We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Ranked #55 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
EVERYTHINGISTAKEN71
1 review
“We loved the place!!!”
Reviewed 19 May 2009

My family and I stayed at the Hotel for intially 5 nights. We got to the hotel on the Wednesday and it was empty, come Friday though the place was packed! Even with all the people the hotel was quiet enough to enjoy nights of relaxing TV. The walk to the main strip was maybe 15mins tops and you were right at the Ripley's museum. Perfect location, nice clean rooms.
If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place to stay. If you are looking for a nice clean room and a GREAT pool and hot tub... stay here. We were in a creekside room and the view was so nice a relaxing....
We will stay at the same location again, infact we ended up booking another night it was so nice..... The only downfall was there is no internet in the rooms...

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EVERYTHINGISTAKEN71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    231
    172
    101
    195
See reviews for
340
273
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobilemama19
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We stayed on the courtside.The only good thing about this place was the location and the indoor pool!The rooms smelled like smoke and The first room we were in had a leaky toilette which flooded onto the carpet by the bed.Luckly they did give us a new room with a more comforterable bed but this room also smelled like smoke and the carpet was icky.I will not stay in this lodge again.I also had some relitives staying on the creekside and they were also dissapointed and said that their room smelled bad as well!The hot water was also a dangerous temp both my sons burned their hands in the tub and shower .My husband and myself also had to be careful when using the hot water because it was too hot.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mobilemama19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las vegas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

• I had booked a honeymoon suite at the Sydney James Mountain lodge through XXXXXX. We were to have stayed there from 10/9 thru 10/12. I paid the cost of the room at the time of the reservation on 9/26. The lodge advertised a honeymoon suite with king size bed, Jacuzzi, fireplace and a balcony overlooking a creek. When we arrived, on 10/9, the person at the desk said that the only room he had left with a king size bed was a two bedroom suite. We checked in and went to the room. It was nothing like what we thought we had reserved. It was a filthy two bedroom apartment. The carpet was dirty and stained. The furniture was dirty, stained and had holes in it. The linoleum in the kitchen was damaged. The bedroom that we looked in had a king size bed that was probably there when they built the lodge. There was no closet for clothes, only a pole hung on the bedroom wall. There was a fireplace which had a gas line protruding from and then running down the wall to the fireplace. It had a loose hose clamp just hanging from the pipe. There was no balcony and no creek. The overall appearance was run down, dirty, smelly and appeared that someone had been living there. There was some sort of machine running that caused the floor to vibrate loudly. We immediately went down and told the person at the desk the problems that we had with the room and that we would not stay in a room in that condition. He said he would not speak to us and that we would have to take it up with XXXXXXX. I then went outside a called XXXXXXX on my cell phone. I explained the situation to them and they put me on hold. When they returned to the phone, they said they had spoken to the hotel and that the manager was gone for the day. I asked them what they were going to do and they said they would contact the manager the following day and get back to me. I did not hear from them the next day so I called them on 10/11. They informed me that they were sorry but the manager insisted that I pay for one night. I told them that I was not willing to pay for a room that was not as described or even habitable. Again they said they were sorry but that it was the hotel manager’s decision. I asked them why it was his decision when I had paid them. All I got was more apologies. After I returned from my trip, I received an E-mail from XXXXXX asking me to rate the lodge I had booked through them. XXXXXX apologizes for the situation but they claim they cannot issue me a credit for the balance because the hotel manager will not allow it. The hotel would not speak to me yet they supposedly made the decision. As far as alternate lodging we were forced to look for other lodging at the last minute and were only able to stay for two days instead of four for which we paid twice the amount we had paid to XXXXXXX. Because we could not find local lodging for longer than two nights we were forced to cut out stay short. I would not let my pet stay at this lodge. What a honeymoon we had.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegashusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2009

The Sidney James Mountain Lodge was a good value. I paid for 2 days , and got 1 day free. The clerk immediately upgraded me to a creek-side room upon arrival. The hotel was within walking distance of town, since parking in Gatlinburg is horrendous. The rooms, however, are desperately in need of upgrading. The paint is peeling off the walls. If the rooms were given a make-over, I would definitely return. But peeling paint is a turn-off.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fontaine57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pike county ky
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Anyone who thought that it was a nasty hotel and smelly and old needs to go stay somewhere else. My family has stayed for the past 3 years and plan on going to stay this year as well. The staff is very nice and our rooms have always been clean and the right room as well. If we needed something and the hotel did not have it they went out of their way to get it, they even went and got a tv cord to hook our wii up for us. My children have the option every year of going here or going to the beach and guess what they choose sidney james. Those who do not like this hotel don't complain and don't come back we will and there will always be rooms available for the ones who do enjoy it and the prices.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pikecountycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boaz, Alabama
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2009

The bed was hard. That is my only complaint. Other than that we had no issues at all. The room was clean. The staff were very friendly. The pool area was clean, and we really enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub. It is about 3 blocks up Historic nature trail right next to the Garden plaza hotel. We drove into town and parked at a public lot right next to the four seasons hotel. Had it been warmer we would have walked from the hotel. Our room was on the 1st floor overlooking the creek. The balcony is small, but it did not bother me at all. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pris1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, KY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

What great fun we had here! We booked this room after reading many of the reviews on Tripadvisor - the reviews are dead-on accurate. Here's what we hated: the age of the rooms/bathrooms/television. It just felt like something out of 1970 and looked like it. In some ways, we enjoyed the feel of 'ancient motor lodge'. Water pressure was particularly low. Small toilet. On the plus side, this place was so cheap. It also has two outdoor pools and one indoor pool. The indoor 'landscaped' pool is a big draw for families with kids, and there is a nearby kiddie pool and also a large hot tub (luke-warm-ish water though). They added plenty of chlorine to make sure we didn't catch anything. There is a small deli next to the pool which serves decent hamburgers, but it barely meets low-end diner standard. The hotel is really too far for older people to walk down to the strip, so a short drive might be required. We loved the location though, and the fact that we had a creekside room with balcony. The creek is very loud, and we left our balcony door slightly ajar to better hear the creek as we slept. That was nice. We couldn't get a wi-fi signal, if they had one. The rooms didn't seem noisy, even though we had lots of young people staying there. We would stay here again given the same room rate.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cybermirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
#66 of 78 in Gatlinburg
451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney James Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Property: Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Address: 610 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3343
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sidney James Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sidney James Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidney James Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Sidney James Mountain Gatlinburg
Sidney James Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing