We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect summer cabin on the lake getaway with The Baker hospitality as the icing on the cake and too many fish to count!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Breckenridge, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect summer cabin on the lake getaway with The Baker hospitality as the icing on the cake and too many fish to count!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We had a wonderful time with friends and family and thoroughly enjoyed the Bakers hospitality and Bob's fishing guide skills...our most productive guided fishing trip ever!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rkkoehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    11
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Great resort and campground in the Boundary Waters area. The Bakers really go out of their way to make sure that you're comfortable and get that true Boundary Waters experience. We went with 2 couples and 5 kids between the ages of 3 mos and 14 years and there is something to do for everyone! There is a beach area with docks (a bit rocky so bring your water shoes), pontoon/boat rental, hiking trails right off the resort, and you can charter a fishing trip to nearby lakes. The guys went fishing and caught their limit of lake trout and tons of smallmouth when they went out with Bob. It's a 45 minute drive from Grand Marais on the Gunflint Trail, a scenic byway of MN. We saw foxes playing right near the road on our drive and tons of wildlife including moose. They have wireless internet available for a small fee or a computer you can use for free in the lodge - no cell phone service up there - which was great! The lodge also has a great snack and ice cream bar, basic groceries, and a cute little gift shop area. Highly recommend Gunflint Pines if you want to experience this area. P.S. the hike up to High Cliffs is worth every step (it's rocky and steep so wear good shoes and pack light) - amazing views! We had an eagle take off and fly down to the forest right over the top of our heads. We are looking at the calendar to see when we can book our next trip. They have a Facebook Page too: https://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/pages/Gunflint-Pines-Resort/62936898261.

Room Tip: We stayed in A4 and A1 which had been recently remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexGirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

We travel 600 miles (often in one drive!) from Illinois yo visit the north-woods twice a year. We've stayed at other locations in the past but found GOLD when we discovered The Gunflint Pines! Sheri and Bob are VERY accommodating and friendly! We spend A LOT of time birdwatching, animal watching and general hiking down here in Illinois so when we come to the north-woods, we like to find out "where to go to find.." certain animals, birds, etc. At other lodges, you get the generic answers but at Pines you get one-on-one reliable information. The accommodations are cozy and the view was superb! We liked it so much, we are adding an extra WHOLE week next year! We can hike all day, track animals and cook our own gourmet meals in the fully equipped kitchen. We can't wait until our upcoming stay! bravo!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northwoodsmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

Thanks to Shari for making our stay at Gunflint Pines a very special one. The setting is beautiful as are the views from the A-frames. We enjoyed coffee with Shari in the very warm and cozy main lodge building where she drew a map for a short hiking trip to a hidden lake and a wonderful high bluff vista of Gunflint Lake. To top off our stay. we got 6 inches of fresh snow which stuck to the trees ang only added to the beauty. Shari was there of course to shovel a path for us and our car so we could get out easily. We can't wait until we can return. Mike & Ruth

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miatatraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

A big step below from other resorts on the Gunflint Trail. The accommodations were very dated and not kept up well, the staff was not helpful and the price was much to high in comparison to other resorts in the other. For the prices charged, you would expect a bed that is less than 10 years old, outlets and electricity that is operational and a minimum standard of of cleanliness around the resort.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltheworld2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, MN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

The owners went out of there way to let our dogs out while we spent the day in Grand Marias for the Dragon Boat races. Whether it's where to find berries, what fish are biting, what hikes are nice the Pines have always been ready to provide free helpful and useful information to make our stay as best as it can be. We'll be back in the fall for grouse hunting and the winter to ski and dog sled.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogsInTheWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Although the resort has some nice features, it is not on par with other facilities in the area. The cabins are old and in need of repair and there is a general sense of disrepair and sloppiness in the entire resort. We have stayed in other resorts in this area that were much nicer for the price point being asked at Gunflint Pines. This would be a good value and recommended if the prices were not as high as other resorts in the area that are much cleaner and well kept. They also charge for items that other resorts in the area provide for free and we got the feeling we were "nickle and dimed" on many items during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minntraveler37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
30.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
30.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
30.1 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
30.0 mi away
Mangy Moose Motel
Mangy Moose Motel
#1 of 10 in Grand Marais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
30.0 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds

Property: Gunflint Pines Resort & Campgrounds
Address: 217 S Gunflint Lk, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2091
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ma & Pa resort & campground 43 miles up the Gunflint Trail National scenic Byway. Year round cabins, summer camping, family and pet friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gunflint Pines Hotel Campgrounds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing