We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good... not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Ranked #52 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 23 April 2005

This is an older hotel. Pretty clean all except the cob webs in the corners. Very cool indoor pool with a mountain waterfall!!! That was kool!!! even has a little cave like thing. All rooms had a mini fridge. that was nice!!! Room service was good!!! I would stay there again!!! They were a cheap place!!! $100 for 2 nights!!!

7  Thank bubbleblower123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

887 - 893 of 923 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Rocky Mount, Virginia
110
Reviewed 26 March 2005

We recently stayed at the sydney james and truly enjoyed our stay! We will definitely be returning. The hotel was clean and the staff was excellent. The pool was truly a relaxing atmosphere along with the hot tub!! The creek side balcony brought this hotel to a close for us with a very high 1st impression.

From Virginia

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
423
Reviewed 28 February 2005

We stayed there after getting a brochure 3 nights for $99.00...
room pretty small but clean..bathtub kinda of gringy though..
pool nice, but lighting bad and waterfall very noisy in pool area, windows could use cleaning, in winter dont count on trolley coming its not so you will be walking downtown..close to Outback but they just announe they are closing up..

if you can get an upgrade by creek its pretty good, but lots of nicer motels in area. but for 3 nights for $99.00 you cant beat it in winter..

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sidney James for three nights over Valentine's Day weekend 2005. The hotel is definitely outdated but was very clean. Aside from the ladybugs that somehow kept finding their way into our room..we were pleased. We had a jacuzzi suite. The tub was large and worked without any problems. The mirrored walls and naked Greek man statue (it looked like his head had been glued back on several times over the years)were a bit tacky but added fun to the room!! Our friends stayed in a standard room near the pool which was the size of a large closet but very clean. Overall, I would reccommend this hotel for the price and location its a good deal. It's a close walk to the best restaurants, night spots, sky lift, and the National Parks. Happy Trails!

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ImaTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Johnson City, TN
15
Reviewed 15 January 2005

I stayed for several days at this motel because I liked the location. However, I had to drag my luggage up the stairs and down a long hall to get to my room. When I asked for assistance, I was told I would have to take care of my own luggage. There was dirty laundry left laying in the hall and was still there the following evening. The carpet was dirty, and there was a leak somewhere. A room down the hall had been damaged by the water. There was a huge fan sitting in the hallway with the room door open to dry it out, for two days. Another couple staying there told me that they had an electrical cord hanging outside their window which was exposed to the elements. There were so many children in the pool day and night, it was impossible to enjoy it. The elevator was old and rickety. There is no complimentary continental breakfast, or coffee. There is a small grill in the basement open for breakfast, but the food is mediocre and too expensive for what you get. Whenever the desk staff/owner was told about any of these situations, he basically said there's nothing that he could do. He made no effort to correct issues, or to compensate anyone for their inconvenience. If you have a choice, do not stay there or recommend it to anyone else. It is too run down, and the owners obviously do not care as long as they get your money.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2005

It was nothing fancy and the bathroom was dingy. The only thing that we liked was the indoor pool. I probally would not stay there again!

4  Thank bigorange1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cincinnati, OH
17
Reviewed 11 October 2004

My husband and I stayed at the Sidney James because we were in town for a wedding in October. I had stayed at the motel with my family about 15 years prior and remembered it as being nice. Unfortunately, in the room we booked, nothing had been updated in those 15 years and perhaps longer. The ceiling in the bathroom had a leak that had caused mold to grow all along the door frame and the floor. When we advised the management of this they seemed unsurprised and took no action. The room was supposed to be non smoking but when we opened the door we were greeted with a stench of stale cigarettes and mildew. We would not stay here again for any reason, or at any discount. We only stayed one night, although we paid for two, and drove 5 hours after the wedding on Saturday just so we would not have to spend more time at this motel.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.2 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
70 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
1.0 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#70 of 78 in Gatlinburg
477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#31 of 78 in Gatlinburg
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney James Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Address: 610 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3343
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £49 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sidney James Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sidney James Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidney James Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Sidney James Mountain Gatlinburg
Sidney James Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing