We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Group Experience - Great Service”

Calhoun's Gatlinburg
Ranked #33 of 203 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Calhoun's is a local, fresh, casual dining establishment specializing in hickory smoked BBQ, hand-cut steaks and seafood, and fresh ground hamburgers. We offer something for every taste. We also have a kids menu, and free parking with receipt. Eat Local, Eat Good!
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a group of 9 that decided last minute to find some BBQ before departing Gatlinburg the next day. Called at 5 and got a 7:30 reservation! Arrived a little early and table was ready on time despite a packed house on a Friday night.
We had a mix of appetizers and entrees. Skins, shrimp and wings as starters. All were nicely done and disappeared in short order. Wings were very nicely seasoned - good heat, but not unbearable. Great fresh breads - biscuits and corn bread. I had the ribs which were really smoked - you could taste it. For my taste they were a little overdone but tasty. (I like ribs that require some pull to get off the bone - these were more "fall off the bone"). That said, they were well seasoned and had a very tasty BBQ sauce. Slaw comes as a standard side and I recommend the baked beans for the second. Some of the better baked beans I've come across.
Others had chicken, pulled pork or the triple play. All were satisfied.
The service was outstanding - could have been better. Orders were taken promptly. All questions were answered. Appetizers arrived shortly after drinks (nice choice of local beers). All mains arrived at the same time and all warm. Our waiter very good at checking in, but not over obtrusive.
Would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C, General Manager at Calhoun's Gatlinburg, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you. It sounds like your group enjoyed everything. One thing about the wings- our homemade Thunder Road wing sauce is absolutely amazing. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,257 - 2,261 of 3,289 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by a hotel employee where we were staying. I prefer to eat in a locally owned place rather than a chain. We were not disappointed in the service or the food. Hamburgers are freshly ground and grilled and very juicy. They served an assortment of rolls and biscuits while were waiting for our food, which came out quickly. Great place to eat.

Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C, General Manager at Calhoun's Gatlinburg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We are glad you enjoyed everything. We do fresh grind fresh sirloin everyday, and comments like yours make it all worth it. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had an awesome server! The food was so good and the price was great. I had the fish and my husband had the grilled shrimp and the meal was delicious. We had the pale ale with our meal. Could not believe the price when we got the bill.

Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C, General Manager at Calhoun's Gatlinburg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed everything! We are delighted you enjoyed some of our seafood offerings. The Pale Ale is a nice choice for seafood as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were a party of 6 adults and 3 got the triple play! Ribs, chicken tenders and pulled pork. 2 of us got the steaks and 1 the ribs. Everything was delish and my son couldn't stop raving about the ribs! He said they really were award winning! Would have gone back if we had stayed longer. Definite revisit next time though!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nicesteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C, General Manager at Calhoun's Gatlinburg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed our award winning ribs. While we have won many awards, the opinions of our guests is what really counts. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent ribs, best around. We live in Ohio. Wish there was one here. Well actually if there were I might not weigh 120 lbs. Seriously, though we base our vacations around when we can go to this place. I wish they could ship those ribs in dry ice. Great service, Great food. :-)

Thank Cloverfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C, General Manager at Calhoun's Gatlinburg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Wow! We are flattered, to say the least! We are thrilled you enjoyed everything so much and we look forward to serving you in the future. If any of us ever go to Ohio, we will stop by and drop a rack or two off at your place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calhoun's Gatlinburg also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Calhoun's Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing