We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gatehouse Resort Condominiums
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Parkview Inn(Gatlinburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Side(Gatlinburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Sleep Inn & Suites(Gatlinburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
20
9
4
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
9
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroaring forkthe property managerhome away from homea great staytrolley serviceminute walkwasher dryerclose to downtownwithin walking distancebalconycreekbedsrentingroomysmokies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our family of four recently stayed at unit 503 at the Gatehouse Condo. We rented through Homeaway.com and I found the owner to be fantastic to work with throughout the entire rental process. We have rented many condos and this was the first one the had a "fully stocked" kitchen with all of the necessities (utensils, pans, measuring cups etc) provided. The condo was well furnished and the 2 double beds in the 2nd bedroom were an added bonus. The view of Roaring Fork was excellent but during "peak" hours the traffic did get a bit noisy. It was quite a distance to walk easily to/from downtown Gatlinburg. We did it a couple of times but it took about 30 minutes each way. I would not feel comfortable making the walk at night as there were a couple of questionable properties located nearby. The hotel that is located next to the Gatehouse was definitely an eyesore! I would certainly recommend this property and are considering coming back for another visit in the future.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed in #606 from 7/2-9/2013. The apartment was nicely furnished and clean. The best part was the balcony over Roaring Fork Creek; we spent enjoyable time rocking on the balcony listening to the rushing water and, at night, sleeping with a bedroom window open.

It was our first time to Gatlinburg and, originally, we were going to rent a cabin. As our travel dates changed last minute, cabins became unavailable, so we booked the condo thinking it might be more centrally located and convenient. The trolley doesn't stop at the Gatehouse every 15 minutes to get you to "the strip" of downtown Gatlinburg, as advertised - it is much less frequent and ends up being not convenient. It is a 20 minute walk, at a steady pace, to reach "the strip".

It IS nice to have a refrigerator available for milk, juice, restaurant left overs; but the kitchen is not very well equipped - so cereal, toast, coffee are options. If you need 2 bedrooms, the cost is good....if there are just 2 of you, then it is better to stay downtown and be able to walk the strip, avoid the incessant, never-ending bumper-to-bumper traffic jams, and pay $10 for parking lots.

These condos were built to be investments and rented commercially, like hotels. However, since they are rental faciltiies, they should offer some basic daily amenities (soap, toilet tissues, clean towels, ice, coffee).

Negatives: Advertisements state that there is a gas fireplace, but it isn't explained that you aren't allowed to use it except in winter months. Per their rules, you are provided with 1 roll of paper towels in the kitchen and toilet tissue & trash bags for 3 days. The rules state that if you use it up, you have to provide your own. You also have to wash their towels, as there is no daily maid service and no replenishment of used items. I strongly believe that if I pay for 8 days, then I should receive enough toilet tissue for 8 days. There is dish liquid and 1 small one-use packet for the dishwasher. If you need to use the dishwasher more than once, then you have to go the grocery and buy more. There is not even a small packet or 2 of coffee available for your first morning. No sugar, no salt, no pepper. It makes it very difficult to cook anything. There is no laundry detergent, so if you need to wash their towels, again, you have to go to the store and buy detergent. The ice maker appeared to be connected and and in the "on" position, but didn't produce any ice; ice trays were not available. There was no spray cleaner (windex/409) to clean the countertops or the glass dining table. The old, falling down motel on the corner, attached property, definitely needs to be torn down - a huge eyesore.

wiFi is available and a password is not needed to connect. Note to owners: It would be very helpful to have a guide explaining which tv channels are which. ABC = "x", CNN = "x".

There was an envelope from "Verna, the housekeeper", but since we paid a cleaning fee, and Verna did not provide any services for us during our stay, we did not leave a tip in the envelope.

If we return to Gatlinburg again, we will stay in a hotel and avail ourselves of their amenities and walkability. It takes at least 30 minutes to drive a car on the strip and seek parking - very frustrating. Bonus: many of the strip hotels have balconies that hang over Roaring Fork.

Unless you are a large group and want to cook meals (plan to bring EVERYTHING you need to cook, even some pots, and want to wash your own towels) - it's better to stay in a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SerenaWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in Condo #406. This was by no means LUXURY! Advertisement should READ CONVENIENTLY LOCATED. That would be a more truthful projection of the condo. The condos furniture was not modern nor comfortable. The sofa and loveseat was old and practically level to the floor. Not accomodating for my mother of 86 years old she had no comfortable place to sit. It was questionable if you wanted to sit on the furniture due to not being very clean looking. The floor required us to vacuum and the bedding was old and not clean looking. What luxury accomodations has old mattreses on the bed and box springs??? The linen was not crisp or very clean looking we took the sheets off the bed and washed before sleeping in the beds. The bathrooms did not have enough towels and the shower head was coming out of the wall We were disappointed with the condo was not expecting what we got and I would definitly not recommend to anyone. We requested and received additional bedding but could not receive additional towels. They need to update all of the furniture in the condo.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cordelia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We travel to Gatlinburg at least once a year, our 9 yo daughter loves it there. We have stayed in many places (condos & cabins) and 503 Gatehouse is among the best, if not the best, we have stayed in. The owners were fantastic to deal with. We picked up our parking passes and room keys at Diamond Mountain Rentals which was close by. The condo itself was, tres chic! Beautifully appointed. The creek was right outside and we could hear the rushing water from our unit if the door was open. I even saw a bear by the creek from our balcony. The parking garage was also nice, especially when raining. The location is convenient. You could walk to the strip if you were up for a hike, but I would imagine most would drive, forget about the trolley. It is also just a short drive East on 321 to Greenbrier National Forest, which is beautiful and FREE! We didn't have any issues with property management, in fact, we never saw them. The only people I dealt with were Diamond Mountain and the unit owners and they were polite, informative, and gracious. I'm not saying I don't believe the other guests had problems, I do; I'm just saying we didn't have any problems.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We rented this condo through Accomodations by Sunset. It was more than we expected. There was ample space for our family of 4. It was very clean. Our favorite part was the balcony over the river. We wanted to relax and we were able to do that in a nice place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pasimpso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews