We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I was looking for a romantic night away and I found everything I needed here. The King Suite with steam shower was absolutely incredible. With a balcony looking out over Lake Superior, a jacuzzi tub and a luxurious king bed, we had everything we needed. Yet this hotel room offered so much more. A flat screen TV was mounted on the wall above an elegant gas fireplace, right in front of the bed, for added ambiance. The decor was beautiful with attention to detail throughout. The most amazing feature, though, was the Steam Shower. I had never seen anything like it and now want one of my own. There were five shower heads, a bar with two heads on each side of the shower, as well as a rain shower head in the middle. The built in bench was wonderful when using steam. You could use the Shower Steam feature, which got as hot as 105 degrees Fahrenheit or the Wrinkle Free feature, which was 150 degrees Fahrenheit. It was an amazing experience and my favourite part of the room. The free breakfast was very good, with scrambled eggs, scrambled eggs with bacon pieces mixed in, hard boiled eggs, sausages, ham, pancakes, ,yogurt, fruit, muffins, bagels, toast, juice, coffee. The staff at the front desk attended to our needs quickly and efficiently. The only downfall was the noise in the room above us, as we were on the bottom floor but perhaps to be expected with whirlpool tubs. I would return here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Splurge for the Steam Shower Room. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    207
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
218
407
36
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

My elderly parents were coming up to Grand Marais in October. I originally had reservations at "The Shoreline" because some friends had stayed there last year and we thought it was a good location and reasonable. Well that is another story which I will write a review on and I would never recommend "The Shoreline" to anyone! Now onto this WONDERFUL place! I went in upset after leaving The Shoreline. I walked in and was immediately greeted by a friendly man who turned out to be the manager. I told him that story that I needed a handicapped room on the first floor for my parents and wanted a good view. He said not a problem we can put them right close to the front breakfast area, great view on the first floor, but the hotel is on a hill so they were on the 2nd floor when you look out the backside of the hotel. It was a little more expensive but it was SO worth it!

I checked in my parents 2 day's later and we got to their room close to the main entrance/breakfast area/lobby. WOW what a room! Beautiful view! Large deck overlooking Lake Superior. You can just hear the waves crashing. Huge bathroom with all nice Travertine or ceramic tile, separate vanity which was very large, two queen beds, table with two chairs and two other chairs with an ottoman! SO clean. I have stayed at many 4/5 star hotels and this was 5 stars in my opinion!

When you walk into the lobby, directly to the left is the breakfast area. What a nice breakfast! Egg's, sausage, ham, pancakes from an automatic pancake maker, toast, bagels, Worlds Best Donuts, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, muffins, milk, juice, anything you would want and all good fresh options!

In the lobby they have a coffee station with 3 kinds of coffee, an assortment of coffee flavors you can add to coffee, cream, flavored cream, lemon ice water full at all times, and tea of your choice all complimentary. All kinds of nice brochures for your reading pleasure.

All the staff were absolutely wonderful the entire stay which was 5 days. This area in Grand Marais in the fall is spectacular. I would not stay anywhere else but here. We were so pleased with this hotel we could not say enough good things about it.

On our last night it was my Birthday. We met up with my parents in the breakfast area and had cake that we brought in. Just a beautiful spot to sit. All new and updated and I am very picky about hotels.

The other nice thing was the nice amenities. They had "Bee Kind" bath products that were amazing!

I just can't say enough wonderful things about this place. I would recommend this to anyone! Enjoy your stay!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotaGeocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

This is a great priced hotel.. My third visit here and as always I was very satisfied. I must add that the self serve breakfast was superb.. Keep up the great work!!! Will for sure be back here soon. For the view it's hard to beat this location. East bay suites next door shares this view and is a bit more upmarket but horrendously expensive. This is a great choice for a clean comfortable stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Appin_Alba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stay here every October for a few days with my wife. The place is right on Lake Superior and the views are stunning! Grand Marais is a quant little town with great shops and restuarants. The people are very friendly as well. A GREAT weekend getaway!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Troy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroy, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for 20 years. Always a great experience. Beautiful views of Lake Superior! Rooms are lovely. Alot of updates over the years. Relaxing destination. Perfect for families and even better for girl trips!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Ladonna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

This is a superb lake front hotel which has been recently renovated - our room was absolutely superb with a fantastic shower/steam room and a jacuzzi bath. The bed was perfect and the breakfast simple but excellent.

It's not cheap but then it is by the lake - and it is 100 metres from the small artistic town of Grand Marais. I recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreview
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

when placing our reservation we requested a 2nd floor...when we arrived the couple before us did not have a reservation...they were given a second floor room...we were told the 2nd and third floors rooms were full...therefore only a first floor room was available

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Address: 104 1st Avenue East, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3134 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing