We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“America the Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moose Head Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moose Head Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Granger, Indiana
1 review
“America the Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

The magnificent scenery, the kindness and caring for you as an individual makes Moose Head Ranch the only special gathering place for our family. My husband and I are so impressed by the quality of the ranch staff . If you have children or grandchildren the younger staff are
excellent examples and make special efforts to ensure a fun time for them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
125
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

In our family, the grandparent, the parents and the kids agree: Moose Head Ranch is the perfect vacation. As a former wrangler, my husband was eager to share the Moose Head experience with our family. Now, we don't want to vacation anywhere else!
The Teton views are stunning. The cabins are immaculate and inviting. The food is delightful. The horses are well cared-for, friendly, and sure-footed. The trail rides with frequent wildlife sightings (elk, buffalo, antelope) are spectacular. But the best assets of the ranch are its people.
Louise and Kit and their staff go out of their way to make guests feel at home and to help them to plan their ideal Jackson Hole adventure. Eddie and the wranglers do an outstanding job of providing fun, exciting and informative rides. And our kids especially enjoyed exploring the ranch and playing kickball, Ping-Pong and volleyball with other guests' children and campfire sing-a-longs and a softball game with the exceptionally kind and well-mannered cabin girls and wranglers.
If you are seeking adventure and tranquility in an environment of warm hospitality, Moose Head Ranch may be the perfect vacation for you too!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

There is something about this special place that creates the atmosphere for the perfect family vacation. While the owners, staff, dining, and setting are top-notch, the sum is something beyond. Attempts were made to describe it prior to our first visit, but could not come close to accurately depicting the feeling once there.
The boys, now 7 & 10, roam free discovering new things every day that don't involve tvs or video games. Children and adults alike mingle with other guests as if they have known them most of their lives.
The staff is amazing. Arrive unassuming and you will be pampered to no end. There is very little the owners, Kit and Louise, can't make happen.(i.e. "beer ice cream" and anniversary cakes). From the softball game to the trail riding, the interaction with the staff is wonderful!
Both trips to the ranch provided ample wildlife viewing.
Be sure to take a fly fishing lesson from Kit and don't miss the cookout!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moretown, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Whether you consider family to be the people you travel with or those you meet along the way, family is what you will be once you arrive at the ranch! I had the great pleasure of celebrating my Uncle's 70th birthday on the ranch...all together 22 family members ages 10 months-74 years gathered to make life lasting memories! The other visiting families quickly became a part of our daily lives and it was common to hear of families and couples returning to Moose Head Ranch year after year. The wranglers and Cabin girls were VERY friendly, polite and professional...we had the pleasure of playing softball with them one evening and were thrilled with the singing and dancing during a fireside BBQ! The food was beyond amazing! I am a vegetarian and the staff went above and beyond to grill up a veggie burger And prepare vegetarian sides for the bbqs when seafood was not an option! My 2 year old and 5 year old were more than happy with the food, cabin, adventures, playground, horses, pond...the list goes on. Louise and Kit were warm, friendly and welcoming. Eddie and his sweet dog Mollie made sure to great us with a kind smile before every ride and were sure to accommodate all riding needs. Tough to leave the ranch and I only hope to return to create more memories. Andrea Petrasch-Vermont

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

My family of five (3 boys between 8-13), along with 17 other family members were fortunate enough to spend four nights at the Moose Head Ranch in mid June 2013. The entire experience was amazing and we cannot wait to return. The staff was accomodating, the wranglers were engaging, the cabins were clean and spacious, the food was top notch and the ranch and surrounding Tetons provided for a great setting. The lack of pressure to do anything specific, and the fact that all decisions were essentially made for us, made the vacation relaxing and simple.

Room Tip: ask for a cabin with a view of the snow capped Tetons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

If you love to ride, love great food, love great folks this is the place to go. Grand Tetons out your back door, absolutely gorgeous place to be! Kit and Louise make you feel right at home and part of the ranch. Horses were wonderful and different trails each day. The cabin was very comfortable for the 4 of us, the food 5 star! A little more money than some of the others in the area but well worth it! Best trip ever!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had a family reunion at the ranch in mid-June 2013 and it exceeded our expectations. 22 of us met at the ranch from ages 10 months to 74 years. The 10-month old enjoyed watching older cousins and adults play on the lawn, jump in the swimming hole, using the playground, fishing, enjoy the music & dancing at the cookout, softball game with the wranglers and cabin girls and of course ride.
Constant was the gorgeous view of the Tetons, watching wranglers drive in the horses, blue skies each day, wildflowers, rushing Snake River, elk, moose, pronghorns, bison and a variety of rides exploring the countryside. The food was excellent. Who would dream of crab cakes in Wyoming every bit as wonderful as those in Maryland? (and maybe better!) Duck, fish, tenderloin, pork, chicken and pasta offerings were only a few of the options.
Louise and Kit Davenport are experienced second generation owners and hosts who accommodate your every wish, be it fly-fishing instruction, birthday celebrations or suggestions on what are musts for a visit to Jackson. And they know how to hire the very best and friendliest college-age wranglers and cabin girls. The entire experience at Moose Head Ranch will be unforgettable and cherished. Can't wait to return! Thank you, Louise and Kit!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room/ cabin on the ranch and the owners chose perfect accommodations according to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moose
10.0 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
14.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
19.8 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
10.1 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#2 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
11.7 mi away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#5 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Head Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Head Ranch

Property: Moose Head Ranch
Address: Highway 89 N, Moose, Grand Teton National Park, WY 83012
Region: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park > Moose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Moose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Moose Head Ranch Hotel Moose
Moose Head Ranch Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing