We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Ranked #52 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Coastal SC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Roomy and Relaxing”
Reviewed 21 October 2009

My husband booked this room online hoping for a unique, romantic setting. We were so surprised when we walked into our room! Lots of room to move around and keep purchases out of the way. And finally a REAL Jacuzzi that 2 adults could fit into-not just a bathtub with jets. We enjoyed the fireplace since it turned cold the day we got there plus the sound of the stream below our room was so relaxing. We actually felt like we were in the mountains, not just a mountain town. The walk to shops etc., was further than expected (Trolley service unreliable) but we enjoyed the exercise. If we had more time, we would've liked to use the indoor pool area which is beautiful. Brand new-no; updated clean and roomy-yes. Our top priorities in hotels were met/exceeded so we were very happy with our stay at Sidney James Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nativesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    236
    173
    104
    196
See reviews for
349
280
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Close enough to the Gatlinburg strip where we could walk and push a stroller. Average hotel, outdated, but clean. Beautiful view from the balcony. Great swimming pools for children. Very reasonably priced and offer coupons for even better deals.

Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank careywilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We recently stayed at the Sidney James for 3 nights. The rooms, while not the most up to date, were clean and the staff was very helpful and nice. We choose here because of the indoor pool which is very nice. Having two kids that love to swim made this an easy choice. We have stayed in some of the fancier hotels on the strip and paid double the price and have not had as good a time. It all depends on how much time/value you put on staying in your room. It is a slight hike up from the main drag, but for 50 cents per person you can ride the trolley which stops right in front! We really enjoyed our stay .It was quiet and again the pool was a big hit! They also have a cafe where you can get a great all-you-can-eat breakfast for less than $10 and no waiting in long lines!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amosAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

The Sidney James was a clean and comfortable place to stay. Although certainly not luxurious, our room had everything we needed. We stayed in a creekside room with two double beds, which was all that was avaialble by the time I made my reservation. I was a bit surprised that the balconey was so small, but I thought the price was very reasonable. The bathroom was also quite small, but was adequate. I would stay here again. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Do be aware that this hotel is a bit of a trek away from the main drag. The walk is doable, but not extremely convenient. Also, there is a trolley stop nearby.
All in all, a great value.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mk2846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2009

enjoy the creek, the staff is great, they try to help you all they can, nice area close yet away from town, clean,

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arremony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville KY
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The owner of this hotel is on the premises and manages the operation. The room was very clean with a balcony hanging directly over a mountain stream. The staff (which was plentiful) was very courteous and extremely helpful. The location is great and very near the park. There is a small restaurant on site that has great food. We took our grandson who especially liked the indoor "cave" pool. The rates were reasonable and we will definitely lodge there on our next trip to Gatlinburg............The Tuell Family

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck2l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
defrockinbrew
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We absolutely loved this plce. The room was fabulous and the staff was wonderful as well. Thanks again Joe and Trish for all the help. You guys are the best!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank defrockinbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
#67 of 78 in Gatlinburg
461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.2 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney James Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Property: Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Address: 610 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3343
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sidney James Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sidney James Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidney James Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Sidney James Mountain Gatlinburg
Sidney James Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing