We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the place for us.”
Review of East Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
East Bay Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the place for us.”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We have stayed there before and have had somewhat comfortable lodging. This time it was completely unacceptable. The bedroom and bathroom (toilet) were connected with no wall. There was no internet connection nor cell phone service. We had asked for and paid for a one bedroom suite. Who would think that you would have to ask for a wall, (or internet service if it is advertised). We would have been happier elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cafleury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EBSGM, General Manager at East Bay Suites, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, it is our goal that every guest experiences a level of service and accommodation that exceeds expectation and we apologize to you for not meeting that goal. The suite you stayed in is a one of a kind unit here that is very popular with many guests. We can see that it did not meet with your approval and for that we do apologize. If you are willing to give us the opportunity to make this right for you, you may contact General Manager, Andrew, through the resort’s “Contact Us” web page. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    64
    20
    13
    3
See reviews for
88
129
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
445 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Location Great, Food and Shopping Great. Rooms are really really awesome. We stayed here in combination with a Lutsen ski trip. We chose to drive a ways to the ski resort in order to enjoy the wonderful town of Grand Marais. Free shuttle to ski resort. This is our 4th year in a row on a ski trip in the area, and the family agrees this is the best place so far.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amorace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2011

This was my second stay at East Bay and it is by far the best place to stay on the North Shore. Grand Marais is an adorable town with great dive restaurants and lots to do in every season.

Both the 1 and 2 bedroom units that I have stayed in are cozy and clean, nicely decorated, have huge comfy beds, amazing views of Lake Superior, and fully stocked kitchens.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieflem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mounds View, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2011

What an amazing little place! Make SURE you get a lakeside room. Fall asleep to the sound of the waves, and wake up to the most BEAUTIFUL sunrise ever! The beds are tall, so you don't even have to get out of it to see the sunrise! It's a perfect romantic get-a-way. Real wine glasses and corkscrew, and even a garlic press in the kitchenette! I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to others. The only negative was that the lobby closes early on Sundays. We wanted to grab a movie, and they were closed! Honestly, though, everything else was as close to perfect as it gets!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texbaby8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

After days of backpacking, my girlfriends and I treated ourselves to this great place. The 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms (and pullout sofa) worked great for the 5 of us. Stunning views from rooms. Jim at check-in was helpful and nice. The lobby was clean and cozy with huge windows to view the "Superior" view. Being on the ground level, the next morning we filled our coffee mugs and walked out to the shore for sunrise. Rooms close enough to get a refill in a minute!
The granite countertops and ultra tasteful decor was classy and cozy. We were glad to be able to do some laundry with the in-suite washer/dryer. We were very pleased with the location, as we walked everywhere.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank suzanne417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We just had a couple days to spend on the North Shore and decided to focus on Grand Marais. I had initially thought about one of the older places that have more character like Naniboujou to the north or Lutsen's to south, but for proximity to shops, restaurants, and nearby parks, we chose this place. It is wonderfully sited and clean and modern. You can walk to artist's point from the hotel as it's right out the door. Free wireless access.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank badgerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The amenities were perfect for us which included a full kitchen and seperate sleeping area, a pull down full size comfortable bed and easy access to lake. The staff did special things like arts ands carafts for kids, gave us a S'mores kit for the beach and firewood for a campfire and had DVDs available to go with the in room DVD players. The rooms were all modern with very nice updated decor, comfortable furniture. great location on the lake, next to outdoor store, great donut place and food co-op. No food or beverages so you need to furnish your own.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twincitiesmom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
19.2 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.1 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
99 reviews
18.8 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Suites

Property: East Bay Suites
Address: 21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Bay Suites sits in the heart of it all: on the edge of the world's greatest fresh water lake, at the base of the Sawtooth Mountains, a short drive from the pristine Boundary Waters Canoe Area and world class Superior Hiking Trail, and just steps from your favorite local shops and restaurants in the center of the quaint harbor village of Grand Marais. The perfect blend of outdoor recreation, unique shopping and culture, East Bay Suites has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your East Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Grand Marais
East Bay Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing