy Moose Motel
Mangy Moose Motel
#1 of 10 in Grand Marais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Suites

Property: East Bay Suites
Address: 21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Bay Suites sits in the heart of it all: on the edge of the world's greatest fresh water lake, at the base of the Sawtooth Mountains, a short drive from the pristine Boundary Waters Canoe Area and world class Superior Hiking Trail, and just steps from your favorite local shops and restaurants in the center of the quaint harbor village of Grand Marais. The perfect blend of outdoor recreation, unique shopping and culture, East Bay Suites has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your East Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Grand Marais
East Bay Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing