We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place...privately owned and operated...very clean...great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Ranked #54 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The owner of this hotel is on the premises and manages the operation. The room was very clean with a balcony hanging directly over a mountain stream. The staff (which was plentiful) was very courteous and extremely helpful. The location is great and very near the park. There is a small restaurant on site that has great food. We took our grandson who especially liked the indoor "cave" pool. The rates were reasonable and we will definitely lodge there on our next trip to Gatlinburg............The Tuell Family

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuck2l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2009

We absolutely loved this plce. The room was fabulous and the staff was wonderful as well. Thanks again Joe and Trish for all the help. You guys are the best!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank defrockinbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

This was the best place I have ever stayed, me and the family had broken down in this sweet town and the people at sidney james was so nice to us and help us during our stay that they went out of there way to help. They was super..... From now on Im staying at sidney james...also if you are staying ask them about the owl nest...It a house right on the creek and it is so sweet......Thanks sidney james mike cunningham and family

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macon2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We stayed here at the last minute. After staying at a place in Pigeon Forge the night before that was way over priced we called the Sidney James at the last minute after riding the Obergatlinburg Sky Tram. 69.99 for the night. A deal. The rooms are nothing fancy but they were big enough for a family with 3 boys 12, 6, and infant. The indoor pool was very nice with the hot tub and baby pool all together. We were able to walk to the strip for dinner. The next morning I was able to take the little one on a nice walk in the park just above the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvstravelky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We stayed at the Sydney James 2 weeks ago, and had a wonderful stay.
The prices were reasonable even though we spent $10.00 more to have a balcony over the river. ;It was well worth it. We turned off the air, and opened the window so we could hear the soothing sound of the river all night, and we sat out on our private balcony and enjoyed watching it and having pleasant conversation before it got dark . They have both an indoor and an outdoor pool which we took advantage of, and a good hot, hot tub .
The decor was average, but the bed had a good firm mattress with a nice pillow top on top. I always bring my own pillow and this time I left it by mistake. The manager brought it into the office so my son could pick it up two days later.
It was a thoroughly enjoyable stay.
mrs. Kathleen sander

Thank kit-kat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We neede a getaway. My husband has been working daylight to dark as a Superintendant on a road construction crew. I'm a Flight Attendant and worked 20 days last month and saw at least 4800 passengers. Tired of being in the hustle bustle, we decided to go to Gatlinburg. Off we went without even a reseration for a cabin, or hotel. First night we stayed at the National Parks Resort, which is under renovation and is not clean. I spent the whole night there looking for another place to stay for the next night. I finally looked up Lodges and found Sidney James Mountain Lodge. We got a room creek side and as I walked in was astonished. It was so clean and had so much room. We sat out on the patio and listened to the creek and couldn't hear anything but the creek, or see anyone, which is exactly what we needed. As for being too far from the action of the main street in Gatlinburg, it was great. You have free parking, walk down town and then come back and have a nice clean restful place that brings you back to a time of friendly, polite people and I could care less if it has the most updated TV or furniture. If you go to Gatlinburg to watch TV, then why not stay home? I would recommend this place to anyone. I spend at least 15 nights a month in all the best hotels in America and not one of them have what you find in the Sidney James Mountain Lodge. Thank you Teresa at the Front Desk for all your help. We LOVED it. We will be back next year with our 3 Young Adults, their Spouses and 9 Grandchildren.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Just don't do it!!!!! Find a condo,cabin or somewhere else and pay the $20 more.
This place has not been updated since the 70's as all the hotels on the main drag area are the same. Go about 2-6 miles out and find a better place.
Carpets were ancient, stained and gross. Place smelled dingy and nasty. Beds were old and bumpy, same for linens and bedspread.
Doors were solid metal that had huge gaps in them. Damp, dank and gross.
Bathtubs were ancient and rusted. Just everything was old and gross. Trust me, if your standards are in any way for an average experience, you won't get it here. Expect the worst!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathlmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#68 of 78 in Gatlinburg
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#37 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,045 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Summit of Gatlinburg
The Summit of Gatlinburg
#47 of 78 in Gatlinburg
183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
#48 of 78 in Gatlinburg
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney James Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Address: 610 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3343
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £46 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sidney James Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sidney James Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidney James Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Sidney James Mountain Gatlinburg
Sidney James Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing