We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food & Great Service”

Calhoun's Gatlinburg
Ranked #22 of 194 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Calhoun's is a local, fresh, casual dining establishment specializing in hickory smoked BBQ, hand-cut steaks and seafood, and fresh ground hamburgers. We offer something for every taste. We also have a kids menu, and free parking with receipt. Eat Local, Eat Good!
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Food & Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Went to Calhoun's for lunch during the week. We were seated at a very pleasant table. The service by three different young people was very nice. Friendly and competent. One note of "warning" though: If you aren't ready for "perky" you're in for an awakening. I'm not complaining, but after the server who took our drink orders left the table, we all started laughing. Anyway, the food was quite good. If you like fried okra, this is a good place to get it. The french fried potatoes were also perfect. Several different sandwiches were ordered, and all were good. If I go back to G'burg, I'll eat at Calhoun's again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Portfoliofotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C, General Manager at Calhoun's Gatlinburg, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for coming in for lunch. Sounds like the staff was happy to serve you! (Or they were just really pumped about the AMAZING fried okra we had that day!) We look forward to seeing you again soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,422
    816
    378
    111
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Artemus
2 reviews
“Never again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I do not recommend this place. We did not like their BBQ sauce and it was the only they had. So we did not eat our pork. We got a cracked glass that soda was leaking out of.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lpasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north olmsted, ohio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great ribs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The food and service is really good. We always come here for the ribs. The colslaw has a little something extra wich makes it taste so good. Really like the inside of the restaurant with the fireplace and big windows. Parking lot along side with free parking if you eat here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank chruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C, General Manager at Calhoun's Gatlinburg, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves. Our coleslaw is made from scratch in every possible way. We grind the cabbage fresh daily and of course the creamy dressing is a homemade recipe. Thanks for stopping by, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food but awful odor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This was my first time at any Calhoun's location so I didn't know what to expect. The food was excellent and the service was perfect but the entire place smelled like dirty dish towels. I couldn't wait to finish eating.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TNMomof2BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C, General Manager at Calhoun's Gatlinburg, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that you found your service and food to be excellent. I am curious about the odor you described, as there is a certain odor associated with burning hickory logs, but I'd like to know more about the particular smell you were describing. My number is (865) 436-4100. Feel free to contact me anytime.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwich, Kansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

It was a great experience! Food was good and the service was amazing! Parking was a plus too! It wasn't too crowded and the value was good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trima67030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C, General Manager at Calhoun's Gatlinburg, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you so much! Come back and see us sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calhoun's Gatlinburg also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Calhoun's Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing