We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain Splash”
Review of Elk Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elk Springs Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mountain Splash”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from Mountain Splash cabin a part of Elk Springs Resorts.

Pros: The cabin was beautiful, clean, and cozy. We loved the pool downstairs with the waterfall. It's quiet and peaceful and about 10-15 minutes from downtown G-burg. There is a cute little heart-shaped jacuzzi tub as well. We had a magnificent time!! Also, I was not able to find the wifi password, and when I emailed the resort, they responded within minutes with the password.

Cons: The drive is scary! Lol. I'm not from the mountains and have never driven in them but the driveway to the cabin feels like it's going straight up and down! The cabin is right next to someone'special house, and I must say they are some very nosy neighbors. Everyday we saw them by our car. The pool area is much darker than the picture shows. There are lights, but they don't really light up the pool at all. It wasn't terrible, just a bit darker than expected. The pool table is great except that on 2 ends, there isn't enough room to shoot comfortably. You have to hold the pool stick at a severe upward angle and it just wasn't working for us. None of these are deal breakers by far, but are just little things we noticed.

All in all, the cabin was wonderful! We will be returning in the future. Next time we will rent a jeep!!! Lol

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    119
    34
    41
    44
See reviews for
693
483
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

"Serenity Cabin" was absolutely stunning! Our group of 13 stayed for two days and our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer. By far in the top 5 of vacation destinations I have visited! I'm in love with how peaceful it is and the helpfulness of the staff. We will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed at the Sweet Hummingbird cabin. From the moment we drove up, we knew we were in for a great stay. The cabin appears newly built and sits up on a hill with wonderful privacy and views. We opened the door and the kids shrieked with joy and my wife and I couldn't have been happier. The cabin as spotless, well appointed and great layout. We enjoyed the movie room as a family the first night and slept so comfortably. It is in a central location to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge so you can easily get everything and then return to the peace and tranquility of he beautiful cabin. The staff at Elk Ridge are wonderful. They understand customer service, are prompt, curteous, and professionally. Check in and check out were super easy with wonderfully detailed and easy to follow instructions. You will not be disappointed and we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stay at Elk Springs Resort every year and have done so for the past 5 years or so. This last trip was a disappointed and I am concerned about the upkeep at the cabins. We stayed in BuckWild this time which was stated to have a theater room. The cabin had a projector and large screen down in the game room, but the area was small with a tiny uncomfortable couch and no black out shades. Watching movies was nearly impossible during the day because of this. I would not consider this a theater room at all. We also had a dirty hot tub which we did not notice until we were in it and found lint all around the filter that had been building up for some time. The hair and other debris were quite unsightly and then I could tell the water was not clear as it should be. This was disappointing as we have never had a dirty hot tub before. One of the last issues which greatly concerned me was that the couch in the game room/theater room had several nails sticking down from under the very bottom of the couch. My one year old daughter must have caught her foot under there and got quite a nasty cut on the top of her foot. When we lightly felt underneath we found that nails were sticking out all along the couch and anyone could have caught there feet under that. I called and complained and unfortunately the person who answered seemed to be rather unconcerned about this. It was a cheaply made couch with a dangerous bottom. Needless to say, we really couldn't use the game room/theater room much for these reasons. Still, the location is close to town and we have liked the cabins in the past. I am hoping the customer service improves, the cleanliness improves, they fix cheap furniture and other issues, and they advertise appropriately for what you are getting.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolannemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elkspringsresort, Manager at Elk Springs Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate it! So sorry for your issues during your stay and that we did not find the small staples under the couch in the lower level. We have remedied the issue so it does not happen again. The couch is a commercial grade sleeper sofa so it is very durable. We do have light control curtains in the lower level that can be closed to cut off the light in the theater room for very good viewing (as it is a high powered projector that can be run during daylight too).

We do take the sanitization of hot tubs seriously. With kids in and out of the tub the water and filters can become a little cloudy and the filters can show lint and other materials in a short amount of time. We do shock and treat the tubs and we have bromine floaters to automatically maintain the sanitization over your stay. So while kids in and out can affect how the water and filter looks, it is still safe. We're happy to drain and retreat tubs anytime during your stay should this be an issue.

Again, thank you for your feedback! We have already ordered blinds to further darken the room should anyone be unsatisfied or unable to use the curtains alone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at "grin and bear it " cabin during Spring break and we had an amazing time.
This was our second time visiting Gatlinburg and we were nervous about renting a cabin due to our horrible experiences from last visit( NOT elk spring resort ).

Staff at Elk Spring Resort were very helpful. I liked how they phoned us on a next day just to see if everything was ok. It showed me that they cared and felt really good inside.
The cabin we stayed was great!
Unlike the cabin we stayed last time( again, NOT elk spring resort) it was VERY clean and well kept maintained. ( we had to clean up rat poisons at the cabin we stayed last time....)
We enjoyed the hot tub outside, we enjoyed our nice walk in the morning and evening resort area. The cabin was not far from downtown Gatlinburg at all, actually it was a lot closer than I thought.
We are already talking about coming back to Gatlinburg this fall and we definitely will stay at elk spring resort.
Thank you so much.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kmld619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Wow! This was such a relaxing and romantic getaway! This cabin was amazing! It was very cozy and peaceful. Everything is high quality; the sheets, towels, rugs, furniture, etc. Whether we were sitting on the couch watching TV or relaxing in the hot tub, we had a wonderful view of the mountain. We also got great customer service. Elk Springs is very accommodating and check in was a breeze. You definitely get your moneys worth. Only thing is the cabin is a bit far away from the resort itself (8 miles further than other cabins, 20 minutes from town). Definitely will stay with Elk Springs again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My family and I stayed here for a weekend during spring break. The Southern Philosophy Cabin in beautiful. It is the perfect home away from home. It was just as nice as the pictures. We called to get more towels and for someone to come and figure out why the volume in the theater was off. It took a while for someone to come but they did call to let us know that they had not forgotten about us and that they were busy but would be there soon. When William, the maintenance man, came he was very nice and helpful. The location is out in a peaceful place but you are only about 10 minutes from the downtown area. We had a great time and will be back next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lameme01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
4.8 mi away
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
1.0 mi away
Honeymoon Hills Cabin Rentals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Springs Resort

Property: Elk Springs Resort
Address: 1088 Powdermill Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury cabin resort in Gatlinburg featuring 1-7 bedroom cabin rentals with hot tubs, pool tables and home theater rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elk Springs Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing