We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My birthday stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Ranked #60 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
1 review
“My birthday stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Ok so it wont let me go back two years. Anyways, my husband(back than boyfriend) & i stayed here for the second time and loved it even more. The people at the front desk are so sweet. The room we stayed in was wonderful and dont get me started on the pool and spa. Aw man it was great. I cant wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MillerFam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    219
    166
    97
    191
See reviews for
326
258
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilas, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We loved this motel. It was enough off the main strip in Gatlinburg that we didn't hear all the traffic. Not a fancy motel but we didn't want fancy. Our original booking was for across the street in Courtside but with the help of Joe at the front desk we got to change our reservation to a room in the main building. Loved the indoor pool as it rained during our stay. We will definitely stay at this motel again. The staff was very polite & courteous. For the money, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: overlooking creek does not have road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We arrived to a creekside room that had a terrible smell of mold/mildew. We left the window open as we walked downtown to eat and returned to the room with the same smell that about knocked us over. After 30 mins in the room we decided to get a different room there. The manager was nice to give us another room. He told us that if you have an issue with mold that the creekside rooms arent for you. Let me just say that MOLD is unhealthy to breathe and no one should be exposed to it!!!!!! The room that we got moved to still had a terrible odor. Which wasnt buy the creek. This place was dirty and dated. We ended up at Wilderness of the smokies bc we couldnt stand another night at sidney james. We couldnt be happier with the decision to go there. The wildnerness is
more expensive but worth every dime! Very kid friendly MOLD FREE AND CLEAN!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank affire07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you priceline this hotel, then you are stuck across the street from the real hotel in a 1950s motel with 1970s decor. The balcony overlooks a 3 way intersection. The front view of your Bates like motel over looks the parking lot and a pool that dogs have swam in recently.
The sheets were clean. The pillows were flat as a pancake. We went and bought new ones. The comforter and blanket appeared old and dirty.
The room had wood ants.
The bathtub had a slow drain. When we reported this, we were told someone would come fix this. They never appeared.nlly
The maid service was non-existent. More morning then not my husband chased down the maid for towels and toilet paper and we made our own beds.
The indoor pool was nice. The kids enjoyed swimming there. Only complaint there was a couple making out in the pool.
It was about a mile walk downhill to the main strip in Gatlinburg and a mile back uphill.
The main hotel might be nicer but the across the street one is nasty. Avoid here.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the courtside of the hotel which is ACROSS the street from the main hotel. NOT STREAM...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meg43833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piqua, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel. The staff was friendly over the phone and in person as well. Our room ( and the hotel) was quiet and looked exactly like the pictures we saw on the website, and the housekeeping did a nice job. We really enjoyed our hot tub and balcony, and even saw a beaver outside! The indoor/outdoor pools were very nice and not crowded like we expected, plus the food at the cafe was good when we were too tired to venture out. The view of the mountains was wonderful and it was an easy walk to the strip, although coming back up the hill was quite the workout! Our hotel was also right by the Smokey Mountain National Park. We would definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: We had room 422
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

The pictures on the internet are deceiving. Room was dirty with long hairs in the tub BEFORE we even used it. Poor overall maintenance on what could be a decent place to stay. Missing tiles around pools, the indoor pool had cloudy water! The bottom sheet on the bed did not fit and kept coming off all night. This went on for 3 nights even though I tried to tell one of the cleaning ladies.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I have stayed here on two occasions. It has a couple of features that make it appealing. The first is the pools. This is one of the few places in Gatlinburg to offer indoor pools. There are two indoor pools, a regular pool and a kiddie pool. There is also a good sized hot tub. The regular pool has kind of a "lazy river" in it. There is also a poolside "restaurant" for lite eating at the pool. A waterfall also adorns the indoor pools. Aside from the indoor pools there are also two outdoor pools. The second feature is the creek that runs behind, there are several places that have this. The balcony rooms are only $10 extra and worth it as far as I am concerned. Hearing the running creek is relaxing while you sleep. Third is it's location. It is close enough to downtown to walk but close enough to the wilderness to occasionally have a bear wonder through. The walk while close is down hill to Gatlinburg, therefore uphill going back. If the walk proves too much the trolly stops right in front of the hotel is only cost .50 cents per person per trip.
As far as the condition of the hotel, it is clean. The rooms are small but serve their purpose. The bathrooms are clean, no mold anywhere. The lobby is nice and the staff helpful. There is plenty of parking even when the hotel is full.
Now for the bad. The beds are small, only double beds. This is really the only thing that would make me think twice, but if you can live with smaller beds, then there is no problem. Bring your own soap, the bar soap they provide drys out your skin. The balcony rooms while nice don't have a screen door so you can't leave the door open overnight to listen to the creek. There is no free breakfast, this is not as big a deal here though since there are so many good breakfast places in Gatlinburg, off the top of my head I can think of about 5 pancake houses.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.1 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#41 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney James Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Property: Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Address: 610 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3343
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sidney James Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sidney James Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidney James Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Sidney James Mountain Gatlinburg
Sidney James Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing