We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Ranked #27 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel option”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nothing special, but it is a great option for a cheap place to stay in Gatlinburg.

Pros: Super close to everything downtown, it is a short walk to get to all of these places to hang out. The front desk staff were very helpful and there are two different pools to choose from, one heated and one not.

Cons: I would say my only complaints were that the bathrooms were absolutely tiny and they claim that the rooms have been renovated, which may be partially true, but they have not been fully renovated as the carpets are not in the best shape...

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CattintheHatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    121
    52
    15
    15
See reviews for
116
117
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kankakee, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Our room was quiet, clean and close to downtown action.The bathroom may be small but the sink is outside the bathroom. It was fine. TV was new and good reception. Beds were comfortable. Staff very friendly. Great value.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basketcase71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Being one of the cheaper hotels in town you expect quality to suffer but it does not here. The staff are extremely friendly, the rooms are very clean, and the large heated pool is great! I believe in recent years it has come under new ownership and has been getting updated over time. We had brand new beds and a beautiful smart tv in our room. There are new tile floors in the sink/bathroom area that are HEATED.

My only qualm was with the very small toilet/shower room, which doesn't have a vent and only a small window that doesn't lock very well, though the area behind the building where these windows are is locked up and difficult to get to from the outside.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are slightly nosier due to the main front door not being completely sealed at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlan, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here in the room behind the office In mid June 2014. Room was very nice, clean and the bed was comfortable. Not too soft. Cant stand soft beds! Loved walking out with our own private acess to the pool!! TV was very big for a motel. Staff was a pleasure. EXCELLENT location to everythting... Only complaint was that the bathroom was TINY. You had to move out of the way just to shut the door. We will stay here again most definatly :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We are a family of four. We enjoyed are stay. Loved the location and the price was affordable. The rooms were clean and we had 2 queen beds. There are 2 swimming pools. One is heated the other pool is not. My boys liked the unheated pool. We will stay again. We are all ready planning our next trip.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingstree, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed the week of July 7th-12th in rooms 302 and 319. I really enjoy this hotel, and my family stays here every year. All the staff are very nice and helpful. Only complaint I have is the bathrooms are kinda small, but other than that it's a great place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lsfulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The Mountain house inn is very conveniate with only a few minute walk to the main strip and the aquarium. The room was very clean and we loved the 40 inch smart tv..The swimming pool is heated and has a kiddy pool thats 1.5 ft deep. The trolley comes right by the main office door. The other pool is 9 ft deep and very large. As we checked out we commented on the comfortable mattress and found out that the motel has all new mattresses. The motel also has high speed free wifi. I definitely recomend this motel to any family.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mario1324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 78 in Gatlinburg
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Property: Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Address: 247 Newton Ln, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3537 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Hotel Downtown
Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing