We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grandchildren Loved It!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenstone Lodge
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grandchildren Loved It!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

The Glenstone Lodge is in a great location, just off the main parkway but well withing walking distance and a nearby trolley stop for those who don't want to walk. Check-in was a breeze. We had a poolside room on first floor which was great. The pool was clean and very beautiful at night with the waterfall. It is heated so the area feels like a sauna initially until you get used to it.

The room was clean and comfortable. We had a queen double and it was great for my husband and our granddaughters (ages 2 and 6).

The Patio breakfast buffet was great for the price ($8.95 for adults and $4.95 children). Food was fresh and well presented. The waffles and eggs are made to order.

We had a groupon special ($45 a night). I think if I had to pay full price I might have less sastisfied but for that rate it was a great stay.

Kids will love the indoor pool!

Room Tip: We loved the first floor pool side! Very accessible. Didn't have to use the elevator. The pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shakinaglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    255
    240
    138
    128
See reviews for
366
258
11
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I spent 5 nights at the Glenstone with my five year old. The indoor pool was both nice and unique. My little boy loved it. I also found the staff to be nice, friendly and attentive. The hotel seemed very clean and the air condition kept my room cool.

On the negative side: only meal offered at the hotel was breakfast; and although pretty good, most hotels in the area have complimentary breakfast and Glenstone does charge for the breakfast buffet. Secondly, the parkway is a pretty long walk. The trip down the hill wasn't that bad, but walking back up the hill returning to hotel can be a real killer when it is 90 plus degrees.

Would I stay again? Yes- based on the friendly staff and great indoor pool.








  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tacokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

I have stayed in quite a few hotels in the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area. We came to the area for a quick trip and thought we'd give this hotel a try because of the good deal we got on Hotwire. I have NEVER placed a negative review online, and quite frankly find most of the negative posts to be petty and baseless. But after our stay at the Glenstone Lodge...I felt it necessary to inform future travelers of a few things regarding this hotel. The Lobby staff were friendly enough and check-in went fairly smoothly. The lobby and pool area was somewhat outdated, as other reviewers had stated, but nothing offputting. We were a bit disappointed to see that the indoor pool was closed....we were informed that an "incident" required maintenance on the pool. The pool did eventually open the following day, but the water was incredibly murky. The room was also quite dated, but appeared clean. The hot side of the sink faucet was not working, and the tub faucet handle kept falling off. My biggest problem was when the housekeeping staff peeped through the window with closed curtains to see if the room was still occupied before cleaning. This happened each of the 2 mornings we were in the room. I was standing in the room changing clothes when one of the housekeepers peeped through the crack in the curtain. UNACCEPTABLE! Additionally, on our last morning before check-out , my 2 daughters discovered itchy welts on their arms and legs. My only conclusion was the possibility of bedbugs. I did complain to the front desk on each of these issues. They did make note of it....and hopefully the practice of housekeeper peeping will come to an end.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The pools at the hotel were the highlight for my kids. A great indoor pool with a 9' section on top that has a waterfall that drops to a 3' pool below. Also has a good size outdoor pool that we had all to ourselves on a few occasions. It's just really nice to have the option of a nice indoor pool if it's raining or just too hot outside. We had a room on the first floor by the pool which was very convenient to have throughout the day(with having a toddler taking naps), although at night it was very loud in our room until the pool closed. The rooms are definitely dated and I would have to say that the ONLY negative about this hotel is that they didn't seem to put much effort into cleaning it while we were there. The breakfast at the hotel is a MUST! Out of all the dining out that we did, our best meals were the 2 breakfast that we had at the hotel restaurant. The hotel is only about 3 blocks up the hill from all of the Gatlinburg attractions and is very close to some great hiking. Another FYI...The Ripley's Aquarium is a MUST...has to be one of the top aquariums in the nation. The Ole' Smokey Moonshine Distillery is an enjoyable stop also!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, TN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Like so many hotels in Gatlinburg the Glenstone Lodge could use some updating - in fact, during our stay they were in the process of replacing their old TVs with flat screens. My main priority is cleanliness and our room was very clean. It is located a short walk from the main part of Gatlinburg and the trolley stops in front of the hotel. We didn't use the trolley since we didn't think it was a bad walk. I would stay there again, however I would request a balcony room as opposed to the poolside room we stayed in which would be great for families traveling with small children; however, it can be pretty noisy. Unlike other reviews we had a refrigerator in our room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roxiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

My husband and I attended a conference and our lodging was at the Glenstone in Gatlinburg. This hotel is one of the older properties in Gatlinburg and is a no thrills hotel. Like one of the other reviews stated, it's a good place to stay if you aren't going to stay in the room very much. The bathroom was very tiny. We were lucky enough to have a king bed (was reasonably comfortable), however, others in our group had rooms with two double beds. The location is great. It's a 3/10th mile walk downhill from the hotel to the main strip in Gatlinburg. Bubba Gumps Shrimp, Dicks, Mellow Mushroom and The Melting Pot are at the foot of the hill which was handy at meal time. There's a trolley stop within a stone's throw of the hotel's front door which cost 50 cents to ride. We probably won't stay here a second time, but our stay wasn't exactly horrible either.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordo, Alabama
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed a few nights, It's 3 blocks up a hill from parkway not a bad walk. Bubba Gump is where you turn at, it's a clean and quite place to stay it is older there are no microwave or frig in room. It's a good place to stay if you are not going to be in the room alot.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineLambertGay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenstone Lodge

Property: Glenstone Lodge
Address: 504 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3339
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenstone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenstone Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing