We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redesigned with flair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A lot of national brand hotels are "upgrading" and "updating" with various results. This Best Western Plus has done it right. Rooms are comfortable and current and the bathrooms are a real treat. Step into that delightful shower and you'll forget you're surrounded by wilderness. Lake Superior is right outside the window. Price is competitive for the area. We just completed a 10-day Superior Circle Tour and this was the best place we stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhpoetlaureate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was a nice hotel right on the water, within walking distance to all of downtown Grand Marais. MOST rooms are clean and updated to modern amenities and decor. I DO recommend if you are not traveling with pets to make sure you get a room that does NOT allow pets. The 'pet' rooms are not updated and definitely have an 'aroma' of pet (urine, pet smell). This was extremely disappointing. The other rooms we saw, however, were very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Doneva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay! I loved being able to have the patio door open and being lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. Room was gorgeous and very clean (I have dust and mould allergies and they were not triggered). Staff very friendly! Complimentary coffee had a nice flavour!!!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Leahgftraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently, and very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel sits on the shore of Lake Superior, and every room has it's own balcony facing the lake. The view was fantastic. The room was great and had a refrigerator and microwave, which we very much wanted. The room itself was clean, but I felt the carpet needed shampooing, and the bed was a little too soft for my taste, but it wasn't bad. Those were the only faults of the place. There was a nice full breakfast available in the mornings, with a roomy dining area. Would we stay here again? Absolutely. The view cannot be better and it's all very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LauriH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Whenever I was in the bathroom it had very bad lighting. I could not see a thing. We did smell a lot of dog odor especially in the hallway. Dogs from owners staying at the hotel and other people were letting their dogs use the grassy area at the hotel. The décor was quite dated for the cost of the room.

Room Tip: Outdated for the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The owner?/manager obviously takes pride in his establishment. Everything was clean and in good condition. There was one little oversight. A half-full can of beer was left in the room. However, I'm sure the maid just forgot to remove it at the last second because the room had obviously been well-cleaned. Nice modern bathroom. We had a balcony room overlooking the lake which would have been wonderful if the weather had cooperated. Some mentioned leaving the window open at night to hear the waves but the seagulls screeching was too much for us. We did not take advantage of breakfast but the coffee bar in the lobby looked good--a lot of options. The bed linens and pillows were nice and clean. Bedside plug-ins for cell phones were appreciated. "No pets allowed" rooms are available if that is your preference.

Room Tip: A second floor room with a balcony is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bubbletone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Couldn't have been a better experience. Room was ready and waiting, senior citizen accessible and dog friendly at this location. Hot breakfast with friendly attendant there to help or answer questions

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
157 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
112 reviews
30.2 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Address: 104 1st Avenue East, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3134 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range: £94 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing