We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good drinks”

Hogg's Upstairs Taverne
Ranked #87 of 194 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

My husband and I came to Gatlinburg for our anniversary and happened to run into some friends. Hogg's was a great watering hole and nice atmosphere for chilling out with friends. Good drinks too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TateFlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    50
    27
    21
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Walk on by, others will serve you”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Rarely do you go to a place that is so horrid that you can't wait to write a review of them. Hoggs & Honey's in Gatlinburg is such a place. Maybe it was because of a late-fall Thursday night (albeit Halloween) but it was horrid. The decor is nice and the location is superb! But, I have the feeling that the bartenders are the bottom feeders of the Gatlinburg pool, who are possibly unemployed from the jobs which require operating heavy machinery. I sat at the bar and went through an entire play of Bohemian Rhapsody without acknowledgement! Others came and went. Maybe it is a place tuned to the locals, but I feel it's a bit trashy. If you find yourself amongst the trashy, rebel type then you may enjoy the lack of service and the indifference to the standards of modern bartending. I'll walk by next time, bless their hearts.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EricLandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Went to play pool and drink some beer. Had an awesome time. Our bartender was great. Food was pretty good for bar food. Also-a good jukebox for "mood music". We will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aerogirl1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dirty little bar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We chose this place because it had a balcony so that we could people watch. That part was nice. And there was live music inside. But there were dirty cups, straws, bottles, and ants everywhere. The waiter never even asked us what we wanted or even wiped off the spots we were sitting at! We went up to the bar for our drinks. And, my brother ordered chips and salsa, we are from Texas, needless to say the salsa was like Pace Picante Sauce, not homemade.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SmallTownGirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple City, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“LOVE this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Been coming here since they first opened up as Hoggs and Honeys. You get to sit outside over the street, have a COLD beer @ and watch the world go by. The Happy Hour prices are really good. Can't miss out on this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daytonalover19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hogg's Upstairs Taverne also viewed

 

Been to Hogg's Upstairs Taverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing