We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway”
Review of Old Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Creek Lodge
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice getaway”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

I had the opportunity to finally travel without the kids, but after riding up the mountain via Ober Gatlinburg, I discovered that the mountain is family territory... The hotel however was a perfect adult location.

The check in was fast, especially for labor day weekend. My third floor suite came with a Jacuzzi, romantic fireplace, and a balcony with seating overlooking the river. It was less than a block to the lift shuttle up the mountain. Ignore the mountain unless you have kids. Throw your champaign on ice and stroll just three blocks away to the black bear brewery and pizzeria. By the time you finish the pretzels and a beer sampler, your room will be a welcome invitation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    225
    71
    21
    17
See reviews for
219
324
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Ohio
Level Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here for the first time and my family we are impressed. The location makes for a quiet stay with rooms overlooking the river. The entire property has had a makeover to a lodge like decor. The rooms are huge with tall ceiling and walk in showers. The breakfast area is small and selections are limited to coffee, juice, cereals, breads, waffles, and fruit. There were no eggs or meat. The gravy for the biscuits was milky white and runny with no sausage. In the evening they served cookies and lemonade in the lobby, which was a nice treat after dinner. The pool is small and oddly placed by the road, we did not use it. We enjoyed sitting in some unique rocking chairs by the river in the morning. I'd stay here again due to the location, size, decor, and value!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanAndTiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

For years the only hotel I would stay in when in Gatlinburg was The Midtown, however it was shut down and we were recommended this one. With trepidation we went and fell in love! It was super clean and updated. Had all the conveniences we needed and the staff was super friendly. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley-A63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

The Old Creek Lodge is within 1 1/2 blocks of the strip, very easy to walk. Keep in mind though that it is at the opposite end of River Rd than Ripley's Aquarium, but still a nice walk.
The rooms are clean and spacious, the shower is nice as well, good size. The balcony overlooks the river and is so wonderful and quiet!
The fridge and microwave are nice additions to each room.
The beds are very uncomfortable, at least to what I'm used to. They are very noisy when you move, roll around, get out of bed, etc.
The elevator takes an EXTREMELY long time to get to your floor, so majority of the time we took the stairs.
They have lots of covered parking, which keeps the car much cooler!
The breakfast isn't oustanding, but what you would expect for a free continental breakfast: waffles, biscuits/gravy, fruit, toast, bagels, cereal, donuts, OJ, apple juice, coffee and water. Oh and free cookies and lemonade from 4-8 pm in the lobby! ;)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aschoen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our extended family vacation in Gatlinburg was even better with our stay at the Old Creek Lodge. They happily accommodated our multi-room location requests and the rooms were great. Our balcony overlooking the river was a favorite place of mine. And the hotel's location was perfect for our sight-seeing trips around the main drag of Gatlinburg. We were walking everywhere due to the limited parking in downtown and it was very easy. The only caveat was the breakfast provided. The food seemed adequate but there were only 2 tables with 2 chairs each and a short bar against a wall - enough room for maybe 8 people total and there were 7 in our party so we were unable to take advantage of the breakfast offered.

Room Tip: Every room has a river view but the best river views are on the long side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GinnyLinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Came in from Alabama for labor Day weekend. Was very nice and clean. Everything was the modern country look. Right behind Ober so was easy to walk everywhere. We are very picky and we were not disappointed. Private balcony over looking the mountain stream. Breakfest area was rather small but very clean and cozy. Food was great, I recommend the gravy biscuts. We will be coming back to this place for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to lobby has better views. 204 for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge, GA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The frig in the room we rented was not cooling properly. We called the front desk and they sent someone right away to check the frig - they agreed that it was not cold enough. They gave us another room which was an upgrade - it had a Jacuzzi! We had a view of the river (which most of the rooms have) and was able to see a heron fishing for his breakfast! The walk-in tiled shower (again in most of the rooms) was wonderful. They also provide a continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Call ahead because they are booked well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blogger21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.2 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
0.4 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#17 of 78 in Gatlinburg
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Creek Lodge

Property: Old Creek Lodge
Address: 680 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3129 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg Downtown)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Creek Lodge promises the best that nature has to offer in Gatlinburg with its unique mountain charm located at the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. At Old Creek Lodge you’ll find state-of-the-art amenities among its traditional mountain craft decor and massive log beams. Downtown Gatlinburg shops, restaurants, and attractions are just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg
Fairfield Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing