We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, odd room layout, disappointing breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago Suburbs, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, odd room layout, disappointing breakfast”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was a really nice hotel and we enjoyed our four-night stay. The staff was friendly, our room was clean and in good condition, but we thought it was a little small for a suite. The bed was very comfortable. The view of Lake Superior from our balcony was superb.

We had a few minor concerns. The room got very warm at night and we had to run the air conditioner despite nighttime temperatures in the 40s. This was one of the most expensive hotels we have ever stayed at, and the weekend part of our rate was $230 with our senior discount. The room was oddly furnished, with no desk or table where you could comfortably sit and use a laptop, and there were two TVs. Breakfast was adequate with a reasonable amount of choices, but we were disappointed that the same hot foods were offered every morning - scrambled eggs with and without ham, sausages and pancakes.

Despite the concerns I mentioned, we would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a bathtub you need to rent a suite with a whirlpool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank phil521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    207
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
218
407
36
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We were blown away by the level on quality, cleanliness, value and service for a small town lodge. We've stayed in lots of places world wide but have stayed in very few places as nice as this one. We are going to return, and recommend to ALL our friends......and you! Special thanks to Chuck for his service and assistance.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, WI, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

No better hotel on Canal Park. Located centrally within walking distance to all of the Park's points of interest: ship canal, aquarium, and the many shops and dining places. We return here at least once per year to enjoy the ambience of the Park. A perfect getaway for us, relaxed yet always interesting.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
200 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel ranks right up there with "one of the best properties" in the upper Midwest! The rooms are huge, super clean, beautiful walk in showers, lovely decorating, right on the lake & all rooms have a lake view, microwave, refrig., granite counter tops, flat screen TV, etc. The service is top notch, staff is friendly & efficient & the breakfasts are good. It has a whirlpool & very secure entrances to hotel. It is also dog friendly on the 1st floor.

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor - better view & very quiet. Some rooms have steam showers, fireplaces, et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel at least six different times and it has always been fantastic. Start with the view - the hotel is right on Lake Superior and all rooms directly face the lake, all with balconies. The hotel is literally steps away from the main shopping/dining area of Grand Marais. The rooms are large, well decorated, and clean and appear to be updated regularly. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are great - my preference is for 2nd or 3rd floor because I like the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very nice hotel in a quite little town. Lovely place to stay if you are visiting Grand Marais. No pool but a large hot tub with a handicap chair to lower you in if you need. A full breakfasts is served but the breakfast room is small so you may need to take your food back to your room. But the food quality is very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank VampCBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillion, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

2nd time staying here! Awesome location and great room! Stayed 5 nights this time and visited the Gunflint Trail, Hwy 61 to the Canadian border, State Parks, shopped and dined in town, hiked and relaxed in the room!

Room Tip: Renewal Suites with the steam shower!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Address: 104 1st Avenue East, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3134 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing