We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST ROOM on the North Shore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My newlywed wife and I stayed at this Best Western as part of our trip in Minnesota. The room was AWESOME! Fireplace, fridge, granite countertops, beautiful veiw of Lake Superior, flat panel TV with great reception, free internet...this room had everything! But the best thing was the shower. We read other reviews of the shower and the are all true. Btw, we stayed in one of the 'Presidential' or 'Honeymoon' suites right off of the lobby with a large single bed. The breakfasts were a very nice touch too, the staff was very knowledgeable, and my wife who is practially OCD loved the cleanliness of the room. A nice hotel in a wonderful town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlennK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

906 - 912 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

Great location for exploring Grand Marais and good view of Lake Superior. Very clean, well designed rooms. Good beach.

However, the furniture and atmosphere is still that of a Best Western. No complaints really, but the hotel has so much going for it, they could take it up one more notch with the service and furnishings.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidwestFamilyTvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We loved the hotel and Grand Marais. All of the rooms have lakefront views and balconies. It was worth waking up early to see the sunrise. The room was huge and quite comfortable. The shower head was quite unique - one of the best.

Grand Marais has many interesting restaurants and lots of little shops. We loved walking around. One of our favorite stops ever!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ammerammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Our king/view room in this hotel was clean, modern and right on the water of Lake Superior. It had a microwave, refrigerator, big flat screen TV, large food counter, large bathroom counter with magnifying makeup mirror, desk/table and 2 chairs, sofa, balcony with 2 chairs and a beautiful view. Good sized room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianaKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We were a group of 3 motorcycle couples wanting to stay directly on lake superior. The view from the room balcony is gorgeous. However, there is nothing more to this hotel. There is no pool, no fitness center, 2 computers in the hallway at check in, the front staff we found was a little rude and not extremely helpful or knowledgeable. The breakfast is adequate but not outstanding - and the eating area is very small and congested. For the price we paid ($175 per night) we were expecting ALOT more.. Next time we will stay across the street at the Mangy Moose - where you can still see the lake..

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DarceyJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior_Inn_Mgmt, Owner at Best Western Plus Superior Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Thank you for your recent stay & feedback. Our team prides itself in creating a Superior experience for guests, so we hope you’ll give us another chance to serve you. The breakfast area can be a busy place on mornings when the hotel has high occupancy; we apologize for any inconvenience you may have had. We’ve evolved from offering cont’l breakfast to free full hot breakfast w/eggs & meat, pancakes, hot oatmeal bar w/toppings, yogurts, fruit, World’s Best Donuts, organic coffees w/syrups, & more, so expanding this area is in future plans. Our hotel offers an indoor whirlpool for guests to enjoy; it doesn’t advertise a swimming pool.

If you’re seeking more affordable rates than are in peak season, please consider staying in Quiet Time (late Oct thru mid May). We offer a variety of room types w/different amenities & rates. Our team would be happy to assist w/finding a date & room type that best matches your needs & budget for your next trip to Grand Marais.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Beautiful hotel, location, staff. I would stay here again; the best place on this trip!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank COMuggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

This is about the nicest Best Western that I have stayed at. It is well run and reasonably priced. It is right on the shore of Lake Superior and most rooms face the beach. It is also a quick walk to the downtown and restaurants. The showers were very nice for a hotel as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
1.2 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
70 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Superior Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Superior Inn

Address: 104 1st Ave E, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3134 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range: £82 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Superior Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated hotel sits on the shore of Lake Superior in downtown Grand Marais and nearly all of the 66 smoke-free rooms and suites have a stunning lake view. All rooms feature comfortable, modern furnishings. Room amenities include: private lakefront balcony, fireplace, hydrotherapy whirlpool, five-shower-head steam shower, bathrobes, desk with ergonomic chair, make up mirrors, pet friendly, flat screen TV's and more (not all rooms have all amenities, specify your choice when making your reservation). All guests enjoy a complimentary full, hot breakfast, oversize whirlpool, fitness room, lobby bar and bistro, great-room with fireplace and complimentary tea and coffee, and the convenience of being within walking distance to everything in downtown Grand Marais. Our motto is, "Service isn't a big thing, it's a million little things." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Superior Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing