We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but be careful”
Review of East Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Bay Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We stayed for two nights during the summer solstice weekend. My wife and I had a decent room facing the parking lot but our friends had a room that was inadequate on the lake side, room 304B. It apparently is a room that is to be used as a third bedroom for room 304A but for some reason our friends got it even though they made reservations well in advance. It was extremely small with an odd layout and a very small window looking out over the lake. The reason to be careful is that the website shows a floor plan that doesn't match what the room really is.
Other than that, the hotel itself is nice and the people were extremely friendly. The location is great as you can walk to all of the restaurants and bars, etc. The deck behind the building is very pleasant with a gorgeous view of the lake.
I'd recommend this place with the caveat that you make sure you get a full suite.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wally304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for East Bay Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2009

My husband and I picked East Bay on a recommendation--and we were not disappointed! I was expecting your usual hotel room, but East Bay went above and beyond my expectations! It had a full kitchen with full-sized stainless steel appliances; a great living room area with flat screen TV; and the bathroom was twice the size of your normal hotel bathrooms, with a great soaking tub! We were very impressed by this condo and the staff. How can you go wrong with beautiful Lake Superior right outside your door as well??!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnWoodbury_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

On the shores of Lake Superior, this gem of a hotel came as a complete surprise. Hip interior design, comfortable living area, waaay cool personal hot tub and ubber comfy bed. Exceptionally friendly staff. A short walk to the quaint downtown makes this a great choice on Minnesota's North Shore.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BubberGanoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We stayed at East Bay Suites during our ski trip to Lutsen and we absolutely loved the condo. It was a great place for us to relax and unwind after a long day on the slopes. We were in a 2 bedroom unit with another couple and had plenty of room. The condos have a great view of the lake -- we woke up to the waves crashing on the rocks! Very relaxing!

The staff was very accommodating and provided a lovely visit. We're definitely considering a return visit in the summer.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MNGopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

Fabulous location right next to Lake Michigan. The walls facing the lake are mostly windows so you can always see/hear the water. We stayed in a one bedroom and the kitchen was fully stocked with supplies - even a blender and flour/sugar. Fresh coffee was supplied each morning and the WiFi was fast enough to use the online Scrabble dictionary and check email. Everyone at the front desk was incredibly personable. They supply a list of activities in town for the week and have personal experience with every nearby restaurant. The decor looks like an Ikea showroom. The couches aren't comfy (fold-outs), but look nice. Nice bright colors in the room. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TanMarKi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We just spent three nights at the East Bay Suites for our anniversary and we absolutely loved it. The suite was extremely spacious, comfortable, and well equipped. The decor is fabulous and the movie stations are great for bad weather days. The location can't be beat. It is right on the water in downtown Grand Marais, close to great restaurants, Artist's Point, and local shops. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. They pointed out great places for us to hike and promptly responded to all of our questions and requests. While in Grand Marais I recommend eating breakfast at the Pie Place, pizza at Sven & Ole's (especially on Thursday when they have trivia night), and dinner at Chez Jude.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lolav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

There were several reasons behind our trip to Grand Marais - neither my husband nor I had ever visited, it had been a while since our last vacation, a good friend of mine has been taking family trips to GM for 50 years (I got the feeling he likes the area) and it was my birthday weekend. That's a tall order to satisfy and East Bay nailed it! We found it completely relaxing - making a cup of coffee to enjoy on the balcony while looking out at the lake, watching movies on the flat-panel tv(s), and coming 'home' after a day of sightseeing and enjoying the area. It was an easy walk from East Bay to just about everywhere you can go in Grand Marais as well.
We highly recommend staying in these comfortable, well-decorated/furnished (stainless steel appliances in the kitchen even!), affordable suites. Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vacfun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
19.2 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.2 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
111 reviews
18.8 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Suites

Address: 21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range: £112 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Bay Suites sits in the heart of it all: on the edge of the world's greatest fresh water lake, at the base of the Sawtooth Mountains, a short drive from the pristine Boundary Waters Canoe Area and world class Superior Hiking Trail, and just steps from your favorite local shops and restaurants in the center of the quaint harbor village of Grand Marais. The perfect blend of outdoor recreation, unique shopping and culture, East Bay Suites has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your East Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Grand Marais
East Bay Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing