We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good enough for the money”
Review of Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aspen Lodge
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not good enough for the money”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This place looks generally tired and in need of some renovations. The room smelt musty with strong overtones of disinfectant. When calling to make a reservation I was put on hold then dropped. There was a confused atmosphere at check-in; a different representative at check-out seemed much more organized. Now I know that I was there in high season; and that it is a high rent area, but I really expected a lot more for my $140.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TucsonPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    41
    45
    26
    15
See reviews for
57
46
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hotel was clean and the staff was friendly, bu they are cutting corners as the customers expense. Sauna was not working , ice machine had been down for weeks. I think they need a liitle bit of an overhaul and reovation of the property. Its cheaper than some others, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coop99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis, mn
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We usually stay at the Best Western next door but needed a room last minute and they were full. As others have stated, the service was friendly and the place was clean but you can only clean old carpet and beds so many times. The beds were pretty worn out and a bit sway backed in our room and left us both with sore backs. Bedspreads and carpet were 15-20 years old and you could tell someone had been smoking in the room even though it's a no smoking hotel. Basically it just felt like they needed to re-carpet and invest in new beds and bedding and the place would be much better. Breakfast was ok but nothing to write home about. Again, though, we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Our room was also nice and quiet at night, but if you are on the first floor you have no lakeview....just a view of houses between you and the lake.


I wish the owners of the GM hotel company would reinvest in their existing properties instead of building new developments. Makes me wonder if they are going to let the new properties slip with time too. It would be easier to recommend this place if it was updated and not so threadbare.

All things (including price) being about equal. We'd stay here as a distant backup behind the Best Western, East Bay, or Nelson's Travelers Rest, but I wouldn't make a first choice for a stay in Grand Marais unless you absolutely have to stay somewhere with a pool

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor for a lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Marais hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The bathrooms were really clean, Beds and Pillows horrible. Service Excellent!! The lady at the front desk was very nice. Close to everything!! For a one night stay I could handle it, but no more than one night.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendypy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerwood, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had been calling many motels on our way to Grand Marais and every one wanted between 118.00 and 154.00 for one nights stay. We had been to the Aspen Lodge several years ago and found it comfortable. so we checked in and they said their price was 149.00 but the pool and hot tub were down so they would give it to us for 129.00. I asked if they gave any discounts like seniors or military and she said yes with the military id it would be 74.50. Of course we grabbed it and found the room to be very spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very simply cereal and muffins and bagel type. Not a hot type but enough to satisfy us. The gal behind the desk was so nice and friendly and talkative we enjoyed her. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room on second floor with a view of Lake Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Checked in and the whirlpool in the pool area was broken. Was not fixed and was told when we checked out that they were sorry for the inconvenience. Rooms could be kept an little cleaner but overall the room was spacious and good. It is close to downtown Grand Marais so it was an great location.

Room Tip: Update the rooms and make sure they are kept cleaner. I know the hotel used to be an Super 8 but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j071412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Very sweet place indeed. Reached in the middle of the nite and this place was heaven. Run by nice people. Small hotel, small town, big on hospitality. One of best hotel experiences. And the couple who runs the business has a sweet dog;-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abanerje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.4 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
106 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge

Property: Aspen Lodge
Address: 208 E Highway 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604-4403
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Aspen Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Lodge, located on the east edge of Grand Marais, is an in-town lodge and your ideal, four-season, vacation getaway. Nestled in a park-like setting, with views of Artists' Point, East Bay and the Coast Guard Station, Aspen Lodge is an easy walk to shops, restaurants and entertainment. The beautiful swimming pool, giant whirlpool spa, sauna and sundeck are a favorite for end-of-day relaxing. For different family needs, Aspen Lodge offers a variety of room-types, many with lake or wooded views, especially colorful in the fall. These include king or double-queen rooms, family suites, in-room spas and some handicap accessible rooms. After a long day exploring, relax in the fireside lobby for cards, games and reading. For meetings, workshops or family reunions, a hospitality room for 10-25 is available. - Pool, giant whirlpool spa & sauna -Breathtaking Lake Superior & Artists' Point views -Free WIFI and Continental Breakfast -In-room refrigerators and Free guest laundry -Free local calls, voice mail, and message service -Air-conditioned, Smoke-free building -Walk to shops and restaurants -Meeting room for 10-25 -Closest to North Shore State Snowmobile Trail -Boat & trailer parking with winter plug-ins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing