We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, great pools, basic rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenstone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenstone Lodge
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Madisonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value, great pools, basic rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

I just got back from two days at Glenstone. The staff was friendly and the price was good. If a nice pool is a priority for you then this is a great place for you. They have both and indoor and outdoor pool. The outdoor pool looked real nice but we only used the indoor one. Great pool nice atmosphere. The common areas were real nice too and the breakfast buffet is affordable by Gatlinburg standards and very delicious. The rooms are very basic but clean. If there is any downside to our stay was the lack of an in-room microwave. They have a microwave next to the ice machine which is less than ideal but not a big problem for me. Overall we had a great time. One last thing if you can't handle an up hill climb from the main strip and don't like to use the trolly then this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kane91123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenstoneGM, General Manager at Glenstone Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for your comments about Glenstone Lodge. We are so happy that you enjoyed our indoor two level swimming pool. Families really love it. We are also happy to hear that you found our breakfast buffet to be a great value. Our housekeepers work hard to keep our rooms very clean and comfortable. Microwaves are available at various locations around the hotel, so they are never far away. We always recommend that guests make use of the trolley when returning to the hotel from downtown for only 50 cents per ride. Thank you and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    255
    240
    139
    128
See reviews for
367
258
11
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

This hotel was a nice surprise. Given the low price we paid and the number of published rating “stars’, this property is a real find. It is an older property (as many are in Gatlinburg), but it has been very well maintained. The room we had was quite large with a fireplace, king bed, newer LCD TV and space left over. It also had a nice small balcony. The bed was comfortable and towels were medium weight. The wi-fi is free but can be slow or hard to connect during peak times.

The carpeting seemed quite new throughout the property and it had been repainted recently throughout (and it was a quality painting job). The lobby is spacious and very clean. The staff is pleasant and accommodating. Room cleaning was very well done.

The hotel is located about three blocks away from the Parkway area (the main thoroughfare where all the action is located). There is a trolley stop near the hotel entrance. The trolley comes by about every 20 minutes or so and provides inexpensive transport throughout Gatlinburg ($.50 per person, per ride)

Room Tip: Upper floors in main building are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

The pool was open all night, although signs were posted otherwise. We did not get any sleep,because of all the noise. Hotel was dirty and moldy. Would not return or recommend. Price was cheap, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judybt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

We arrived late. Requested a pool side room. Which seemed great. We unloaded the car got everyone and thing situated and then we saw it. The roach. Which I was told happens a bit in the pool side rooms even they they spray l, but they still come out especially after rainfall. We were moved to a room with a bad view no balcony. Room was decent. Though the air conditioner blew cold air on to you if you were in the far bed. Pools were great. The only thing it was missing was a continental breakfast. Thou you could of bought it for 8.95. Location was great. May stay again and try a balcony room.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We just got back from here last night. Stayed here before and it was still the same. Clean, dated, cool pool that the kids like. Don't expect the Hilton but do expect to get what you pay for. We haven't been disappointed here before. Staff was friendly. Pool seemed clean. Just really outdated, like most hotels in Gatlinburg.

Room Tip: This is off the main strip a little bit so it's quieter. Also ask for an inside room close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNnurse81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

The staff at the service desk are horrible. They made a mistake with my bill. I came to them nicely they acteed as if they dont care. I saw a mistake roach crawling up the wall. Lady with the short brown hair at the desk has a major attitude problem. Just a bad time for me. The only plus is the location and the indoor pool.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank executive15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deer lodge tn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

I wanted an indoor room called 3 weeks in advance and was told since we were using a military discount (my husband is a veteran) we could not get one of those rooms and they stuck us on the 3rd floor with an exterior roomd very far away from everything the hotel had to offer.But when we were checking out some people in front of us also had used a discount and only paid 49.00 a night and got the rooms i inquired about as i have now learned SEVERAL people only paid 49.00 a night and i was charged 90.00 a night and i had 2 rooms both at a rate of 90.00 a night!!! By us using Military we were stuck in bad rooms in a bad location and paid DOUBLE! Something seems off to me about that..Then we were told you dont offer wifi except in the lobby and we only had 15 TV channels which i might add were very fuzzy and you could not see them.Teh air vent thing in our bathroom was NASTY NASTY!! When you have 2 rooms and 4 kids all that stuff is very annoying.When we called front desk to ask a question about the Trolly they were very rude.The pool was groos it had like an oil sheen on the top of the water and the hot tub was so hot noone would use it..Total we had 4 kids and 4 adults two rooms and we decided we will not be coming back to your hotel.We also know you give rail roaders a discount which both of the men with us work for the RR we have mentioned the experience and a few have cancelled reservations or changed their minds about using your hotel.Almost forgot to mention the VERY loud family reunion that was going on outside of our rooms with loud rock music being blasted to the point no one could enjoy the outdoor pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinewife3521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenstone Lodge

Property: Glenstone Lodge
Address: 504 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3339
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenstone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenstone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenstone Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing