We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baby, Look at you now!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here a couple of years ago and thought it was a very nice place: clean, comfortable, nice staff, terrific location, beautiful view, but maybe a little dated. When we returned last week and opened the door to our room..Holy cow! It had ben beautifully refurbished! So pretty, I even took pictures to show people. It was still comfortable, still had the same nice staff and terrific location, beautiful view, same level of cleanliness and care, and a gorgeous room to boot. No doubt where we'll be staying next year at Grand Marais!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel (on the water) and on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jred922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

821 - 827 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

We were traveling as a group to Windigo, Isle Royale NP and decided to stay here instead of in Grand Portage based on reviews of what was available in Grand Portage. My room was clean, spacious and quiet. I loved the view from my room of Lake Superior. I also liked that I could just walk a few steps down the hall and be on the beach. The staff was very friendly during our stay. I was surprised, though, that they only had 1 washing machine and 1 dryer for the entire facility. Breakfast was fine, although seating was somewhat limited. You are within easy walking distance for a variety of restaurants for lunch and dinner.
When I return to the area, I won't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokymtndeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and always have gotten great service. The views are great and unobstructed. Just the right diatance for a short walk to the downtown area. There is no pool but i do remember a hot tub although we did not use it. The rooms are so close to the lake the sound of the waves will lull you to sleep. Forget about the tv.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minneapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

So a friendly staff can only go so far to make up for an average at best hotel.
Yes we have a dog with us do we stayed in a "pet friendly" room. Of course we payed an extra sur charge per night to do so so in my opinion any excuse for the average to below average condition of the room.
It is just your run of the mil best western with a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sashagray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We had a room that looked over the lake and it was beautiful. The hotel was really close to the town and had a beach right beside it. It was well equipped and breakfast was good. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leateach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed at the Best Western in Grand Marais mid-week in August. The hotel was nice enough and served the purpose of a place to sleep but wasn't anything special. We thought we were getting a great deal because the cost of a suite was the same price as a regular room but I think we would have preferred the regular room. The suite wasn't much bigger although it did have a couch if you have a larger group. However, the suite we were in was half underground so it felt dark and did not afford any view at all. Also, many of the regular rooms had little balconies. The breakfast was free but if we go again I will find a local cafe for breakfast. The scrambled eggs were cold and the pancake machine was not working. I guess we really have nothing to complain about since it was part of the room rate but it could have been better.

On the upside, it is in a great location if you want to be able to visit the local diners or shops. You can walk virtually everywhere. The view is wonderful as the hotel is right on Lake Superior. The staff were very friendly. They also have a large binder in the room that provides lots of helpful information about local places to eat or visit but also fun facts about the area and the lake. It was a nice touch and much better than most resources you find in hotel rooms.

If we were going for just a day or two we would stay again. Most resorts won't rent for short periods of time so it's nice to have this option.

Room Tip: We had suite 132 or 134 (I can't remember which) and I would not recommend this room as you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaveTheFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

Clean and beautiful rooms get a room with a balcony the view of the lake is breaktalking. The staff so friendly and helpful. The steam.shower wow loved them. The hot breakfast had the n
Best pancakes and yummy assuage.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceresdeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
1.2 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
70 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Superior Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Superior Inn

Address: 104 1st Ave E, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3134 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range: £81 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Superior Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated hotel sits on the shore of Lake Superior in downtown Grand Marais and nearly all of the 66 smoke-free rooms and suites have a stunning lake view. All rooms feature comfortable, modern furnishings. Room amenities include: private lakefront balcony, fireplace, hydrotherapy whirlpool, five-shower-head steam shower, bathrobes, desk with ergonomic chair, make up mirrors, pet friendly, flat screen TV's and more (not all rooms have all amenities, specify your choice when making your reservation). All guests enjoy a complimentary full, hot breakfast, oversize whirlpool, fitness room, lobby bar and bistro, great-room with fireplace and complimentary tea and coffee, and the convenience of being within walking distance to everything in downtown Grand Marais. Our motto is, "Service isn't a big thing, it's a million little things." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Superior Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing