We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aspen Lodge
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a great view of the lake from our third floor room. It was very spacious and the staff was extremely kind. The only reason I didn't give it fives starts was because the hot tub in the pool area was pretty gross. And I asked for an ironing board - we were there for a wedding - and it was one of the tiny ones without legs. Makes it hard to iron a full-length dress.

Room Tip: Try and get on the third floor so you can see the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellypperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    39
    40
    26
    15
See reviews for
56
43
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreview, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Room was clean and the staff was responsive and competent. Lobby area needs AC, especially when breakfast is being served in the summer. Breakfast itself was decent, with enough variety to not bore you over a few day stay. Pool is good for families and the hot tub for relaxing, but looked like some tile outside the sauna was cracked and in need of replacement. Just a short walk to the downtown/harbor area, so you can easily take in the great little gem that is Grand Marais.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The service here is great but the rooms need updating. The beds are hard and the carpet is in severe need of cleaning/replacement. Pool is very chlorine filled. Try the city pool instead. Breakfast is very basic.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms are pet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachchic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our family of four persons, stayed here for two nights in late August 2013. There was nothing spectacular or outstanding abut this motel--nor was it a horrid lodging experience. It is simply an "O.K." place to stay. The room rate was an O.K. price (for Grand Marais in August)--but you would really expect things to be somewhat better for $130+ per night

The young woman at the reception desk was pleasant enough--but there was also room for improvement. An example: She told us upon our check in, "The key cards here are ancient. I hope you only need the one room key--because that is all that we have right now and it is a real pain for me to make a second one and I really don't want to do that tonight". In her defense, it seemed like she had experienced a rough day. We personally saw her deal with a couple of semi-challenging customers just prior to our checking in.

The complimentary breakfast was also just "O.K." . It was pretty limited compared to what I have seen at most other hotels/motels.

As some other writers have noted, the place is somewhat dated and in need of some renovations and some good old-fashioned general maintenance. (The sink drain would not stay open. The toilet and/or toilet seat was at a slope or angle and a little bit loose. The bathroom door didn't latch easily) .

The current mattresses, pillows and bedding have certainly seen better days. They need to be replaced. The room "keys" are those older plastic cards with a series of holes punched in them. That technology went out of style 10-20 years ago. There is no elevator.

The parking situation is somewhat limited and scattered is about in various places on the small property. The view of the lake was mostly obscured by trees (at least from our room).

Would I tell someone to avoid staying at this motel? No. Ultimately, it is an "O.K." place to stay. However, I think we will personally be looking at other places if we were to come back tp Grand Marais. At the price of lodging along the Minnesota North Shore, I want to have more than just an "O.K." experience--even if it costs me a little bit more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prain4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

This place looks generally tired and in need of some renovations. The room smelt musty with strong overtones of disinfectant. When calling to make a reservation I was put on hold then dropped. There was a confused atmosphere at check-in; a different representative at check-out seemed much more organized. Now I know that I was there in high season; and that it is a high rent area, but I really expected a lot more for my $140.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TucsonPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Marais hotels

Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hotel was clean and the staff was friendly, bu they are cutting corners as the customers expense. Sauna was not working , ice machine had been down for weeks. I think they need a liitle bit of an overhaul and reovation of the property. Its cheaper than some others, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coop99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis, mn
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We usually stay at the Best Western next door but needed a room last minute and they were full. As others have stated, the service was friendly and the place was clean but you can only clean old carpet and beds so many times. The beds were pretty worn out and a bit sway backed in our room and left us both with sore backs. Bedspreads and carpet were 15-20 years old and you could tell someone had been smoking in the room even though it's a no smoking hotel. Basically it just felt like they needed to re-carpet and invest in new beds and bedding and the place would be much better. Breakfast was ok but nothing to write home about. Again, though, we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Our room was also nice and quiet at night, but if you are on the first floor you have no lakeview....just a view of houses between you and the lake.


I wish the owners of the GM hotel company would reinvest in their existing properties instead of building new developments. Makes me wonder if they are going to let the new properties slip with time too. It would be easier to recommend this place if it was updated and not so threadbare.

All things (including price) being about equal. We'd stay here as a distant backup behind the Best Western, East Bay, or Nelson's Travelers Rest, but I wouldn't make a first choice for a stay in Grand Marais unless you absolutely have to stay somewhere with a pool

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor for a lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
1.3 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge

Property: Aspen Lodge
Address: 208 E Highway 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604-4403
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Aspen Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Lodge, located on the east edge of Grand Marais, is an in-town lodge and your ideal, four-season, vacation getaway. Nestled in a park-like setting, with views of Artists' Point, East Bay and the Coast Guard Station, Aspen Lodge is an easy walk to shops, restaurants and entertainment. The beautiful swimming pool, giant whirlpool spa, sauna and sundeck are a favorite for end-of-day relaxing. For different family needs, Aspen Lodge offers a variety of room-types, many with lake or wooded views, especially colorful in the fall. These include king or double-queen rooms, family suites, in-room spas and some handicap accessible rooms. After a long day exploring, relax in the fireside lobby for cards, games and reading. For meetings, workshops or family reunions, a hospitality room for 10-25 is available. - Pool, giant whirlpool spa & sauna -Breathtaking Lake Superior & Artists' Point views -Free WIFI and Continental Breakfast -In-room refrigerators and Free guest laundry -Free local calls, voice mail, and message service -Air-conditioned, Smoke-free building -Walk to shops and restaurants -Meeting room for 10-25 -Closest to North Shore State Snowmobile Trail -Boat & trailer parking with winter plug-ins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing