We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true downtown Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Ranked #27 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Southeast Kentucky
Level Contributor
140 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A true downtown Gem”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights here for a short romantic getaway. Based upon the good reviews, we chose the Mountain House. I don't think we'll ever stay anywhere else in Gatlinburg now that we've found this place. It is a real gem! The staff are so nice, polite, and helpful. The property is located just a short walk from the main drag. When we called and reserved the room, we told the clerk we would be a late arrival. When we arrived later that night, the clerk informed us that he had went and turned the heat on in our room for us. When we walked in the room it was indeed nice and cozy and it really made us feel welcome. Such a nice personal touch. The first thing we always do is inspect the room for cleanliness. The bed, drawers, furniture, corners, and bathroom all passed our inspection. The entire room was exceptionally clean. The main area of the room is quite large. There is also a smaller area off to the side that has the sink, microwave, mini fridge, and a small counter. The bathroom, however, is quite small with just a commode and tub/shower. Several reviews mentioned the low shower head and it is on the low side. It's not that bad, though, and the great water pressure makes up for any shortcomings in height. I'm six foot tall and I did have to bend over a bit to wash my hair, but it wasn't much trouble. Our room was on the corner and we had our own balcony. The room also had plenty of windows and that helped give it a roomy feel. The hotel is an older property, as many downtown locations are, but it is very well maintained. The carpet was very clean and in good shape. The wallpaper looked new and the room had a nice border. The furniture was all in good repair. Wireless internet was easy to connect to with good speed. The bed was a bit on the firm side but comfortable. The pillows were a little flat for my taste, but I doubled them up and slept fine. When we come back, I'll probably bring my own pillows because I'm used to them, but that is a personal choice and not a shortcoming of the hotel. Overall, this was one of the nicest, coziest rooms we've had in quite awhile. If you are expecting the Hilton, you might be disappointed, but if you want a clean, cozy, comfortable place to stay near downtown, this is the place. It is also locally and American owned, and you can tell the owners really take pride in this property.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NomadicNonbelievers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    120
    51
    14
    15
See reviews for
114
113
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My family have stayed at this hotel for over 20 years. We come to the Smokies several times a year. This is a wonderful place to stay and so convenient to anything thing you want. We love to hike and tour the mountains then come back at night to walk downtown and see all the sites. Our rooms are always very clean and we have stayed in the apartment several times and it is always very nice. We were there two years ago and the refrig went out the night we got there and we lost some of our food. They immediately brought a new refrig and installed it and reimbursed us for our loss. They have had some problems with there cleaning people in the last couple of years but have now corrected that problem also. Could not ask for friendlier staff and we appreciate the fact they are good Christian people. The wifi is great, have never had any problem with it. If you're looking for a clean, friendly, reasonable, convenient but not fancy place to stay, this is it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meemaw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Great location and great room for the price.Close to everything in Gatlinburg but still off the main street

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Budman2240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrew, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Located just a short walk from main street this motel features fridges and micros in each room. Staff is friendly and restaurants abound close by. Coffee only is offered each morning and rooms are clean with 2 pools on site. Wifi is good and the gateway to Great Smokey Mountain National Park is at the edge of town. Plenty of activity between Gatlinburg & Pigeon Forge to keep adults and kids entertained. Bed was comfortable but shower head was very low. Too low. Picnic areas are provided and there is amble parking Corridors are outside with chairs at each room. Place was busy on Columbus Day but to be expected in an area such as this.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cleoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastview, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

For the past 14 years my family has gone to Gatlinburg, and always stayed here......This year we were treated like 'A BURDEN' to them. I had reserved a room, and was going to be arriving later than the office would be open, so I called to find out where my key was, only to kind out that they had given my room away!! They left me a key to another room......a SMOKING room for my family of NONSMOKERS, no cot for my extra occupant, who had to sleep on the floor......3 towels, and 1 washcloth for 5 people, a coffee machine with coffee, but NO COFFEE POT! Then when asking for directions the office staff quoted this 'What ever the map says'......IF I HAD A MAP I WOULDN'T HAVE ASKED FOR DIRECTIONS!!!! Then after we checked out, and got 3 hours away, we remembered that we left something in the room, called, and were told to 'call back tomorrow', then when I phoned the next day, they took a message....supposedly they found my item, called me and got my address, and said that they would mail it to me........Almost 2 weeks later....NO PACKAGE, and when I call I get the run around saying that they are 'REALLY BUSY'..........Well, next time, I'll find another place to stay with FRIENDLIER STAFF!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kristi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satsuma. Al
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My husband and I go Gatlinburg just about every year. Usually in October, for the color of course, but last year and this year we will be there in December. We always stay at the Mountain House Inn. We have never had a complaint. We are in the room only long enough to sleep and love being able to walk the strip every night and walk to the so much of the sight seeing instead of having to drive. As mentioned so many times before, you could never find a more friendly staff if you searched the whole world over.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaTrecia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The hotel was quiet and average for the room. At least it was clean...nothing fancy. The shower was set up for a migit, so that was interesting. When we first arrived the room was very warm but once the AC was turned up it cooled down.

One of the pools was out of order and looked horrible. Other than that no major complaints.

Room Tip: As for the king size bed upstairs over looking the pool and the stream so they call it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlynn_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#23 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#20 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Property: Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Address: 247 Newton Ln, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3537 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Hotel Downtown
Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing