We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great owners, great location, okay room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great owners, great location, okay room”
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We planned a last minute trip up north over the Memorial Day weekend. We didn't have many rooms to choose from and ended up here.

Met both the owners and they are great and super friendly and informative. They let us store or luggage at the office during the day since we arrived before check-in and were planning a day- trip up across the border to Canada. We didn't want to have too much along to get search by customs.

The location is great if you want to stretch your legs a little bit and wander thru Grand Marais by foot. It was so nice to just park for the night and have plenty to do to keep us busy during the evening.

The room was okay. We had a room facing the parking lot. To be honest, the lake-view rooms didn't seem worth it since you have to look across the 'hallway' and the street to see the lake. The room was $106 after taxes so still spendy considering.

The room was a bit run down. Some things didn't seem like they were the most clean. There was a fridge in the room but it was old, and falling apart.

Despite all the little things that I could pick apart, Id still maybe stay here again. The amazing owners totally outweigh the condition of the room. To have a room right in Grand Marais and within walking distance to the bay was great.

** Just a little side note. The rooms that face away from the lake do not have air conditioning. Due to the location, the temps are significantly lower near the lake than further up on land. We emailed the owners to ask about it so if you have questions, drop them a note. They respond quickly.**

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbwblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    34
    12
    13
    5
See reviews for
19
57
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

My wife and I were hiking the Superior Hiking Trail and got soaked in an ice cold rain storm and needed to get dry and warm. We trudged into Grand Marias and found a great place to stay- Harbor Inn Motel, the owners were truly fantastic!

They even insisted that we use their car to get dinner (we got in late and their was only one restaurant still open). We stayed there two nights, one of the owners even drove us to and from the trailheads for the next two days and wouldn't take extra money for it-simply incredible.

The rooms were plain, but clean and the views of Lake Superior were great. We cannot say enough about the owners though, they went above and beyond and made our stay great!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedSpecV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2010

The location was awesome, right as you are driving into Grand Marais, small hotel right on the harbor. Beautiful views and we were fortune to get 2 rooms overlooking the water. Very clean, and the staff was so warm and friendly. I would definatley next time bring my kids and make it a family vacation. Plenty to do in the area and walking distance to the small shops and beach of the north shore.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocominneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We happened to find Harbor Inn on the internet, we were doing the circle Superior trip. The rooms are very nice, recently remodeled and very clean. We had a lakeside room, and from our balcony we could watch the harbor and all of the activity on the main street. Everything is within walking distance. The woman who is the owner took the time to tell us about the local sights and made some recommendations regarding dining.

Money well spent, and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s0metimetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

I have not stayed at the hotel. It could be very nice. Twice I've had poor service at the restaurant however. Generally crabby servers who seemed irritated by customers' questions.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernLez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2008

I have stayed here three times now and would definitely stay again. This isn't a fancy place, but I think it's great value for the location. The rooms are a bit dated, but the owners are awesome and very willing to share their local knowledge. The location is SO perfect, it's right on the harbor and within a two or three blocks of all the great shops and restaurants and nightlife. Get a cup of coffee & scone at the Java Moose, (about 50 feet away) and sit by the Big Lake - best breakfast in town!

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Rooms are dated
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TNT55106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Ulm, MN
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2007

If you are looking for a cozy no frills hotel with a great location for walking to most everything in Grand Marais then this is the hotel for you. The owners are very nice and there is also a good restaurant in the hotel called the Wild Onion where we had a great breakfast!

Helpful?
1 Thank jamimarie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
149 reviews
19.0 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
1.0 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel

Property: Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Address: 207 W Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604-5020
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing