We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
220
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
220
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscabin girlsfamily vacationfly fishingbisonhorseback ridingsnake riversunday nightjackson holetroutping ponggrand tetonsrustic elegancepersonal attentionowners and staffmost beautiful places on eartha special placebreathtaking views
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Just completed our 20th stay at Moosehead and it keeps getting better. The friendly family atmosphere, incredible mountain setting, caring staff, and unbelievable food all make the Moosehead experience the best vacation ever. We will return again and again.

Feels like family!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If you ever have a chance to go stay at a ranch, Moose Head is the place to go! Great hosts, unbelievable views, fabulous food, adorable cabin girls and wranglers. This place is first class all the way!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cronky01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our trip to Moosehead Ranch was July/August 2012 and the kids still talk about it at least once a week! Louise and Kit make you feel like you are part of their family. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. The Tetons make for a spectacular back drop for all your trail rides and the ranch itself. We never missed a trail ride and even did an all day ride- we loved it! Accommodations are outstanding and the food was the AMAZING! Truly a 5 star experience all the way around!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were lucky to have discovered Moose Head Ranch many years ago. It has always been such a wonderful experience that we choose it to have our 50th Wedding Anniversary with our children, grandchildren and our Best Man. None of them had been there before, but all agreed it was one of the best vacations they ever had. There is too much that's special about it to cover everything, but it centers on exceptional hospitality, warm friendly staff, outstanding horse riding, fabulous gourmet food, delightful accommodations , and scenery second to none. We have been blessed to be have been to many wonderful places in the world many times, but Moose Head hosted by Louise and Kit Davenport is always our top choice to return to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tennille2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked at Moose Head Ranch for our Teton adventure on the recommendation of a local. Set within the Grand Teton National Park, this lovely spot with breathtaking views features several quaint and comfortable guest cabins nestled in a sylvan creekside spread.

We enjoyed fishing on the ponds and in the Snake River (which does require a Wyoming fishing license, available at nearby Dornan's or Triangle X ranch), riding horses (12 gorgeous trails are available for guided rides twice a day), and exploring the parks using the GPS GaperGuide available at the ranch. Most unexpected was the plethora of wildlife: with a little patience and a dose of East Coast jet lag we managed to see baby moose, pronghorn, and bison with their mothers, bull elk clashing, and coyote hunting in the early morning hours.

Owner Louise, husband Kit, and their children; caretakers Betty and Bill; Eddie the head ranch hand; and all the young staff treat new and returning guests alike as visiting family. Guests are encouraged to meet and mingle through various activities planned, including a weekly cookout and singalong, softball, local artisan presentations, and particularly during meals.

Excellent meals are served three times daily in the Lodge by friendly and helpful staff, and feature a choice of gourmet dishes, as well as staples and hearty beef and game, in addition to a children's option. Afternoon snacks of cookies and lemonade are offered, and a BYO (available at Dornan's) cocktail hour precedes the evening fare. Should you have an activity planned off the ranch, a picnic will be prepared and packed for you on your request.

Moose Head Ranch was great for our kids (boys 14 and 7, girl 13). They were assigned horses for the duration of our stay, and they became attached. They felt comfortable and confident going down to the paddock, out to explore the creeks and ponds, and over to the lodge on their own. The small playground, lawn games, and lodge activities provided entertainment between meals and scheduled rides or events. They got a real sense of belonging from being called by name and treated as visiting friends.

The standout experiences of Moose Head Ranch, and those that will cause us to return there again and again, were the warmth and hospitality of the staff (particularly hands Ben and Cain) and the setting. Having explored the area thoroughly, there is no doubt that Moose Head provides the most peaceful and most beautiful ranch experience locally available. The homey and comfortable cabins are well appointed and feature gorgeous views, and most offer a sense of privacy. Louise and Kit and their staff have stocked your cabin with everything from bear repellant to binoculars, stocked the ponds with fish, and stocked the kitchens with great food. The horses were well mannered and the staff was too. All in all, a wonderful vacation. Worth a trip to the "wild west"!

Room Tip: if you love horses, choose Jackalope. It's right on the driveway between the pasture and the paddock. If a view is important, just ask. Many cabins have majestic views of the Tetons.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews