We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY nice place for families who love the outdoors and north-woods experience!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We travel 600 miles (often in one drive!) from Illinois yo visit the north-woods twice a year. We've stayed at other locations in the past but found GOLD when we discovered The Gunflint Pines! Sheri and Bob are VERY accommodating and friendly! We spend A LOT of time birdwatching, animal watching and general hiking down here in Illinois so when we come to the north-woods, we like to find out "where to go to find.." certain animals, birds, etc. At other lodges, you get the generic answers but at Pines you get one-on-one reliable information. The accommodations are cozy and the view was superb! We liked it so much, we are adding an extra WHOLE week next year! We can hike all day, track animals and cook our own gourmet meals in the fully equipped kitchen. We can't wait until our upcoming stay! bravo!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northwoodsmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2010

Thanks to Shari for making our stay at Gunflint Pines a very special one. The setting is beautiful as are the views from the A-frames. We enjoyed coffee with Shari in the very warm and cozy main lodge building where she drew a map for a short hiking trip to a hidden lake and a wonderful high bluff vista of Gunflint Lake. To top off our stay. we got 6 inches of fresh snow which stuck to the trees ang only added to the beauty. Shari was there of course to shovel a path for us and our car so we could get out easily. We can't wait until we can return. Mike & Ruth

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miatatraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

A big step below from other resorts on the Gunflint Trail. The accommodations were very dated and not kept up well, the staff was not helpful and the price was much to high in comparison to other resorts in the other. For the prices charged, you would expect a bed that is less than 10 years old, outlets and electricity that is operational and a minimum standard of of cleanliness around the resort.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveltheworld2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

The owners went out of there way to let our dogs out while we spent the day in Grand Marias for the Dragon Boat races. Whether it's where to find berries, what fish are biting, what hikes are nice the Pines have always been ready to provide free helpful and useful information to make our stay as best as it can be. We'll be back in the fall for grouse hunting and the winter to ski and dog sled.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dogsInTheWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Although the resort has some nice features, it is not on par with other facilities in the area. The cabins are old and in need of repair and there is a general sense of disrepair and sloppiness in the entire resort. We have stayed in other resorts in this area that were much nicer for the price point being asked at Gunflint Pines. This would be a good value and recommended if the prices were not as high as other resorts in the area that are much cleaner and well kept. They also charge for items that other resorts in the area provide for free and we got the feeling we were "nickle and dimed" on many items during our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minntraveler37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

I traveled from New York, to Arkansas, the Grand Canyon, Pacific Coast and back to New York again, and Gunflint Pines was my favorite stay of the whole trip. The Staff was great, and the A-Frame that I stayed in was wonderful. The Lake is great for paddling. My only regret was that I didn't have more time to spend there. It will bring fond memories for years to come.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamelawats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

The owners and staff of this place were incredible!!! They have a small lodge with a wood burning stove and tables and couches were we came one afternoon to escape the rain, they had toys for the kids, were super kid friendly, and the owner took the time to help my 5 yr old daughter finish her small craft project. They are pet friendly, and their two dogs will come "check in" on the campsites. My kids loved the dogs, they were so nice!!

The campsites were good size and the view was absolutely incredible!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNpopcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
30.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
30.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
281 reviews
30.0 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.1 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
256 reviews
30.0 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds

Address: 217 S Gunflint Lk, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2091
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ma & Pa resort & campground 43 miles up the Gunflint Trail National scenic Byway. Year round cabins, summer camping, family and pet friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gunflint Pines Hotel Campgrounds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing