We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Company with great chalets”
Review of Chalet Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2009

I had used a previous Chalet company before, but I booked a two night stay over Labor Day Weekend on their internet site and they called me and gave me the third degree about a three night minimum and that I was trying to deceive them. Horrible company to deal with. Anyway, so I looked on the net and found Chalet Village. From the first call to checkout I have never felt so welcome at a company in my life. Everyone was really great and seemed to care about my business and stay. I booked 936 Stans Rd and it was a great chalet with an awesome view of the mountains. Very clean. I would not hesitate to book with Chalet Village again and would recommend them to my friends. Only thing that the chalet could use is a new Iron and Wifi and then it would be perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mws813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 486 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2008

We have stayed with Chalet Village 4 times now and keep coming back to them for their well-maintained properties and customer service.

This time we stayed at Creekside Serenade at 419 Wiley Oakley Dr. We like this area of Chalet Village because it is the closest to the road between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. This chalet has a wooded view and is semi-private. Our biggest complaint is that this chalet overlooks another one and the one part that faces the other chalet is where the hot tub is. There is no screen there at all. We tried to finagle the hot tub cover to block the lookyloo's that never seemed to go inside all weekend, but part of it was bolted to the deck. Our only suggestion is to please put up a privacy screen there.

Otherwise, we were pretty well pleased with this chalet. It has two bedrooms, one on each level, both with king beds and LARGE jacuzzi tubs. There is also a vanity with sink and large mirror in each bedroom in addition to the sink, toilet and shower that is seperate. Each bedroom had a TV/VCR combo (NO DVD player) in the bedroom. It took us awhile to find the laundry closet since there were so many closets in the chalet. There was a pool table and TV downstairs and a small deck. Upstairs was the kitchen and dining table. The chairs at the table were a little wobbly. The main TV did have a DVD player but we couldn't get the remote to work at all, even after buying new batteries and had to change the channel by hand and not watch DVD's. There is high speed internet access set up at a desk with lamp that was nice and appreciated.

Level parking and not too many stairs. Minor housekeeping issues like cobwebs and one bathroom had no toilet paper. there are no kleenex here, but we brought our own. our biggest complaint was the TV remotes and the lack of privacy on the hot tub deck, both easily fixable.

All in all, we have been to a lot worse places in the Gatlinburg area as far as chalets are concerned. We have found that Chalet Village, is up to date and their pictures don't lie. Their customer service is excellent as well.. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ohiomom454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

My husband and I ,along with 2 other couples rented a chalet thru Chalet Village Properties. We rented Chalet #443 Red Hawk Inn and it was absolutely great. We rented from Friday Sept. 5th thru Sunday Sept. 7th.
The chalet was everything we had hoped for and was exactly what the internet pictures said it would be.
We needed a chalet for 6 persons to sleep. The chalet we chose had three bedrooms, 2Kings and 1 Queen all had their own seperate bathrooms. There were at least 5 TV's, VCR, DVD's etc.
The large deck on the main floor was equipped with a glass picnic table to seat 6 and there was also a charcoal grill.
There was a loft bedroom and a large 3rd floor that contained a pool table and a outside jacuzzi that was enclosed in a screened end porch.
I have used Chalet Village Properties many times in the past and have always been pleased with our selections and their hospitality.
Check in is a breeze and you will absolutely love the magnificent views from the chalets. It's a must if you haven't tried them already.

Thank Showmeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We just returned from a family reunion in Gatlinburg, where we rented a 7-bedroom, 7-bath chalet called "View from the Top" from Chalet Village. It was a wonderful experience.

We have been renting from Chalet Village since 1972 and have had very few complaints. The management is friendly and helpful and the accommodations have always been pleasant.

Check-in was quick and easy, and since "View from the Top" has keyless entry, we didn't even have to stop back by the Chalet Village office to check out on our way home -- we handled it with a single phone call.

This particular chalet truly does have a "spectacular view" as reported on the Chalet Village website. The chalet was clean, light and bright with walls of windows, well appointed with what appeared to be professional decorating, hardwood floors, plenty of room, two huge decks with two grills, an 8-person hot tub, and a fabulous floor plan.

The center of the main level is comprised of the kitchen, half-bath, living room, and dining room. On each side is a roomy bedroom and bathroom.

The kitchen has black granite countertops, double ovens, double dishwashers, a large refrigerator, a full-size 4-burner stove top, two sinks (one with a garbage disposal), a microwave, lots of counter and cabinet space, and a huge granite-topped island/breakfast bar that will seat at least 8 people.

The living room has a big-screen TV and a massive 2-story stone fireplace. The dining room table will seat 14 people fairly comfortably.

A large deck with lots of rocking chairs and two grills opens off the dining room.

The center of the lower level is a game room/media room with pool table, big screen TV, large sectional sofa, wet bar with coffee pot, and fridge. On either side of this area is another roomy bedroom and bath.

Another large deck with several rocking chairs and the 8-person hot ub opens off the game room.

The upper level has 3 bedrooms; two that face the rear mountain view, and one that faces the front of the house. Each of these bedrooms opens off a second-story loft/balcony.

Every bedroom is private and has its own TV, private balcony, king-size bed with pillow-top mattress, massive armoire, and large bath with whirlpool tub, double sinks, and separate shower with shower-seat. The showers are large enough that you don't bump your elbows when showering.

The parking area in front of the chalet will accommodate 6 cars with a little maneuvering, and we were pleased that we didn't have to climb stairs from the parking area to get to the main level of the chalet. Loading and unloading luggage was easy.

We were also pleased that the main level offers two separate bedrooms for those who aren't easily able to climb stairs.

The view is truly magnificent. We spent many hours on the two common-area decks, enjoying morning coffee, afternoon/evening refreshments, and beautiful sunrises and sunsets.

We also did a lot of cooking and eating-in, and the kitchen is so roomy that 4-5 cooks can easily work there without tripping over each other.

Though the chalet had a private feeling, it was not isolated, and we could see other chalets. There was little traffic since this chalet is located on a dead-end street, and there was no problem with street noise, or noise from surrounding cabins.

The chalet is only 2 years old at this writing (July 2008) and appeared to be almost brand new. The floor plan was excellent and afforded privacy to all 7 bedrooms.

I also give high marks to Chalet Village for customer service. We planned an outing to Cades Cove but couldn't find their phone number in the local phone book. I simply called the Chalet Village office, and within minutes, received a return call with the correct number.

We did have a few minor issues. One of the lower level bedrooms had quite a few cobwebs that housekeeping had missed. Long strings of cobwebs, some 2-3 feet long, hung from the ceiling. Tops of both lamps looked as if they had never been dusted. There was hair left in one of the showers. The chair in my bedroom had a rickety arm that had been taped together with cellophane tape, and needed to be permanently repaired or replaced. We were surprised that there was no Kleenex in any of the bedrooms or bathrooms, and we had to purchase our own, which was an inconvenience.

Several of us played a lot of pool in the lower level game room, and were a little disappointed that the pool table surface had a few bumps in it. There were 4 pool cues provided, 3 of which were broken or loose, and there was no pool chalk at all.

In the kitchen, there were only 10 dinner knives provided for a chalet that sleeps 14 people. There were no serving utensils or serving dishes (platters, serving bowls, etc.) of any kind. This was a major issue for us, since we ate almost every meal at the chalet. The coffeemaker held only 10 cups, and we had to make 4-5 pots of coffee every morning since we needed to serve 14 people. Another coffeemaker, or a larger-capacity one, would be welcome. We also could have used an additional icemaker, as we did run out of ice one day. The dishwasher on the left does not clean dishes well -- we had to wash one load 3 times, and thus ran out of dishwasher detergent. The dishwasher on the right worked well.

In the living room, the sofas were extremely uncomfortable. They might have been originally constructed as daybeds, since they were very deep, and I had to put 3 pillows behind me to be able to sit and lean back comfortably while keeping my feet on the floor (and I am not a vertically-challenged person).

When we reserved the chalet, it was advertised as having 2 sofa beds, but both had been removed from the chalet before we arrived, which caused us a problem. I will say that upon request, Chalet Village offered us a better deal on our rental because of this. The chalet web page has now been corrected.

The rocking chairs on the deck will need to be repaired or replaced before long; some of the spokes are coming loose from their joints, which could cause an accident if the chair fell apart. Another inconvenience is that, though there are plenty of rocking chairs on the deck, there was not a single side table -- nowhere to put down a drink or plate except the deck's handrail.

Be aware that we had a rather severe problem with wasps, bees, and yellowjackets outside on the decks. This is not Chalet Village's problem, but stinging insects drove me inside a number of times. Yellowjackets invaded raw meat that we were grilling outside, even though it was wrapped in plastic wrap. We finally had to turn a plastic collander upside down over our raw hamburgers before they could go on the grill, to keep out the bugs. We were lucky that we had brought Avon's Skin-So-Soft Bug Guard with us, and none of us were bitten, but future travelers might want to bring a can or two of Raid or other bug killer to keep the insects away.

The only other complaint we had was the remote location of this chalet. We were a good 15 minutes from the Parkway, and the route is tricky and sometimes confusing. Again, this is not Chalet Village's problem, but everyone in our party would have been happier if the chalet had been closer to town. If you run out of ice or coffee, plan at least a 30-minute trip to retrieve it and get back to the chalet. And if you're a flatlander, you may be uncomfortable with the single-lane roads in some places, and the sheer vertical drops in others, on the way up. We've been vacationing in Gatlinburg for more than 40 years, and are very familiar with the town's layout, yet we still had a little trouble finding our way back to the chalet during our visit.

All that being said, most of these issues were minor inconveniences. None of them significantly affected our enjoyment of this beautiful chalet, nor would they prevent us from renting from Chalet Village in the future, or even renting this same chalet again if necessary. Larger chalets are hard to find, and this one is absolutely gorgeous. Most of our needs were met or exceeded. We are already looking forward to our next trip, and would not hesitate to stay with Chalet Village again.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lydialynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Thamirys R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chalet Village es una empresa que alquila propiedades para las vacaciones.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank viajeroperuano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.9 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
1.7 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
4.7 mi away
Honeymoon Hills Gatlinburg Cabin Rentals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Village

Address: 1441 Wiley Oakley Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £73 - £556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Village 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 1 to 8 bedroom cabins and chalets. Chalet Village has been family owned and operated since 1972 offering location and quality accommodations second to none. Our cabins are adjacent to Gatlinburg, The National park, & Pigeon Forge. We offer year round access & the perfect cabins & chalets for any vacation stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Village Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing