We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Nights on the North Shore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Superior Nights on the North Shore”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I love the Best Western Superior in Grand Marais, MN! The rooms are well thought out and the we nice touches throughout. The Shower is best we have encountered on the road and the view of the Lake is hard to beat. Just a beautiful spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 817vickih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    226
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
246
445
42
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fridley, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Every room has a view of Lake Superior. After a long day of hiking the beautiful state parks, it's nice to relax in the hot tub. Breakfast is always superb and the dining room is very homey. If you can get a fire place and a hot tub in your room, you may not want to go out and hit the hiking trail.

Room Tip: Upstairs, corner balcony with a fireplace is our favorite. Second and third floor rooms with a balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The lake view was more of a partial view, but still there. The room seemed clean, not very spacious. Our biggest issues with this hotel was the fact that it was pet friendly. It is great that they allow pets, but our neighboring rooms decided to leave their dogs in the room while they went out which led to incessant barking and howling. The other issue was thin walls and a lack of a shower curtain on our shower. Yes, no shower curtain. I did voice these concerns to the front desk and in their defense, they did try to make it right by discounting our room rate. However, I would think twice about staying again.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the third floor (top floor) since it seems walking above our room was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursetraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

A good hotel in a tourist area. Staying in the Great Western was nice with a room facing Lake Superior no matter where you are in the hotel. Our children enjoyed staying there. The easy to clean remote is a plus feature. It would be wonderful if a dry starch were available for my medically diagnosed daughter who must eat gluten-free. Maybe have something and make it something to request while at hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Time after time we return to the Superior Inn and Suites in Grand Marais. The view of Artist's Point in spectacular. I love to photograph the sunrise from the balcony suites. Service is always excellent. I often judge a hotel by the comfort of the bed and quality of pillows. This place is a 10! One of my favorites.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank olaughll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a very well managed and well maintained hotel. It's a great location overlooking Lake Superior. It it modern and newly renovated. Everything was great. I can understand why they have won so many awards.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank PJ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Have stayed here a few times over the years. Great place, clean and has an excellent view of Lake Superior. Is within walking distance of the harbor, to included great places to eat and drink!!! I would recommend the Gun Flint Tavern, great food, drink and entertainment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
153 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mangy Moose Motel
Mangy Moose Motel
#1 of 10 in Grand Marais
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Address: 104 1st Avenue East, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3134 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing