We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Lodge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Western Big Sky Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Deer Lodge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We never make reservations and just look for a motel when we get to where we want to spend the night. We happened upon the Western Big Sky in Deer Lodge, Montana, and it was one of the best stops in our month-long trip. The room was large, very clean, very comfortable, and had all the amenities you would expect from a much more expensive lodging. In addition to the room being great, it's closest in town to the interstate, right across the street from a large supermarket with a deli, and right next to Pizza Hut. Very, very, very highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    46
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
34
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great place and very clean with food close by. Maw and Paw style with good location. Manager acted like she didn't care if we stayed there or not. Will reconsider next time. Price was great and probably the best motel in town.

Room Tip: Maw and Paw style. Clean and nice with food close by but manager is a dud. She was somewhat rude and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTH59105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas Y, Manager at Western Big Sky Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2015
We are very sorry you had this experience with the front desk. The manager you speak of is no longer with Western Big Sky Inn and the current managers have 3.5 years of running the fron desk with this site; a job we enjoy very much. We are hoping very much that you will not only come back and give us another shot, but also come in to see our improvements. We've also added a new suite that sleeps up to eight people, has flat screens and a DVD player; bring your family and enjoy the area sites. Feel free to call the front desk and remind us so we can give you a discount that suits your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Though this motel may look unpretentious and small from the outside, but the staff, rooms and personal charm and service turn it into a swan. I immediately loved the strong yet beautiful wood benches out front. Once inside the lobby, Larry or Lisa greet you warmly and are ready for your every need. No smoking rooms? No problem! They have arranged a corner enclosed room on the second floor with chairs, heater, ashtrays and a beautiful window view. Hungry? There is a great Town Pump with delicious sandwiches across the street (w/convenient ATM), a Pizza Hut next door & Safeway for your fridge and microwave! The beds are comfy, room spotless and great shower. Great Gateway computer/internet in lobby to book your flight or next motel. 5 STARS and don't forget to say hey to Dianne, the awesome housekeeper - like being a mom's without the guilt! Susan Cortez susan@susanmariacortez.com from Atlanta, Georgia.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The staff were friendly, courteous, and gracious. The rooms were clean and the internet worked very well. Our king size bed was very comfortable. For a small town hotel, it was very good! We would sty there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
186 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We decided to spend the night at Deer Lodge on our way to Livingston and were happy to discover the Western Big Sky Inn. Very nice older ma-pop budget hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. The ground-level double queen was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Good free wireless internet. Bathroom was fine. Carpet appeared to be new. Breakfast was small scale, but more than adequate. Fresh yogurt and hard-boiled eggs were a welcome source of protein lacking in many "continental breakfasts." I would definitely stay there again if I needed to stay in Deer Lodge in the future! I've attached photos of our room and the breakfast area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlrmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The staff were friendly and welcoming. Booked online with NO problems at check-in. The room was clean and quiet. Even though traveling alone, felt safe and secure. Loved that the rooms are non-smoking but they make it easy to smoke in the outside areas. One of the best deals in the area!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
232 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I'd recommend skipping Deer Lodge altogether, if you have the choice. If this hotel is number one of the three in town, that says a lot about how terrible the other two must be.

The owner/mgr is very friendly and helpful.

The room was clean, sort of. I wouldn't want to be barefoot on the carpet.

Everything about the place was minimal. Including the comfort of the bed.

There is no a/c, but with the window open, lots of noise of other guests in the parking lot and lots of smoke, as well.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on the main street. Lots of trucks. Lots of noise. Probably one room is as good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AboveEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Lodge
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Deer Lodge Montana
21.6 mi away
Hickory House Inn
Hickory House Inn
#4 of 5 in Anaconda
58 reviews
24.2 mi away
Boulder Creek Lodge Montana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Big Sky Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Big Sky Inn

Property: Western Big Sky Inn
Address: 210 North Main St., Deer Lodge, MT 59722-1063
Region: United States > Montana > Deer Lodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western Big Sky Inn is perfect for your Montana getaway. We pride ourselves in our clean, comfortable and affordable rooms as well as our friendly customer service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing