We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I'm only speaking for our room, which was a PLUS room. This had the greatest shower with many different pulses for your desire. This was on the second floor overlooking Lake Superior from the balcony, and the view was grand. There was a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and a large tv. Ours had a Queen bed and a pull out bed in a couch. We were near downtown, and the walking was fantastic. It was, in my opinion, pricy~and if you don't care~that's great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rene49__11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great stay. Room was very modern with a comfortable bed. Room had a great view of Lake Superior and a balcony to sit outside and enjoy the view. Highly recommend this hotel. The staff that I encountered were very friendly as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lynchmob47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This Best Western Inn is in a great location! It was convenient to walk to scenic spots, shopping, and dining. The view from our 3rd floor room was fantastic! We would definitely return to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It seems when making your reservation, that all rooms face the lake, and you can sit outside (on those good weather days) on your sweet little personal balcony/porch. When entering our room, we had no glass doors leading out because we were actually partially underground until eye level, where we had a window looking at a small mound of grass. You could not see more than a few feet in front of you, as the view rounded up, past eye level and window level. Went to the office to ask for our balcony/view room. This would cost an additional 18 plus tax. Our room still did not face the lake, but the back of the Coop grocery store, it's dumpsters and blacktop, plus a retaining pond. You could see the lake from standing out on the balcony and viewing left, plus, the sounds of the peepers from the pond was wonderful . I can not vouch for sleep quality, for non of us have our best sleep away from home, but the bed and bedding were very comfortable. The room has a mini refrigerator, good counter space, a nice sized closet. Bathrooms have great counter space, but the tub is small. Water pressure/temp are good, and the organic hair products /paper packaging is a plus. The breakfast area accommodates very few people, and is minimal. There were scrambled eggs, oat meal, toast. There was a pancake making machine that was being refilled with a batter bag and not cooperating, (very nice young man from Eastern Europe servicing machine) There was an extra tray next to the eggs that was awaiting sausage. We were there from 9 to 9:20. The refill entered on our way out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Best Western Plus on Lake Superior in Grand Marais was an EXCELLENT hotel choice for us. Having ALL rooms face the lake is certainly a plus!! The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast provided great options including hot and cold foods. One of my favorite amenities was the fresh orange-infused ice water they provided in the lobby along with various coffees/teas--and it was available the entire day! :) The hotel was close to the downtown area but not right in the center which provided a quieter stay. I definitely would recommend this hotel and stay here again when I travel to Grand Marais.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I travel to Grand Marais every summer or two and I always try to stay at this location. It has always been a well maintained property and the location is really good. You can walk to area restaurants and attractions easily from this location and you have a view of the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ann Palmer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I've written this 5 times already and the answer is: Caveat Emptor. this was a last minute change in work that allowed time off for a spontaneous trip. It is a wonderful drive up the north shore of Lake Superior with hidden rivers, state parks and lovely tourist towns to explore....where you and many others all together provide the livelyhood there. Take the less traveled roads near the shore for views. The BW appears remodeled where most of the noise is filtered out and all of the amenities are packed into the room so that two people would be a crowd. My room faced so that it had a nice view but not THE view or the airflow. It is very well kept and the people are friendly and helpful. Hindsight: do your homework and find one of the novel B&B's where you should expect similarly priced novel. Oh yeah, across a dirt parking lot is the local CoOp; the town is only a block away.

Room Tip: Placed to allow views of this smaller bay, try the middle section that faces 'up the coast'...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
156 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
112 reviews
30.2 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites

Address: 104 1st Avenue East, US Highway 61 East, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3134 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range: £93 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Superior Hotel Grand Marais
Best Western Plus Superior Inn And Suites
Best Western Grand Marais
Best Western Superior Hotel
Grand Marais Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing