We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Great location, right on Lake Superior and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Clean comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Breakfast average for a hotel of this type. The location and inexpensive price will lure me back soon! The large hot tub in basement was a nice touch on the cool crisp evenings in November when we visited.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    210
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
222
417
37
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Papillion, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Visited for 3 nights in Late September, 2012. Stayed in one of the Renewal Steam Suites. 2nd floor balcony overlooked the pebble beach of the east bay. The steam shower was amazing! Left the balcony door open, fireplace on, and listend to the waves at night. Hotel is easy walk from the downtown shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I recently stayed in the steam renewal shower suite. It was worth every penny!! The room was spotless, it had a fireplace, steam shower, whirlpool, flat screen with a dvd player, mini bar (microwave and fridge), and a balcony overlooking superior. Plus, the king size bed was amazingly comfortable.

The staff was friendly and very helpful. We had a "Do Not Disturb" sign left on our door and received a call that afternoon making sure we didn't require anything else.

Overall the stay was wonderful and I would highly recommend Suite 221. But I do think all the rooms in the hotel are very well taken care of.

Room Tip: "Room 221, Steam shower Suite, Best for couples"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaJaJables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I am still in awe of how great this hotel was. When I hear the name Best Western I always wonder how nice it is going to be, this hotel sets the bar very high from the great staff to the nicely appointed room. I had a beautiful room with an amazing view and a nice balcony and the steam shower was amazing. I would suggest this hotel to anyone who wants to be pampered.

Room Tip: Ask for a steam suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveltheworldfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

This will always be our hotel when staying in Grand Marais. This time it was the last stop before heading home on our Superior Loop tour on the motorcycles . What I love most about this property is that the back side is directly on the beach. Every time we stay there she's, I run across the parking lot to Holiday gas station , buy a couple bundles of wood , get free old newspapers , head down to the beach right outside our deck , situate stones to form a bonfire pit, make a fire and drink wine under the Lake Superior stars.
Fabulous 2 room suites at basic room rates during the week .....if you ask for a suite with a deck facing the lake .
Friendly staff , hot breakfast , great pillows and linens with fridge and microwave .
Can't beat the value and they'll match any published rate from discount sights .
Love it !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank llychornblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My husband and I always stay at the Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites whenever we are coming to Grand Marais. We know that we always get a great stay, wonderful pricing and a very knowledgeable staff. You wake every morning to the lake at your door step and a Full Hot Breakfast that is complimentary! What more could you ask for... But wait, the hotel is just a block or 2 from the shops and a short jaunt to "Artist Point". All in all it's a WONDERFUL hotel! We will be back to Grand Marais and we know where we are going to stay! Thanks for the great weekend!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with a "good room" every room has something unique to it and lakesi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iluv2trvl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The front desk staff is very friendy and accomodating, the rooms are very nice and all overlook Lake Superior. We have stayed here twice and both times it was a great experience. You can take a nice walk on the shoreline right in the back of the hotel, or sit out on your deck and enjoy the view of Lake Superior.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ckj57105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Address: 104 1st Avenue East, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3134 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing