We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Above the Mist" cabin very worn and dirty”
Review of Elk Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elk Springs Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was very disappointed when my family arrived at our cabin "Above the Mist" on 7/23/14. At first glance everything looked good, the views were nice and kitchen was well stocked. As we took our luggage downstairs, we noticed how dirty the carpet was. The fan was quite dusty and the towels provided were not even hotel quality. When we pulled out the sofa bed for my kids, the mattress was horrible. If we would have been staying for more than a few days, I would have requested a better cabin. I guess I expected more based on all the positive reviews. We will not be returning to Elk Springs and I would not recommend this cabin to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Tonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elkspringsresort, Manager at Elk Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi Tonya,

Thank you for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed the views and how well the cabin was stocked. We were aware that the carpet was a little worn and dirty and therefore we were offering a fantastic rate at a 50% discount that you took advantage of to use this cabin. The carpet has been cleaned and the dust on the fan has also been addressed. We do quickly accumulate dust in a few of these cabins and we are speeding up our high ceiling fan cleaning to mitigate this from happening again for this cabin - again, we do apologize. Our quality control inspector missed the damaged sleeper sofa that was damaged during the prior stay. This is 100% our fault and we do apologize. The springs have been repaired to flatten out the mattress. When we called during our follow up call you mentioned everything was great. If you do encounter some items that you discover later in your stay, such as these, we would be pleased to have maintenance and housekeeping address them typically within 30 minutes. Thank you again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

These cabins are a must stay. Everything about the cabin was great and the family really enjoyed our stay. Cabin was super clean and the customer service was perfect and they were very friendly. The location of the cabin was perfect, it was situated near some small restaurants, grocery stores, gas stations, and more importantly downtown gatlinburg. Downtown gatlinburg had the aquarium, great food and lots of other fun things to do with the family. For our next visit to the great smokey mountains we will for sure stay in the same cabins by elk spring resorts.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank formulayyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at the Mountain Memories cabin from July 17-22, 2014. The pictures on their website are 100% accurate and the cabin itself was even better in person. It has an awesome view of the mountains and the view from both decks and the hot tub was amazing. It has a new Weber grill with hardwired natural gas, so that was great being able to grill our own meals. The kitchen was stocked with everything you need and the overall cabin was spotless. Our daughter really loved the video game machine and the pool table. It is about 15 minutes from Gatlinburg, but the drive is nice and the seclusion of the cabin is awesome. There are a couple of other cabins nearby, but we never heard a soul while we were there for 5 days. I would highly recommend Elk Springs, they deliver what they promise & check in was a breeze with the door code. If we ever return to Gatlinburg, we will stay here again for sure!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in the "Falling in Love" cabin for 2 nights and had the best time. Nice furnishings, fully stocked kitchen with all items needed to cook romantic gourmet meals for 2. Jacuzzi in the cabin and private hot tub on the porch. Staff at the office was pleasant to deal with and the prices were great. What more could you ask for??

Room Tip: This is the only unit that I've rented from this resort and I haven't seen any of the others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The cozy bear lodge cabin at Cobbly Nob Village is disappointing. We knew it isn't on the main resort and chose this cabin for seclusion and mountain view. The view is not so good as the veranda is small, facing at our parking lot and the bins. Also there are a lot of cables running across the road interrupting the views and the dirty windows didn't help either. The 3 pools advertised are not approachable on foot, you would have to drive to it on a steep road. The nearest food place is Cobbly Nob Cafe, about 2miles ( not walkable), they advertise to deliver. The menu looks ok, but when you walk into this store, you wouldn't want to stay and eat there. I would not stay in this cabin again. You really need to drive to Gatlinberg for groceries and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank panni6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elkspringsresort, Manager at Elk Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi Panni and thank you for the feedback. We do apologize for your experience at the cabin and we would recommend that you stay closer to town on your next visit as we do have cabins that are closer. Many people like the Cobbly Nob area due to it being a little more remote but only 15-20 minutes to downtown. The cabins also have some of the best views in the area and can easily be accessed off I-40 via highway 321. The accessibility without having to use exit 407 is a big big plus as well as the views and location for many of our guests. If you want to be 5 minutes from the shopping and restaurants definitely something closer to downtown would be better.

We are sorry about the high windows being dirty but are glad the overall cabin was clean, well stocked and the linens were higher end. We have the windows on a rotation and we are speeding up that rotation schedule so it doesn't happen again.

Thank you again for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My family grealty enjoyed the space and luxury of this 3 bedroom/suite cabin with pool table and sate of the art TV's. We all had private suites and the cabin was beautifully decorated (bear theme) with a great view from the full windows in the living room and A frame upper windows. We enjoyed the Weber gas grill and evenings in the hot tub on the deck and the pool nearby on a hot afternoon. Perfectly met all our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark48328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I spent hours combing through various options for a last-minute trip to Tennessee. I did not want to spend a lot of money and end up in a dirty, or sub-par cabin. Enter Elk Springs....they replied quickly to an inquiry I had sent and provided excellent customer service - friendly, knowledgeable about each property available, and willing to work in a discount. The cabin we stayed in - Moonshiner's Legacy was impeccably clean, well-decorated and up-to-date. It was very comfortable, with a full kitchen, washer/dryer, and two bedrooms with beautiful, comfy beds. The location was great - about a mile up the mountain, on a cul-de-sac with a couple of other cabins. I enjoyed a morning jog each day, with coffee on the balcony, enjoying a beautiful mountain view. Customer service was easily available anytime I had a question, from area entertainment to how to reset the lock. We enjoyed our experience so much we stayed an extra day, and would love to make the trip back next summer. This cabin slept our family of 4 very comfortably. It could accommodate two small families of 4 each if you had an air mattress for the kids. Thank you for a great, comfortable stay!

Room Tip: Call Elk Springs directly - they were very informative on the particulars of each available cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dee5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
5.0 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
4.7 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
370 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
1.0 mi away
Honeymoon Hills Gatlinburg Cabin Rentals
5.7 mi away
White Oak Lodge & Resort
White Oak Lodge & Resort
#10 of 53 in Gatlinburg
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Springs Resort

Address: 1088 Powdermill Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £155 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury cabin resort in Gatlinburg featuring 1-7 bedroom cabin rentals with hot tubs, pool tables and home theater rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elk Springs Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing